We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pegasus Cafe

Pegasus Cafe
Ranked #886 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I was staying in a hotel nearby and found this place quite by accident. It seems to be a family run place. I ordered a "manager's special" and had a taste of several different items. The tiropita was freshly baked and delicious! The gyro was excellent, the bread fresh and delicious. And the salad fresh and crispy with a generous amount of feta.

The hummous not to my liking - not enough garlic and lemon for me. It had a great consistency though.

I took home an order of the galakto boureko which was almost as good as my home-made.

The place seems to do a lot of take out service, though the dining room is comfortable and the service is pleasant although not fast. The hot food was fresh and hot and the cold food cold though. I would definitely come here again if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADavis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a gyro plate with couscous. Very flavorful, inexpensive, served with speed & a smile. Great find!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank colomonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/ Dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great quality food from a family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I'll start by saying, you wouldn't want to be in a rush here. The waiter is an old man and everything seems to take a bit longer but that aside this place is great. Surrounded by fast food joints selling processed junk, this place offers really good quality home cooked food. I had the mahi mahi wrap and it was delicious. We all enjoyed the fayre.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ButteryBiscuitBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
609 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing, amazing - just wonderful food and cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I had a mezzo plate that was huge - everything was fresh and either hot or cold as appropriate. Before we could finish, the main course of slow cooked lamb shank and couscous arrived - think of the best Osso Buco you ever had. It was huge, fell off the bone, piping hot and absolutely delicious. I am still thinking of this as I write. The price for two people with the mezzo and two main courses, plus tip was $30. We have another week here and will be back a couple more times.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love this family run, quaint Greek.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Wonderful Greek food in a casual setting. The best part of the experience is getting to know the family who owns it. They call my girls by name and are always so welcoming. Upgrade to the Super Gyros for sure!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank gsmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pegasus Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pegasus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing