We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel -- Close to everything in Gas Lamp District!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #44 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel -- Close to everything in Gas Lamp District!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

My friend and I decided that after the previous year of staying way out in Mission Valley for Comic Con, we'd move in closer. We chose the Hotel Solamar because it seemed like the happening place to be during the entire Comic Con invasion. Boy were we right!

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and very welcoming. We didn't partake in the Wine Happy Hour, but the set up was simple. We had plenty of room for us in our double room and the bathroom was clean and tidy. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and just great.

The roof top pool was a perfect spot to spend an afternoon, soaking up rays (or enjoying a cabana) and getting a cool drink too. Any day the pool was actually open, we were there relaxing before heading out into the street.

The hotel is situated just at the start of the Gas Lamp District and is in walking distance of shops and restaurants in the area. We didn't need a car for anything and only took a taxi or bus for the zoo and the shopping center downtown.

And of course, this was the hotel headquarters of the SyFy channel, the FX Maxim pool party, and other parties during the week. So celebrity sightings were daily. Stars from the SyFy channel shows were always coming and going (as they stayed at the hotel as well). We also saw Danny DeVito, Kristen Bauer van Straten (Pam from True Blood), David Zayas and C.S. Lee (Dexter), and Elijah Wood just to name a few.

All in all, excellent trip to a great hotel. I highly reccommend staying here and know I will when I return in the future...whether it's for Comic-Con or not.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have patios out to the roof-top pool. Unlike most "roof-top" pools i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Illinois ComicCon Fan –
Yep, we’re literally in the middle of it all for the 4 crazy days of ComicCon – Solamar is Hollywood central and a cut above our regular fun and interesting operation. We appreciate your thumbs up and look to see you back again this year.
Ciao –
Mark Dibella,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    584
    162
    87
    40
See reviews for
240
768
100
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

What a really nice hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was great. JP at the pool bar was terrific and Cory who runs the Valet service couldn't have been more helpful. I was really impressed and would stay here again. The hotel is very clean and right in the middle of the gas lamp district with all the action. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chevy2dr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel staff were great. The room was very nice and comfortable. Located in trendy Gas Lamp district. Great for hip younger crowd who like go clubbing in the evening. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Horton Plaza is in walking distance with stores, movies etc. Pro's -morning coffee and evening wine tasting Cons -If you drive or rent a car it costs $40 a day for parking. Sign up for their loyalty program before you go to be able to have Wi Fi free and you get other perks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamnpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Never have I rated a hotel by the quality of their sinks...but their's are so bad, it overshadowed the whole stay! They're very modern but TOTALLY unfunctional. They're flat and shallow with along neck, so you hit your head on the spout when you lean to wash your face or brush your teeth, they splatter water everywhere when you wash your hands, so your clothes get wet and you can't turn them fully on or they will splatter everywhere. We called the front desk to see if there were rooms without these sinks and she said there had been many complaints about them. The owners need to fix this soon!

Positives of the rooms: nice shower head, nice pool area, clean, close to gas lamp area, windows open, safe in room.

Negatives: SINKS, $40/nite parking, room wasn't cleaned one day, cheap toilet paper, gave me one bottle of lotion for a four nite stay!, European style soap and shampoo dispensers, one set of towels per night,

There are a lot of better options for the money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nako51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Carmel Guest;

I appreciate the positive comments on our location, the pool and other room features but sorry that our sinks we a drain on your patience! Please know that our amenity program includes Gilchrist & Soames products imported from the UK and the ample dispensers help eliminate waste as part of our eco-friendly operations program. We also feature a “forgot it we got it” program which includes a couple dozen sundry and other items available on a complimentary basis (a phone call away) in the event our guests overlook packing them. From razors to toothbrushes – we do have it.

Thanks again for the feedback – we will always continue to improve what we can deliver.

Best regards,

Mark Dibella,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I recently stayed three nights in this hotel for a business trip and would gladly stay there again. It's in a great location with many bars and restaurants nearby, CVS and 7-11 within a couple of blocks, and the waterfront just a few blocks away (which has a great path for walking or running). The clerk who checked me in was super-friendly and helpful. She made me feel very welcome which was appreciated after a long day of travel and late arrival.

My room was on the 10th floor and was completely quiet except for when my neighbor had the shower running. It was quite comfortable and well-furnished, except that the bathroom lighting and sink displayed a bias toward form over function. (The lighting was a bit dim so I couldn't be confident that my make-up would look right in brighter settings, and the sink was square, shallow, and somewhat awkward.) The soap & shampoo in the bath smelled good although the dispensers took much pumping to get enough product out. I did appreciate having a dispenser of liquid soap at the sink instead of those little bars which always seem so wasteful. The mirror in the room was also more fancy than functional -- it was made like a window with panes and was placed over a bench in front of the bed.

The outdoor bar was wonderful and the bartender was friendly. The exercise room was smallish (about 6 cardio machines and a few weights) but otherwise fine. The lighting in the lobby was rather low, reminding me of the Abercrombie & Fitch at the mall. I guess that's supposed to project an aura of trendiness which is fine although I did feel temporarily blind whenever I came in out of the bright sunshine.

If you stay here, definitely sign up for the loyalty program first since you'll get free wi-fi as well as some other nice perks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hi there Lexington Guest -
And thank you for parking yourself at Solamar; we are thrilled that our staff made your stay enjoyable. I am glad you took advantage of our Kimpton in Touch program - we look forward to having you back at Solamar or any of our other 56 coast to coast hotels.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Solamar Hotel's best features were it's beds, location and free internet access. If you travel with dogs it's the place to stay. San Diegans remind me of the Parisians in their pampering of dogs.

Our room was adequate in size, with two double beds (cost $20/night extra) which come with extra pillows and an extra bath robe. The extra charge for a double room is new to me and seems like the hotels are getting into penny pinching like the airlines. There were no amenities in the bathrooms. Shampoo, conditioner and soap were dispensed from bottles affixed to the shower. These only provided meager portions per push. For example, I had to push the soap dispenser 4 time to get enough soap in my wash cloth.

The rooms were clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The feather down quilts were summer weight, so if you like a warm sleeping environment ask for extra blankets.

In the morning the hotel provides good coffee and tea in the lobby and in the evening they serve wine. If you want a great breakfast go to the Cheese Shop or Dublins Square Irish Pub (Opens at 10:30A). If you want good barbeque DON'T GO to Kanas City Barbeque it is a dump and the food is awful.

The Gas Lamp district has many nice restaurants and bars. It's very safe and walkable. There trains/trolleys that go from Old Town to the Border with Mexico for a couple of dollars. If you plan to go to Tijuana definitely take the trolley and walk over the border. It's the only way to go.

Don't park at the hotel. There's public parking that's way less expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors (8-10) facing the bay/conventions center. We had room 906 which lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hello Albany Guest –
Yes indeed, San Diego likes to pamper their pets and Solamar is no exception with our pet program. FYI, 3 of our guest floors are dedicated as pet free for those less inclined to see our four footed guests. Our bath amenities mirror our eco-friendly program to eliminate the waste of individual bottles but we do not scrimp on top quality brands as we use Gilchrist & Soames imported from the UK. I am delighted to see that our staff services stood out and appreciate your kind comments. Thanks for joining our Kimpton in Touch program as we look forward to having you back at Solamar or any of our other 56 coast to coast hotels.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I can only confirm all the positive reviews already left here, so in brief:
Positive:
- location
- staff
- decoration
- morning tea and coffee
- wine hour
- roof top pool and bar
- atmosphere and did I already mention location?
- free wifi if you sign up to there loyalty scheme

Negatives:
- Overnight parking for $40 (definitely check out other options, there is a place for $6 for 10 hours just around the corner, the whole thing will be a lot trickier though when a game is on at the Baseball stadium which is literally just round the corner)
- noise, the roof top pool and bar attract quite a vibrant nightlife and it can be a bit noisy if your room is facing the pool

In summary, an awesome hotel and we would definitely go there again, maybe without a rental car this time as parking is a bit of a pain if you don't want to pay 40 bucks a day.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear UK Guest;

I agree, save money on parking and don't bother with a rental car since our location is ideal to get virtually everywhere with ease. We very much appreciate your awesome comments and thank for your the feedback - the team here strives to deliver the best of San Diego and we do listen!

Best regards,

Mark Dibella,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing