We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baci Ristorante Italiano

Baci Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Baci Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #268 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ashton St.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The place looks like it's home to the mafia. I'm sure the mafia didn't have any better food. It's a full menu but if it's Italian and not on the menu, they will prepare it for you. Veal dishes are excellent. The Petrale sole is out of this world. The very knowledgable wait staff is great. They will be in tuxedos, but they won't throw you out if you're in jeans.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    17
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For really great Italian food, skip Little Italy and go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Where do I begin? I was taken to this restaurant last week and I thought I died and went to food heaven that was graced with such beautiful aroma and taste. Waxing lyrical only? - eh no. Every thing I had at Baci's was exquisite. This is not a restaurant for pizza or your average lasagna. This is for the special meal that you need for your soul. When you walk into the rooms you notice the beautiful yet tasteful decor - the art on the walls is just stunning. You are seated and immediately someone comes with the wine list. I had a special for the antipasti - couldn't tell you what it was called - but it was a pasta dish with flavoring that made me groan with pleasure. I shared the Caesar salad with extra crispy proscuitto. My entre was Scampi in Lobster Sauce and I then swore I'd never eat anywhere else - beautifully made. My friend had the Swordfish Oreganato which I will have to have the next time. My friend and I shared the creme brulee. You absolutely pay for what you get and it sooo worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GloriaMaria0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
605 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Old School Italian On The West Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Was brought here for dinner by some business associates and found the restaurant to be really top notch. Very old school in terms of the service and ambiance and the food is top quality. We had a long unhurried meal accompanied by wine. The server never rushed us and the specials ( I had veal chop saltimbocca ) were excellent. They are known I hear for their swordfish dish and several at my table ordered and seemed to enjoy it very much. The owner came over and greeted us during our meal. Overall I thought this was as good an Italian dinner as I've had on the West Coast since moving here from NY 20 years ago.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needles CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wow!! It has been a few years since I had the pleasure to eat in this fine restaurant again. They did a superb job of food preparation and the meal I had was over the top. I am so glad I went back. I didn't think they could top the last time, but Tony came through. This is a must visit when in San Diego!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
“best food in san diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The food was incredible! the service even better!! francesco our waiter was the best.Phillip and Tony were on top of everything.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbarnesbtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baci Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Baci Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing