We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take it from a repeat customer, I love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #45 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Take it from a repeat customer, I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stay at the Solamar on average once a month. I am a tough hotel guest. I have a whole list of criteria for what constitutes an acceptable room. So much so, my husband is embarrassed to check in with me!

The Solamar continues to get it right. A big shout out to Kelsey and Jose who are often working the desk when I check in.

San Diego has a myriad of hotel choices. If you like luxury at an affordable price, want to be right in the heart of the gaslamp and crave over-the-top customer service, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabogolf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    584
    162
    87
    40
See reviews for
239
768
100
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The free wine hour was great...and you're literally one block from Petco Park. Great location for nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie4654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Solamar for 4 nights. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a corner suite overlooking Petco Park. Our suite had a wonderful spa bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate living area with TV, workstation, pull-out couch and mini bar. There is a separate room with the King size bed, closet and flat screen TV.

Everything we could have needed was supplied. The mini bar prices were high, which was to be expected, but there is a CVS Pharmacy a couple of blocks away where we purchased snacks and bottled water. There is a fee for the wi-fi access unless you sign up for their Kimpton rewards program for free, so I would highly recommend you do that.

We didn't eat any meals at the restaurant located on the property, but there is an excellent restaurant 1/2 block away called the Broken Yolk Cafe that serves breakfast, lunch or dinner all day.

Just a few complaints about the hotel. The cable TV didn't work very well. The signal kept getting "lost" and would often go in and out while watching TV - very annoying. Also, I had requested extra pillows in the room and a newspaper delivered every morning which didn't happen. The pillows are WAY too soft, but maybe they have other pillows available.

All in all a very good stay and we would definitely return to the Hotel Solamar!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We arrived a few hours early from a 13 hour flight + 2 hour drive to Hotel Solamar and the staff were brilliant, sending us straight up to our room, rather than have us wait. Much appreciated with 3 kids in tow! Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was excellent, very close to the stadium and in the Gaslamp District within walking distance to a great selection of restaurants and shops. The hotel pool is very cool, with cabanas and a bar, and great city outlook. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel, we travel often and have high expectations. We'll b back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieandsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was really impressed with the Hotel Solomar-- I stayed here for a conference (that was also located at the hotel). The beds are really comfortable, and the room was spacious. I thought it was great that they have a recycle bin in each room. All of the employees were very friendly and the front desk staff had great recommendations for restaurants. The neighborhood is great with lots of things to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I love my stays at the Hotel Solamar! I am never disappointed. They are eco-friendly, pet-friendly and people friendly! The rooms are nice and chic with excellent linens. They have a hosted wine hour social in the lobby and also a morning gathering with breakfast goodies. The location is awesome and the staff is full of good on- and off- property recommendations.

Room Tip: Call the reservation desk and speak to an agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Hotel Solamar for three nights in early June and loved it! This is the third Kimpton hotel we have stayed in and frankly, if we have a choice we will always stay in Kimpton hotels wherever we go. The staff was friendly and welcoming, they couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was stylish, loved the decor in the lobby and our room was very nice, had a good view of Petco Park and we could see a giant TV screen at the park which enabled us to watch the game! We had asked for a pet-free room, so we were on the 8th floor (8th and 9th floors reserved for the pet-free rooms). The location couldn't have been better for us to wander around the city on our first visit to San Diego. Lots of restaurants right near there. We almost booked a room in the Hard Rock Hotel instead but I'm glad we didn't as it seemed super noisy and the neighborhood was teeming with people. The Solamar is only a couple of blocks from there but it is quieter and suited us better. We belong to the Kimpton club (or whatever it is called) and got a voucher for $10 for the very nice room minibar. Free iced or hot decaf or regular coffee in the lobby in the morning (good coffee, too!) and a free wine reception every evening, which I also enjoyed.Super comfortable beds, by the way! We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing