We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of food!”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 4,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: G Street and 6th Avenue
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lot of food!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a heavy meal with a lot of food Fogo De Chao is for you.

For my wife and me it was just too much food....it was terrific though! Atmosphere location and service was great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    94
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat lovers paradise!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The food and service was excellent. Make reservations or prepare to wait. All you can eat and it just keeps coming. The garlic mashed potato side was really good. Well worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like meat...this is the best place to have it!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We decided to try Fogo de Chao while in San Diego. It turned out to be one of the greatest restaurant experiences we had. Fantastic amount of food and also excellent quality and taste of all their grilled meats. Everything was the best quality. Service was also memorable. Totally outstanding!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great selection of meats and perfectly cooked. Nice atmosphere. The best was the lamb and the filet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelguys1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

They have a great salad bar, variety of cheeses, salami, salmon, asparagus, green beans, olives, as well as the typical salad choices. After your salad, which of course you can refill often, the waiters descend with skewers of beefs, sausages, lamb and chicken. They cut a portion for you to enjoy, as much as you like. Take your time, it is endless. They also have a nice selection of wines, desserts and coffees. Warm vegetables and rolls are served with the meats.

Great food but I found the atmosphere to be a bit loud and busy. The waiters are very nice and accommodating. Your plate is never empty, but by the same token it is not a place for a quiet nor romantic meal. The restaurant was crowded , no doubt for the food just a little hard to carry on a private conversation. Great place if you are hungry, skip lunch that day and plan for a long walk afterwards. Chocolate mousse cake was a good choice, not to big, not to heavy. Perfect food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rovingruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing