We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coventry. UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to our honeymoon”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Loved the hotel solamar!! what a perfect start to our honeymoon. Staff were helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived till the moment we left, this was our second stay at a Kimpton hotel and boy does this company know the meaning of great customer service.

We had a bottle of complimentary wine waiting for us with a welcome letter when we arrived, our room was big, the bed was unbelievable comfortable, we had a sitting area we never had chance to use, and the bathroom was big with a huge bath and amazing shower!!

Took advantage of the complimentary coffee every morning, wasn't an issue to head down first thing and take a couple of cups back to the room. We used the restaurant for breakfast which was ok and expensive (use the broken yolk just over the road) also had one of the best burgers I've ever had from the pool bar when we first arrived, out bartender was friendly and helpful offering of tips and recommendations for the area,

We loved San Diego as a place, just a block away is a cool bar which is about 50 stories up and overlooks the baseball stadium. Ate at the Spaghetti Factory which was great value and reasonable quality (3 courses for around $10) and also used the Rocking Baja which was great food (amazing tequila shrimp). We used the trolley tour to explore the San Diego area, well worth the money and there is a stop a block down from the hotel, and enjoyed walking down the front to the USS Midway and the Southport Sea Village (quaint little shopping area).

To summarise, a 5 star stay at the Solamar, the perfect start to a fantastic honeymoon, would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatch124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Well that was an amazing review!!! Thank you!!! Congratulations on your recent wedding and I'm thrilled we could be part of your honeymoon. Now we just have to schedule San Diego back into your travel plans for your one year anniversary :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    610
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
266
806
102
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Kimpton hotels provide a refreshing change. The Solamar is a boutique hotel on the southern edge of the Gaslamp, very handy for restaurants, nightclubs and Petco park.

The hotel is boutique style, very trendy. Very nice rooms indeed. Excellent housekeeping services, minibar, TVs and bathroom amenities

Really liked the free coffee in lobby in the morning and the famous Kimpton wine hour in the evening

Staff very pleasant all over the hotel. For those wishing a pool stay, the Solamar deck is quite trendy and attracts a hip crowd, pool itself is small and shallow.

If you like boutique and want to be in the Gaslamp district, the hotel is highly recommended indeed

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
5 star reviews are my absolute favorite thing.... so thank you so much! You said everything very well, so I have nothing to add except for HUGE appreciation for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

I get to San Diego somewhat regularly, and this hotel is becoming my go-to. You can typically find good rates (use AAA to cut parking in half), and the location is great. The free wine/sangria hour is a good way to start the night, and this stay I was greeted with a $10 mini bar voucher simply by being part of the loyalty program. There are so many dining options within 3 blocks that you will never go hungry. Maybe not the best choice on family trips, with the modern vibe and rooftop bar noise, but otherwise a great stay every time. Plus it's 10 minutes to the airport and the freeway; great spot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your great review and for choosing us as your Go-To hotel when you travel to San Diego! We certainly try to make it feel like a home away from home, so I'm glad you are comfortable here with us. Hope to see you again soon, and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Ive stayed several times on a whim while partying downtown. I plan on going there tonight again actually. And i am gonna try the wine hour which ive actually missed out on every other time. I especially liked the staff. So friendly and non judgemental, given my adolescent appearance. They treated me with the utmost respect and consideration. Which is hard to come by theses days being as young as i am in my business.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieRonquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks for your comments Eddie. I'm particularly thankful on how our team made you feel during your visits and that they themselves continue to shine with our guests. I hope you had another great stay and thanks for your repeat vists. Loyal guests are a true sign of the job we do every day. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

As a first time traveller to San Diego, I was concerned about where to stay but after looking at several hotels I settled on the Hotel Solamar for our 5 night stay. My initial thoughts when we arrived was it was too far away from the shops and restaurants, but quickly discovered this was not true and was a great choice and location. A block away from the Gaslamp main street where all the restaurants and shops are, but far enough to not be in the middle of all the noise and action, which picks up over the weekend. Down the road is the the Padres baseball ground which luckily enough hosted a game during our stay so we walked to a game for a fun evening. The hotel staff are friendly and were happy to answer any questions or guide you. There is complimentary water in the foyer which is nice when you have been out in the warm day, complimentary coffee and tea in the morning and a happy hour at 5pm for the guests where you can sit in a comfy area with a glass of wine or two if you are back for the afternoon and makes for a nice get to know you/social atmosphere. Pool area looked great from our room even though we didn't use it but looked like a nice relaxing area with a bar and sitting areas. Loved it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
5 star review really make me happy! :) Thank you so so much for staying with Solamar and for your fantastic review. I'm thrilled about the great experience you had here.

You touched on so many great qualites of the hotel and the local area.... and you described them perfectly. Thanks again and safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband I and stayed here for a week while he attended a conference at the San Diego Convention Center. This hotel is super cute and trendy. I love the inside design and colors used. The lobby is almost a little too dim but other than that it’s great. The staff is so friendly!! We were always greeted by the front desk staff and the valet guys. They would ask how our stay was going and give us suggestions on what to check out nearby. Our room was very clean and spacious. Everything is so modern and fun looking. The bed was very comfortable as was oversized chair and ottoman. The hotel is listed as pet friendly and never once did we smell or hear any pets. There is a special welcome sign out front for dogs and it has their names on it. I thought it was very cute. The hotel also offers tea and coffee in the morning, iced coffee in the afternoon and a wine happy hour around 5, all of which is complimentary. Our room had a view of Bub’s at the Ball Park and the stadium. We only noticed street noise when we had the window open, once it was closed you couldn’t hear a thing. My only minor issue was there is no air conditioning. I guess it doesn’t get hot enough in San Diego to need it? There was a fan unit in the room but no ac. I love a super cold room so that was really the only issue I had. The pool deck is a decent size with a heated pool. It was a little too cool for pool lounging so I never went for a swim. I thought the location was great. We were within close walking distance to the convention center and lots of great restaurants. Thankfully this was a work trip and we didn’t have to pay for the hotel or valet parking. I don’t know what the going rate is for daily parking in San Diego but I thought the hotel was a big high. The price changed depending on the day and the time.

I’m a Marriott person at heart so I was a little leery trying somewhere new but I am so glad I did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeVw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and for trying something new in your travels. You made my Friday in knowing we may have converted another Marriott guest :) We have 56 Kimpton Hotels across the nation, so hopefully your travels will end up our way again soon.

Your review was great and said it all, so I have nothing to add except for a HUGE THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked the Hotel Solamar over two months in advance. I specifically told them we wanted a room with a nice view and would be celebrating our anniversary. When we arrived, the valet guys were awesome, probably the nicest, sweetest, and friendliest guys in SD. We told them that we were just checking in and would NOT pay $40 to park there. When we went to check in, I mentioned to the front desk agent that we wanted some kind of view since it was a special occasion. She said she would try then gave us a room with a city view. We went up to our room on the fifth floor and i was totally disappointed, our view was of the roof, a brick wall, and a/c. I mentioned it when we checked out, but the tall girl could care less. On a good note, the hotel was centrally located to everything in the Gaslamp, we walked everywhere and parked up the street two blocks for $15 overnight parking, great deal. The room was nice and comfortable, but has no drawers to put stuff away, maybe thats how "boutique" hotels are, but i usually stay at Marriotts and they always have drawers. Will return to gaslamp since the restaurants are awesome, but will stay at the Omni or Marriott. Would not recommened this hotel unless you want to stay up all night with people coming in at 3:00 am drunk and screaming thru the halls. The coffee and wine that the hotel offers is nice.

Room Tip: Good location, parking is cheaper one or two blocks away and you never need your car to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura5rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks for the review and for your stay with us! I'm glad you got to experience the great job our Valet team does, as they are a fun yet professional crew, and are vital to presenting our guests with a nice sense of arrival. We are looking at adding more storage space(dressers) for clothes in 2013. We do have a nice sized closet with an upper shelf and two lower shelves for stroage, although we understand longer length of stays may require some extra space.

Weekends in the Gaslamp can get occasionally energetic and lively, and from time to time every hotel has issue with some overly noisy guests that return from a night of fun. We work hard at controlling our property to keep all our guest respectful of each other (particularly in the wee hours of the morning), yet it appears a few got passed us during your stay.

Thanks again for your stay and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,453 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing