We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun and cosmopolitan hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fun and cosmopolitan hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was pure comfort. It was also recommended in two guidebooks as a luxury hotel. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The hotel is in a very good location, right in the centre of the Gaslamp district which has tons of good restaurants around. It is also next to the harbour and the tram. The rooms were well decorated, spacious and spotless. We had read a review to not stay in a room overlooking the pool as it would be quite loud in the morning. We did this and were glad of it. Our room was so quiet and when we used the beautiful pool the next day, we noticed how noisy it was.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrivateEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear PrivateEyes,

Wonderful to get your feedback, thanks so much for writing! I'm very happy you enjoyed yourself and had a chance to not only experience our hotel, but also the Gaslamp. Have a great summer, and if your travels bring you back to the US, please come see us again!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    610
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
266
805
102
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Everything was in order. The social hour was great. The Rooftop pool and bar was fantastic. Views were great also. I enjoyed access to all the local clubs and restaurants of the Gas Lamp district. The loaner bicycles were the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kippine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Kippine S,

Wow, what a great review! Thanks so much for joining us and I'm very happy that you took advantage of our new complimentary bikes. They're made by Public Bike in San Francisco and we couldn't be happier with them. Glad you liked them as well. Have a great summer and come see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

What I've come to expect from the Kimpton line--nice rooms, interesting decor, the wine hour, pet-friendly, a pleasant experience. I think it is so nice that you can borrow a bike for and explore the area that way; one nice ride or walk is down to the marina near the convention center to check out all the expensive yachts from around the world.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool, which is on the roof, fourth floor. Rooms on the fourth and fift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear cvbr,

We try our best! Glad you had a chance to check out our new bikes, we just got them in and are very excited about them. Have a great summer and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a really nice room with a jetted tub overlooking the pool/bar. The outdoor bar is really nice. The hotel room/décor was really good and the staff as always are very friendly. We had a great time.

However I do have a two comments about the room/taxi drop service that I have to mention;

1. the sink in the bathroom is very poorly designed and impractical to use
2. One evening, we asked for a taxi and one of the bell desk guys offered to drop us as they have a gratuity based drop of service and the person that offered to drop us had no clue where to drop us to get a ferry to Coronado island and we ended up missing the ferry, no fault of the hotel directly, but a minor annoyance.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the pool, have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrabhuTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Prabhu090,

Thanks very much for joining us, so happy you had a good time and truly appreciate the constructive feedback. We're in the very preliminary stages of discussing our next renovation so it's good to hear the voice of the guest about our design. We'll certainly incorporate it into our discussions. Thanks again and please join us again soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

My husband was in San Diego for business and I decided to join him for the week. We had a nice corner room with 2 great views-one looking towards Petco Park and the other overlooking the pool area. Our first day we spent the morning touring Balboa Park and were looking forward to heading back to the hotel pool to relax. As you enter the pool area, there is a sign on the door posted saying that no outside food or alcohol is allowed at any time. The pool area was somewhat crowded when we arrived around 2:00 pm, but we found some lounge chairs and ordered a few drinks. Then, it got crazy. A group of about 12 people arrived with multiple styrofoam coolers and plastic bags filled with six packs and bottles of liquor. They were yelling across the pool area to the rest of their group who had filled all the seats at the bar and cannon balling into the pool. The staff at the pool chose to completely ignore this behavior and the presence of the outside alcohol. In between shots and downing the beers they brought, we overheard conversations about which local hotels they worked at. The girls next to us, who were nice enough, were also in the service industry in San Diego. They mentioned its tough to find a local pool to hang out at but the Solamar was the "go to" spot. We decided after a while this just wasn't going to be relaxing at all. Apparently, the Solamar pool has become the hot spot for the locals who work at other hotels/restaurants. Perhaps this wouldn't bother you, but we were paying $7/beer and $11/cocktail while listening to foul language being yelled throughout the pool area by folks who were on the byob plan. This wasn't the relaxing scene I had envisioned. I avoided the pool the rest of our stay for fear of what I may experience. I feel the hotel is doing a disservice to their customers by allowing this to go on. The hotel is beautiful, the location is great, and the service was decent, but if you want a hotel where you can enjoy the pool... You might need to look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Ashley L,

Thanks for your comments. While I'm happy to hear the kind words about our location and hotel, it's really the overall experience that sets the tone and I'm sorry we let you down. We do allow our community in that area in the same manner that we welcome them into our restaurant. Do we want them bringing alcohol into the area? Absolutely not, that's the last thing we need!

While there are going to be some wrong decisions made from the public from time to time, our team is happy to deal with it. Our servers and bartenders are very proactive about dealing with anyone bringing their own alcohol into the area, as not only is it a safety hazard and liability issue it goes against the grain of what they're trying to do. I'm sorry we weren't as successful as we should have been in stopping this.

Moving forward I'd ask you and any future guests to simply grab one of us managers and we'll be happy to deal with it.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Walking distance from everything. Upon check in, my hotel receptionist was so friendly. The asked me if I wanted a pet fish when I commented on the fish at the front desk. Room was huge! It had a sliding door that you could see through to the bathroom, with a FANTASTIC soaking tub! I loved the charismatic staff, and all thier pets. What a wonderful place to work and stay!

Room Tip: I had a room facing 6th street and it was great. Very minimal street noise for a downtown urban hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Christine H,

What a pleasure hosting you, thanks so much for the kind words! Completely agree about the incredible house made sangria; our team in Jsix continues to amaze us! Have a great summer and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I only stayed two nights, but wished we had stayed longer. Front Desk staff are very kind and helpful and upgraded us due to celebrating our wedding anniversary - room was lovely. Great location as walking distance to the Gas Lamp District and also the Baseball Stadium for the Padre's. Seaworld was fantastic to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trumpton_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Trumpton_8,

We wish you'd stayed longer too! Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and had a chance to check out the famous Gaslamp. Please come back soon, perhaps for your next anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,193 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,452 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing