We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice, clean property with cozy down comforters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #114 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at 2 Residence Inns in San Diego this trip - in direct opposition with each other. The Del Mar property was clean, new and close to delicious restaurants. The Carmel Mountain property was old, dingy and had a loud barking dog in the room below us. We highly recommend the Del Mar location!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cowgirl359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Cowgirl359,

On behalf of the entire Residence Inn staff, thank you for staying with us. The staff takes a true ownership in maintaining and cleaning to ensure the one year old property is immaculate. Everyone was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your memorable stay.

Safe Travels!

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very clean. Rooms were perfect. Staff at front desk was extremely accommodating. Asked every time you passed the desk if all was OK with our stay. Always asked if there was anything they could do for us. Pleasant experience at this hotel. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Ellen K.,

Thank you for taking a moment to give a review! We're happy that you had a pleasant experience with us and look forward to the next time you're in San Diego from PA!

Warm regards,

Kiyomi C.
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We thought we try out this new (about one year old) Residence Inn in Del Mar instead of their sister property across the street, Marriott, because of the Residence Inn offers complimentary wifi, complimentary full hot breakfasts, and complimentary parking which Marriott across the street all charge for these things.

We were given a nice one bedroom corner unit on the 5th floor (502) which was very quiet despite being close to the highway. We couldn't even hear the traffic at all. The bathroom is large with a separate room for the toilet and a walk in shower but there is no bathtub. The single sink is outside of the shower and toilet.

Our bedroom was a good size with its own tv but it had a western exposure so we had to keep the black out drapes drawn to keep down the heat in the afternoon from the sun without needing to crank up the air conditioning. There is also plenty of lighting throughout our unit.

The full kitchen is very clean with four settings of plates, bowls, cups, and cutlery. I especially appreciated the t-fal skillet (non stick) along with a larger pasta pot and a smaller pot. The full fridge makes ice but takes a few hours so make sure you pull down the arm in the freezer the minute you check in to get the ice making started.
There is a dishwasher, stove and oven, toaster, and microwave which are all so convenient for eating in a few meals instead of dining out at restaurants.

The wi-fi in the room is extremely fast and the underground parking which requires a key card to access the elevators up to your floor is also very convenient.

As for their hot breakfast, there was a great selection of items that change daily. The two days that we were there, one day we had sausage hash b, turkey ham, has browns, scrambled eggs and on our second day, there were scrambled eggs, sausage patties, red potatoes, and flapjacks.
The regular items on a daily basis are: hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, hot rice, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffle making machines, oj juice, cranberry or apple juice, bagels and cream cheese, cupcakes, and some breads. The food quality and selection are wonderful and the crew always keeps everything replenished and the eating area and kitchen are immaculately clean.

There are several thermoses of hot coffee (decaf too) along with a varieties of tea bags which already start very early in the morning. I was enjoying a hot coffee at 5:30am already! On our two days, there were plenty of seats as people ate outside or in the lobby as well and it did not feel crowded at all.
Unfortunately we missed their evening wine and appies, and their home baked cookies which are only offered Mondays to Wednesdays but I am sure, they would be quite good.

The king bed in the room is EXTREMELY comfortable with a nice duvet/comforter but the reason why I gave a 4 star rating is because of the pull out sofa bed. It was extremely uncomfortable depute putting 2 woolen blankets on it for padding. It is unfortunate that they have no spare duvet/comforters for the pull out bed so it is just the woolen blankets which are not very cozy and comfortable.
I would not suggest anyone sleeping on the pull out sofa bed for more than a night or two because you will get a sore back or neck as it is really uncomfortable.
Tip….the linen and blanket for the pull out sofa are located in the closet behind the bedroom door which is hidden. Once the sofa bed is pulled out, the living room and desk area become quite tight.

The entire property and the room are extremely clean; even the three washers and dryers are very good.

The outdoor pool is very small as well as the fitness room with some free weights and 2 treadmills/stairmaster.

We enjoyed our stay at this Residence Inn as everyone takes such pride in keeping the property clean and in great condition. If you are looking for free wifi, free parking, free breakfasts, and a kitchen, you can't go wrong with this new Residence Inn. With this being said, if you are hoping for a more resort style living, then Residence Inns would not be the best choice.

Thank you to Michelle, at the front desk, for being so patient and helpful! We enjoyed the Residence Inn Del Mar very much and we hope to return but this time we will look for a 2 bedroom unit to avoid the sofa bed.

Room Tip: Our room 502 corner unit had western exposure in bedroom but no noise from the highway can be heard.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello cliu,

Thank you for your generous review of our hotel! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us a try. Being the "new hotel on the block", it's thorough reviews such as yours that help to paint the picture of what to expect at a Residence Inn to our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Kiyomi C.
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I've stayed in quite a few Marriotts but this by far has been the best! The room was huge and spotless! The housekeeper Karla and housman Sam made sure we had everything we needed so that we were comfortable. Also Thomas the night auditor was so friendly. Made sure everything was going well with my stay as well as conversed with me on multiple occasions. Very up to date furnishings and the free wifi and social in the evening was a plus. I can't say anything bad about my stay and would definitlety stay here again next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFethke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi AFethke13,

Thank you so much for your review! Our staff takes great passion in taking care of our guests and it truly shows on a daily basis. We are delighted to hear that Karla, Sam and Thomas made your stay so memorable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had to book last minuet and I am rewards member, I usually get a fairfield or courtyard but I am glad booked this one. It must be a new hotel, it was the newest and cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Room on the 5th floor had a great view and is very close to Torrey Pines area. We went to the beaches which were only about 15-20 mins away. Parking is under ground and very safe. Great hotel, nice restaurants within about 8 miles. Taco Bell right next store for the kids. Breakfast was fantastic, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits, waffles, bead, muffins and fruit. My kid loved it!

Room Tip: Top floors great view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember07152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Good Afternoon bfd251,

On behalf of the entire Residence Inn Del Mar team, Thank you for staying with us. The housekeeping and maintenance staff does a great job ensuring that our one year old product continues to maintain the clean and new look from the day of opening on July 3rd, 2013.

Our full hot breakfast buffet provides guests a large array of options to ensure every guest has the options they need to stay strong. The breakfast staff does a great job keeping up with the heavy demand and are always looking for ways to make their breakfast memorable.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Outstanding staff tries hard to make long-term stays a pleasant experience.
They offer the typical Residence Inn amenities : The breakfast every morning is ample, an appetizer buffet served 3 nights a week, a small but useful gym, reliable Wi-Fi, and adequate parking ( except on weekends or when special events).
The staff is attentive & considerate, and seem to care very much about your enjoyment as a guest there. The hotel is fairly new, so everything is still sparkly and attractive. The rooms are well-equipped, the beds cozy and the linens plush. The cable TV can be slow to respond.
One caveat : DO ask for a room where pets are in a different ( far away ) location if you care about not being awakened by barking dogs !
And, beware of the laundry...other guests & machines not always as clean as one would hope.
Overall - a lovely "home-away-from-home " for a short or long-term stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near pets, if you are disturbed by pet noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentflyerhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello Frequentflyerhome,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The staff does a wonderful job taking care of our guests and the hotel is perfectly suited for extended stays with all the comforts of a modern home.

Even though we are a pet friendly hotel, excessively noisy pets are prohibited. The staff does a great job ensuring that all barking dogs are reported to the owners and taken care of in a timely manner.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Residence Inn Del Mar, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I've enjoyed Residence Inns over the years, especially when I have a 2 week or longer stay for business and this is one of the best ones yet.
The rooms were very nice as always, big walk in shower, good layout of items in the room...except the big bathroom door right next to the sink. Thankfully my wife wasn't with me otherwise I would've been knocked out whenever I was brushing my teeth if she were to exit the bathroom.
Breakfast was always good and fresh.
Best part about this RI...it's not a Chuck E. Cheese in the morning or any part of the stay. Yes, I have kids...2 of them, but I've been to other RIs where each couple staying had to bring a minimum of 3 kids...not exactly the way I want to start a long day of work wondering how long the line will be for breakfast.
Parking underground is easy, decent mexican restaurant nearby, friendly and helpful front desk...other RIs should use this place as a model.
Travel to there from the downtown is easy.
Had to work at Point Loma each day and was always going against traffic..easy drive...don't let the mileage from the airport scare you.
Room location...had one facing Valley Center Drive and was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Opposite side of I-5 was quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadbuttrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Sadbuttrue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell about your experience at our hotel. The entire staff was delighted to hear about your memorable stay at our daily huddle this morning. Our breakfast staff does a great job maintaining the breakfast buffet to keep the line down. On behalf of the Residence Inn Del Mar Team, thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#107 of 278 in San Diego
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#72 of 278 in San Diego
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £125 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the Biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing