We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrigley and US Cellular Fields Wake Up!!!”
Review of Petco Park

Petco Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #7 of 430 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wrigley and US Cellular Fields Wake Up!!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

First visit to the newer Petco Park. Had been to the old Jack Murphy/Qualcomm Stadium home of the Pads before but this place is nice. What I loved most was the $5.00 stadium access pass which we used to sit in the lawn area of the park. Living in a city with very average baseball teams (Cubs/Sox) during the last 2 decades both teams could use some PR tips on how this place is set up. Loved the SD Store where basic Padre gear was available for under $10 (Cap-$7/Shirt-$8). We would definitely go back to the family friendly Petco Park. Hot dogs weren't great but loved the variety of food. Parking very accessible around the park too. Get some lawn seats and have a good time.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKE0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,197
    881
    142
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful stadium in a COOL part of San Diego!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Take in a Padres game on a Friday night, watch the fireworks after the game, and then head to one of the bars in the Gaslamp District.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take me out to the ball game!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was our first trip to a MLB game and decided to go for Labor Day weekend. The Padres were playing the Giants and despite the unhappy ending for the Padres fans, we loved our visit. The staff was very helpful and nice, giving temporary tattoos to our boys (10,7) directing us to our seats, just very friendly. We sat in section 317 row 2 and saw the action very well. We were close to the bathrooms and food/beer. It was a rare day of rain while there, and we got a little wet, as there wasn't anything covering us in that section, but we were able to step out of the rain and under the overhang near the food area. Everyone around us were decent people, so nothing crazy or not so kid-friendly. All in all a great time, the "beach" seats and park at the park also had pretty decent views although odstructed by a fence, but something to think about if you have young kids who want to move about. Loved it don't know what took us so long to finally get tickets, look forward to another game soon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank thomasinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful stadium and history....”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I'm a die hard Yankee fan, but this stadium is a must see! I loved the history and detail of the stadium, we tried to catch a game but both baseball and football teams were away for the week, but I am glad they were, because the tour guide and the stadium was worth visiting while they were preparing to go to San Francisco. We even got to see some of the players boarding their bus to go to play the Giants. I do like the stadium and the prices to see a game is phenomenal!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank gz138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Fabulous Petco Park Tour”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The tour of Petco Park where the Padres play in San Diego is a great attraction. We purchased our Tour tickets online before our arrival in San Diego -- just in case they were sold out. As it turned out, there were only four of us on the tour, so we could have waited. Who knew! It was a Friday at 12:30 in April, so not a prime time for tourists. You can purchase tickets near the front gate.

Anyway, the park is huge and much walking is involved. The tour guide did a great job giving lots of tidbits of interesting info and showed us all around the vast facility. The tour lasted just a bit less than 2 hours, though times can vary. The architecture of the park is very interesting -- the way sandstone and wood and palm trees and fountains and all sorts of materials are blended to create a unique appearance. Especially noteworthy is the fact that a historic building over a hundred years old and once owned by the Western Metal Supply Co. was incorporated into the design of the park. The city would not allow the building to be demolished, so it became part of the left field foul pole (among other things). The historical integrity of the building has been kept, including original floors, ceilings and radiators. Another unique feature of the park is the large green park beyond the outfield where people can sit on the lawn (for a small fee) during games, and also a section of sand they call "the beach" where kids can play while parents watch the game. We also saw locker rooms and sat in the announcers booth.

There is also a nice shop to buy baseball items. I am not particularly a sports fan (although my husband most definitel is), but I still very much enjoyed our tour of Petco Park. It's quite interesting the way this huge park is tucked right in the edge of the vast downtown area of San Diego.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petco Park also viewed

 

Been to Petco Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing