We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best Mexican food in San Diego”

El Indio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 4,771 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Palm Beach
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“By far the best Mexican food in San Diego”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I grew up in San Diego and was fortunate to have many meals at El Indio. It is a must visit when I go home! I recommend it to anybody who travels near downtown San Diego. I wish they would ship their cheese quesadilla's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler5388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    153
    60
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“El Delicioso”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visiting SD from CO Springs, I saw this restaurant on one of the food channels and wanted to give it a try. You know when a line starts to form outside that you've come to a good place. Chips and guacamole, a beer, and a combo plate for me. It was really good. Just note: They don't serve margaritas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't miss El Indio”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Family and I decided to eat here after seeing it on DDD, so glad we did. Actually ended up eating here 4 or 5 times on this trip. Everything I had from the taquitos to the huevos rancheros was delicious. Every single time I go to San Diego from now on I will be stopping here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank btg172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Freshest chips around!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

They make their chips in-house, and they are fantastic! Their beans are yummy, as is their rice. The fish burrito was a bit weird, but it tasted good. I've never had beans and guacamole in my fish burritos before, so it threw me off. The carne asada was apparently very delicious.

The portions are good for the price, and they have a variety of seating options. You can also get their sauces and chips to take home, so grab some extra for after your meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Still Great after all these years!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

El Indio is super casual Mexican eatery, nothing fancy. But here is where the superlatives begin. They just serve the best homestyle Sonoran Mexican cuisine around (as featured on DDD). Our faves are the burritos and chimichangas. Large portions and just oozing with perfectly spiced delicious food. From past experiences the tacos, enchiladas, and taquitos are great as well. Many a fancier Mexican restaurant in this town would do well to serve food this good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkoHenderson_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Indio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Indio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing