We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park and good restaurants!”
Review of Liberty Station

Liberty Station
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.00*
and up
Liberty Station Food Tour
More Info
US$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #73 of 439 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great park and good restaurants!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

NTC at Liberty Station is a great area for adults and kids alike! Two large park/grass areas great for family BBQ's, kids birthdays or just hanging out. Bathrooms on site is a plus! Surrounding area has great places to eat and/or shop for groceries with a Trader Joes and Vons in the center. Dance/Music classes are located in the area among other specialty shops.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandiego0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History and Shopping”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This area has a lot to offer including history, shopping and open space to walk and enjoy the day. I was interested in the area because my father had visited here when he enlisted in the Navy prior to WWII. I found the area to have everything I needed from history to shopping. The area is quite large but gives you the opportunity to do some exploring and some shopping. Overall, I enjoyed the area because of the history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“NTC Extraordinaire”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Liberty Station is so beautiful that every time I go there for dinner, drinks, sales, or wandering around I think of how my parents would have loved it. They were both WWII veterans who fell in love on Coronado Island and returned to live in San Diego forty years later. The housing and re-purposing of all the buildings would have impressed them both. I'm sad that they didn't live to see it, and I think of them every time I'm there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank patient111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great park, restaurants, shopping area”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

As a long time resident of San Diego, and 13 year Resident of Point Loma, I appreciate Liberty Station (or as I call it NTC- Naval Training Center, former name). The buildings have been maintained yet updated, but it preserves the historical look, yet offers modern conveniences for locals and visitors. Parks, Stone Brewing, Trader Joes, Vons, Starbucks, Tender Greens, Ikuru Sushi are the Staples, but much more to offer. Historical plaques displayed down the main walk, Gigantic US Flag flying in the main courtyard. It has a nice park, for walking dogs on a leash, playground for small children and open space for games. Be aware that Sundays are church day at the Rock, although there is traffic control, it is more crowded.

Helpful?
Thank HikingHonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friday Night Liberty- First Friday of the Month”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We took the bus to Liberty Station around 6 p.m. Although a little bit difficult to find the artist studios in the dark if you are unfamiliar with the repurposed Naval Training Center, it was well worth the effort. The first Friday of each month from 5-9 p.m. is an open house of artist studios, galleries and dance. The artists are there to show you their original, fine art and in many places food and drinks were offered. It felt like a gala evening surrounded by inspiring, creative people. Very energizing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty Station also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing