We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Agave

El Agave
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 4,698 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Cross street: Old Town Ave
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Real Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Not your standard tourist Mexican fare, fine dining without rice and beans in sight. I had Trilogy Chicken dish, featuring a wonderful stuffing and three moles. The moles are excellent. Our salad was fresh and easily could be split. Their tequila collection is extensive and we were guided to a tasting of a repos ado and the house anejo. wonderful!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    68
    21
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not as good as I was expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This out-of-the-central-area of Old Town Mexican restaurant is lovely inside and has lots of tequila bottles as decor. The prices are quite high. I really wanted some basic Mexican (even if gringo-ized) Mexican food but got what they call Mexican nouvelle cuisine. I ordered enchiladas that were okay but not great. Came with a salad instead of rice and beans. As long as you know what to expect, I suppose it is okay. But where were the tostadas???? (I love tostadas!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maringfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Enjoying a brief trip to San Diego from our home in Mexico, we enjoyed dinner with our friends who recommended El Agave in Old Town. The food, service and drinks were excellent and the cost extremely high. I usually follow the axiom that "you get what you pay for", but El Agave takes it to a new level. The food choices and preparation match the "high end " excellent restaurants in San Miguel de Allende, however I was a bit surprised by the "high end" price. Welcome back to the U.S. price structure. I had pork with garlic and achiote sauce which was excellent. One of my friends had chicken with a mole sauce that he also deemed excellent. The waiters were all very competent, and whipping back and forth between English and Spanish to help the Spanish speaker make her choice. The atmosphere is true "tequila", displaying what is advertised as about 1,000 choices of tequila. Enjoy El Agave, it is excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not so impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Took almost an hour and half to get the food. The server keep forgetting to bring bread. A colleague didn't get her food made what she asked and by the time she hot her order, other's good got a bit cold. Too pricey for what we were served.

Helpful?
Thank satoronto_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Atmosphere + Mole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Great quiet atmosphere with truly professional servers and amazing food. Located a bit off the very touristy central Old Town area, but well worth the extra couple of blocks walk from the hotel. Very nice space, clean, and interesting to look at the hundreds of different tequila bottles on all the walls and spanning the ceiling. Certainly a memorable and unique setting for an equally memorable meal. The salsas that came with the chips were clearly fresh, homemade, and flavorful. The margarita I had was fairly typical, but tasty nonetheless. I had the three moles chicken special recommended by the server, with a red, green, and brown mole. The red mole was my personal favorite, and simply outstanding. All three moles were excellent, and a good way to sample a variety of flavors. The chicken was cooked excellently--nice and juicy. I had dinner at another restaurant in the Old Town area the following night (Migual's Concina), and there are simply no words adequate to describe how much better El Agave was compared to "the competition". Enjoy the brief walk to El Agave and you'll be glad you did!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank inca911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing