We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Disappointing Dim Sum at Emerald” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Chinese Cuisine

Emerald Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #2,101 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really Disappointing Dim Sum at Emerald”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was once a pretty good dim sum place. Not any more. While it has been slowly declining over the years, a recent visit made us determined never to return.
The dim sum experience here includes ladies bringing around carts with dim sum that you select. Unfortunately, the dim sum we ordered was tasteless. The service was neither helpful nor unhelpful. Food is prepared well in advance; by the time you get to eat it, it is often cold. It's not particularly expensive, but then it's not very good either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My favorite chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The brunch is the best in san diego, and I always went there with my family. It is not easy to occupy a table in holiday

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank yaoqian19910216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large but nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Did not go for Dim Sum and Dim Sum ends at 3. Menu is more traditional then a american chinese restaurant. They seat 200 in one big room. Lo Mein ginger very oily. Cod filet ok. Roast duck again nothing special. Corn soup not up to standard. Not worth another trip. Staff was attentive

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,153 reviews
753 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Had a good dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I were staying at a hotel close by and decided to try Emerald Chinese. We were glad we did. It's a very large restaurant with white table clothes and friendly people. We both had soup Won Ton and Hot and Sour that were excellent. We then had the Sizzling Seafood plate and the Five Spice Soft Shell Crab, again both we very good. I thought the Sizzing Seafood could have been a larger portion for what they charged, but it was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale , California USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just an average Chinese Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We went there fro Mother's Day Dinner. There were no Dim sum at that moment so we did a la carte. Foods are all I said all Oily , (what do you expect on a Chinese restaurant). The service is so slow, even though when we came, there were not much of customers. Asking for a glass of water will make you wait for roughly around 10 minutes and you have to remind all waiters that are passing by near around our table that we need some glass of water. Price of foods are kinda on the expensive side. The ambiance as they said, the place was kinda bit of a run down. They need a major renovation. The parking is tight. Overall , the service, price, ambiance is on a minimal. So do not expect a great service when you drop by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emerald Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing