We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Ranked #37 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Saved our vacation!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When our hotel did not have our reservation and could not accommodate us we drove into Hampton Inn to be soooo very pleasantly surprised by the amazing staff!!!! They made us feel so welcome and made sure we we're comfy. The amenities were awesome and our nephews and nieces loved the pool and the breakfast. The staff was the best ever. So professional and visible!!the rooms were so nice and I know we will be back soon!!!! We recommend!!!

Room Tip: Excellent rooms!!! Excellent lobby and amenities!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice to see recycle bins in rooms and lobby and well other areas of the hotel!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We're always thrilled to know that our Hamptonality makes a great impression during a guest's stay. It's our pleasure to serve you and we hope that you'll return the next time you're in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    262
    84
    28
    10
See reviews for
410
196
32
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ysidro, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staff is tremendous and extremely helpful. This is an outstanding facility to relax and take care of business. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and to welcome us. Nothing is better than a brand new facility. I waited a year to get into the place and it was worth the wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 303JohnA303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello John, Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel and thank you for giving us the opportunity to win your business! I'm excited to share your comments with our staff as we strive to provide the exceptional customer service for each guest. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this new hotel that is located centrally to all attractions in the San Diego area in short driving distance. Loved our stay, the staff was nice, pool was refreshing and the breakfast was good in the mornings. The rooms are nice and the showers are large. They do charge for self parking $14 but we got ours waved since they just opened. We would return and stay here again if we are in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello Carol! Thank you for the great review... we're pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and brand-new guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit San Diego!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Brand new, still have little things to finish, and re-think placement of signs. Very nice comfy rooms. Yes, regular HD Direct TV in the room...nice. windows open a couple inches for air if you want. Very uber gal at the desk, no checking in till 3pm, 1pm too early for this brand new hotel...pls train staff to make adjustments, jeez. Parking a little tight at the main entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank prescottmtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! We're glad to see that you enjoyed our rooms and upgraded TVs. You should also be happy to hear that we do provide complimentary early check-ins (as early as 10:30am) based upon the availability. We hope to see you again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is new and beautiful. I love the sliding glass doors to the pool which gives the hotel an airy feel and lots of ventilation and fresh air. The front desk staff is mostly really nice. You always get one or two that are not. Housekeeping was nice, excellent and efficient. I like that the windows open. Some hotels don't have windows that open and I get claustrophobic.

What I didn't like:

1. This is not a Hampton Inn and Suites. Just a Hampton Inn. So don't expect a spacious suite. The rooms are tiny.

2. There is a teeny tiny fridge in the room, but no microwave. Most Hamptons have a microwave. We wanted to heat up leftovers when we came back at 10:30. After trekking upstairs we realized no microwave and had to go back down. I could see where this would be an issue for someone with a baby who needed to heat a bottle in the middle of the night.

3. They blast really annoying techno music 24/7 in the lobby and outside. I think they're trying to give off a funky vibe but it's really just annoying. I had a headache one day and went to sit down by the pool and the music was so irritating and extremely loud that I just went back to my room.

4. The bathroom fan/"vent" (or lack of) don't seem to work at all. The bathroom was so humid hot and disgusting after a shower and didn't get much better the next day. All of the towels got damp and stayed that way the next morning. It won't be long before there's a mold issue here. I never understood why hotels don't invest in good individual fans for bathrooms. This is the single most important feature to extend the life of the hotel. Once it gets humid in the room everything gets ruined and air quality sucks. And you get bugs. Insects are attracted to moisture. And then they have to use pesticides...

Overall, a nice place. But it seems they cut corners in building. It will probably go downhill fast, unfortunately.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastalTwins P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Beach K for your valuable feedback. Regarding your feedback, you are correct - we do not have microwaves in each room, however, we have several available deliver to guest rooms based upon request. We have adjusted our lobby music since opening to be more user/time-of-day friendly. The building is built to high standards including leed sustainabilty certification.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very warm and friendly and respected. Modern design, clean and beautiful!Very good with hair dryer,next time I don't need to bring my own. Very convenient location, five minutes to Sea World and the beach, shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Serena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Serena,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our management team is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We're proud to be the newest addition in the Mission Valley area & hope that guests enjoy our convenient location as well as the new amenities in our guest rooms. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you & your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel just opened on July 7th and I stayed for business July 8-10. Hotel is a new type of design by Hampton and they really have done a nice job with it. The lobby area is huge and very bright with light. Big open area with tables for breakfast or possibly to house large groups for lunches, etc. Great design features throughout hotel with a cool little pool area that had to be fit into a pretty tight lot on which the hotel was built. Free Wifi, breakfast like other Hamptons.
Will definitely book here again on my next trip to San Diego

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BradS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're excited to be open and share our brand new hotel with you! We look forward to welcoming you back to San Diego on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#30 of 278 in San Diego
2,171 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Address: 2151 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the San Diego/Mission Valley, CA area along the famed Hotel Circle. Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley is the ideal place to stay when in search of easy access to all of the top San Diego attractions. Our hotel is only 5 miles from the San Diego International Airport, San Diego Zoo, Sea World and the popular Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego, CA. Enjoy plush, modern hotel room amenities as well as free WiFi access, complimentary breakfast buffet and a luxurious outdoor pool with patio and a relaxing firepit for socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing