We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ricky's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Ricky's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The restaurant is a free standing restaurant on "Hotel Row" in San Diego. One of the reasons we chose it for our breakfast.

Bright and airy, Diner style with many booths. Server was very pleasant and attentive. We ordered a plate for each of us, two adults and two children, which turned out to be way too much food as the portions were very generous! The food was fine, as in "ok", not "great". It provided us with the sufficient fuel for a long day, but also took some extra dollars that we had not budgeted to spend at a family diner.

Nothing "bad" about the experience at all, but spending what we did, I really would have expected more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convienent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Restaurant next to the hotel we stayed at. Food was excellent, but be prepared to pay...very expensive:(

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Food was okay the breakfast being the best with large portions. They don't open that early in the morning so if you have an early day you will have to find another place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lwstnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great breakfast restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We decided to have breakfast here before going to Balboa Park and it was very good. They give you alot of food, we had scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast. The hash browns were very tasty. The prices were reasonable too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuxtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
Level Contributor
172 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as good as a year ago”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Food was decent, portions fair, but it did not seem to be as good this trip. Ate there 2 times this trip and went elsewhere for the remaining times! Waitress was not as good this time and it was way to cool; had to wear a jacket!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricky's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing