We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of attention” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #45 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In need of attention”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Recently stayed in beautiful San Diego, shame the Solomar was no treat, in the first few minutes of arriving i could tell the desk team were not organized. Sure enough i was checked into a room that was not ready and the maid was not happy that i was there, that made of us, Awkward! Also the bed was well past its best, i felt springs pushing into my back. Time to invest in new beds. overall a great Kimpton hotel trying to get out but not happening at the moment. Oh i forgot to mention the whole room is for sale, water, food out in the open -very in your face - was worried the bath amenities would be extra! be Wrae

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discovery140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear Chicago Guest;

I am very sorry that your arrival experience was far from positive. Room availability and delays should not be compounded by the appearance of a housekeeper in your room upon check-in - we undoubtedly placed a rush order on the room and misjudged the housekeepers time in making sure the room was to our standards. We do appreciate the good ratings for room cleanliness; thank you.

A good night sleep is key and the comfort of our beds is critical. In 2009 the hotel invested in a large volume of new bed sets. In last April of this year we will be replacing the balance of all bed sets.

Thank you for our comments and feedback and please don't forget - more new beds are on the way!

Best regards,

Mark Dibella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    584
    162
    87
    40
See reviews for
239
768
100
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We booked through Priceline Name-Your-Price so once we purchased the hotel, it was too late to change. From the start, we knew it wasn't a place for families but that wasn't even the worst of it.

Pros
* Great location for Gaslamp district
* Close to Petco Stadium and the Convention Centre

Cons
*Housekeeping was terrible - hotel provides [very] small lotion bottles, after our fist night, I wrote a note requesting housekeeping to leave 2 more bottles for the 2nd days. Not only did they ignore my note but they didn't leave anything the 2nd day. There was dust on the lamp base, the bed was not smoothed out and pillows were not refreshed. Housekeeping didn't hang up the robe, and the side table top was crooked for the entire stay.
* No concierge service - must wait for Front Desk to ask about restaurants, sightseeing, etc
* No turn-down service
* Wine reception served a low quality Cabernet (can't comment on the white wine option)
* No airport shuttle service.

Other notes: on our check-in, we entered the elevator with one gentleman already on it. Before we reached our floor, he slumped over, hit his head on the rail. I am certain that he had a stroke. At our floor (5), I kept the elevator open and my husband went to find help. I repeatedly pushed the emergency button on the elevator but no help arrived. A housekeeping staff arrived and took the man down and when we asked later, the Front Desk employee made light of the situation and I found out that an ambulance was not called to attend.

It was very traumatic for my 9-year old and he refused to take the elevator after that - thank goodness we were only on the 5th floor.

The hotel doesn't know what it wants to be. The room decor was a mix of shabby chic, spa fresh and other design elements. It didn't go together. The hotel feels like it wants to be a 4-star but with the lack of service, it is really just a 3-star with a 4/5 star price.

If you are a player, traveling on business and looking for a little side action, it might be the place but I don't think anyone who is used to 4+-star hotels will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_AYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Neighbor in Canada;

Thank you for noting your pros and cons of the Solamar; naturally we would hope for more pros but take all comments seriously.

I do apologize that our housekeeping services fell short. Most certainly we should have provided additional lotion as our "forgot it-we got it" program promotes with direction to call for any additional sundry needs.

Your experience in the elevator must have been disturbing, especially for a child; I was made aware of the incident as it occurred and was very proud of our housekeeper who assisted the stricken guest and stayed with him. By pressing the emergency button you did in fact activate the call to our front desk that allowed us to call 911 so in actuality the process worked well. I am please to convey that the guest is OK and we received heartfelt praise from him for our quick and authentic compassion and care.

With a lovely rooftop pool and easy access to Petco Ballpark, the Bay and the Children’s Museum we do find that many families enjoy the Solamar and our many complimentary services including the hosted evening wine hour. I can understand that our proximity to the lively and dynamic Gaslamp Quarter with scores of bars and nightclubs is not always the perfect setting for a family and often when shopping Priceline you may not be aware of all the dynamics of a specific location unless you shop websites directly. Our website has a healthy data base of concierge information as does our lobby Moncierge and although we do not have a single dedicated concierge all of our front desk staff train on the role and have equal access to local tourism specials and dining options for the benefit of our hotel guests - we are here to serve.

Due to our close location 3 miles from the airport we do not offer airport service; few downtown hotels do and this is noted on our website along with other amenites and services.

I am sorry that your Solamar experience was not to your expectations and do hope that you do not shy away from experiencing the fun and exciting services of our many Kimpton hotels coast to coast. Each, including Solamar, offer Kids programs and activities including goldfish in your room to keep you company.

Thank you for your comments and feedback from your neighbors in sunny San Diego at Hotel Solamar.

Best regards,

Mark Dibella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I was in town for a conference at the convention center. I do not have extensive needs. The rooms are comforatble. Bedding/Pillows were very nice. The wired internet is very good, the wireless is okay. It's within walking distance of the COnvention center. The Gaslamp Quarter has a lot of decent places to eat and drink.

I cannot remember the last time that EVERY SINGLE staff person that I have encountered in this hotel has been kind and polite. That is some kind of training. From housekeeping to the guest services person on the phone, to the random room service people in the elevator to the front desk. everyone has been extremely friendly.

If there would have been a Sheraton Four POints or a Hilton Garden inn, it would have gotten my consideration because I like to do laundry and travel with fewer clothes. But the lobby has plenty of places to sit and have a drink or read. The WIne Hour is a nice perk as is the coffee in the AM. If there were a grocery store nearby where I could get a stash of fresh fruit, this would have been a perfect location.

I would stay here again but it does not have the following of my personal "must haves"
- self-serve laundry
- inroom microwave or coffee (coffee is free downstairs in the AM)

There is a small fridge but it's packed with expensive soda and juice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Friendly staff, super cute decor, good food. This is more than just a nice hotel, the staff actually wants to make sure you enjoy your stay. Pet friendly, which I love, even though I haven't yet traveled with my pets. The bartenders in the JSix bar are awesome, especially Josh. I'll be traveling for work a lot more so this will be my hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Loved this hotel. I am a big fan of the Kimpton hotel chain and this location is one of my favorites. Centrally located in the Gaslamp district, it is walking distance to everywhere you will want to go ( Shops, restaurants, freeway to Coronado and the convention center).

The staff was really top notch with the valet guys really standing out. They brought our car around about 6-7 times over the 3 day period, always opened the door for us and were generally happy to help.

Check-in was a breeze with a $10 mini bar voucher :)

The room itself was a great size, had a comfortable bed, and a really nice view of the pool. Our only two complaints were that there wasn't any drawer space for clothes, just a closet. The useless piece of furniture in front of the mirror could have been replaced by one. The second was the non-functional pretty bathroom. The sink was sooo annoying. Every time you tried to wash your face the entire sink area would be wet. The shower was also an accident waiting to happen. A large tub but no handles for getting in and out of the shower. If you saw how large this tub was you would understand.

Room Service- Turkey burger and fries were okay. The second time we called the estimated time was over an hour and a half. Uh no.

The hot chocolate/tea/coffee service in the morning is great along with the wine hour everyday at 5pm.

I would highly recommend this hotel and cant wait to come in the summer so I can take advantage of the great pool area/bar.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for two nights -- just about everything about this hotel was perfect. The rooms were great, the bathroom is amazing, everything was spotlessly clean, and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. They recommended the best taco trucks to get awesome street food from, and were always ready with a smile and small talk. Great location in the Gaslamp Quarter as well -- one block off the main drag, so if you want to be rowdy it's in easy access, but we found the hotel to be perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfaust206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

From start to finish our three days at the Solamar were great. The hotel is lovely. The service impecable.Breakfast at Jsix was delicious. The granola was fabulous! We will surely return. This was our first stay in a Kimpton Hotel. We were very happy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing