We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great staff and atmosphere!”

Khyber Pass Restaurant
Ranked #418 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$14
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great staff and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We ate at the Khyber Pass restaurant our first night in San Diego, based on a recommendation from Ann Callahan, our host at the Hillcrest House B & B. This is a must-do restaurant if you enjoy interesting food. We had a mixed plate as an appetizer with Afghani baba ghanouj hummus, and two kinds of samosas... Our main course was a vegetarian platter and a lamb stew with saffron and cardamom. My wife had a traditional chai tea with cardamom that was very smooth and delicious, and I had an Indian beer called Taj Mahal, followed by baklava for my wife an a pistachio pudding for me, afghani coffee, spiced with cardamom.

An excellent meal and great staff! Our server, Miguel, was great to deal with, very friendly and knowledgable about all the different dishes on the menu. Highly recommend this great restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had never had Afghani food before, but won't hesitate to try it again after our experience at Khyber Pass. They will help you make selections that suit your taste from an extensive menu. What type of food is it? Think Kabobs, yogurt, Hummus, Basmati rice and well balanced savory spices. There are nice nuances in flavors and it isn't overwhelming at all. The staff is so friendly and helpful. You will have a great evening of dining there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CayUcusZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San diego
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great culinary experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Wow! Such an experience of different spices and ingredients. I had curry shrimp and I must say it was the best curry sauce I have ever tasted. My husband had the cherry lamb and it was great! I never would have thought that a cherry sauce could be so good and the lamb melted in your mouth. We also had a variety of appetizers and the sauces were outstanding. The cilantro & lime based chutney was too good. Prices were good, especially for the amount of food. We had desert & tea at the end of our meal - both were very good. If you are looking to experience a taste of Afghanistan then go here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandiegoBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This Afghan restaurant is just wonderful. Having never eaten this type of food, we were very hesitant but found it to be just delicious. ]The restaurant is pretty, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the food quality is fresh, tasty and excellent. With all the restaurants in the Hillcrest Neighborhood, we eat here very often because like it so much. We have taken our visitors there and they love it as well. We look forward to our yearly visit to San Diego so that we can eat here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maidele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent prices”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We dined here last week, and were very impressed. My entree of chicken w. apricots was delicious, as was my companion's lamb dish. Service was spot on, a nice pour of pinot for me and we left feeling very satisfied. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingnurse055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khyber Pass Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Khyber Pass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing