We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dog Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #44 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Dog Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We picked this hotel because how dog friendly Kimpton hotels are. This location did not disappoint. We love to travel with our two dogs and it is nice to be welcomed by staff that are so pet friendly. There is plenty of grass and trash cans right outside the hotel for taking your pup out. The hotel can also provide dog beds, dishes, etc.

This location is right in the Gas Lamp District. We walked around every night and encountered many restaurants that were pet friendly that allowed pets on the patio.

We had the King Spa room which we loved. The tub is extra deep and it is a little bigger then the normal rooms. We had room service for breakfast once and the bacon was amazing.

Overall our stay was great. Fresh coffee in the morning in the lobby was appreciated. My only complaint is I would ask not to stay on the 4th floor so close to the entry to LOUNGsix (hotel pool bar). It was extremely noisy every single night. Drunk people talking loudly at the elevator was a little annoying. Every once in a while it would wake up our dogs, they started barking, and I'm sure that may have annoyed other guests. Even with this experience we would still stay here again. The location and friendliness of staff was worth it. If we stayed here again, I would just request another floor completely.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid being close to the elevators on the 4th floor. Patrons can be very loud after a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Jill, thank you so much for the great review. You made me laugh with your comment about the Bacon, as you are the first person to comment on it (that i've seen), and I absolutely agree with you. It's delicious, and a side order comes with 5-6 pieces. Most restaurants seem to give only two pieces. We do also love our 4 legged guests as well, so I'm thrilled you noticed we take just as good of care of them as we do our regular guests. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    584
    162
    87
    40
See reviews for
239
766
100
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were married in downtown San Diego last month and reserved a room block for friends and family and a beautiful suite for us for two nights. The room was so comfortable and spacious and we were able to have family in and out as well as a makeup artist and other wedding preparations with plenty of room, it has an amazing bathtub to soak in and decompress with an awesome view of the gas lamp. We had a small dinner with out of town family in the J-Six Friday night and then after our evening wedding on Saturday we had pre-ordered platters of food and requested a table at the JSix Lounge by the pool. We were upgraded to a lovely cabana and the cheese and meat platter and warm crab and artichoke dip was delicious, with the bar right there for guests to order additional drinks. It was so convenient to have great restaurants in the hotel, tons to do within walking distance, and our room right there when we were exhausted. We had a large gathering of about 20 people the morning after the wedding for Sunday breakfast at the J-Six and it was also great. There were so many special, romantic touches - the staff was exceptional and really went out of their way to make our stay memorable, from champagne upon our arrival to rose petals throughout the suite on our wedding night and even a loaner guitar (!) for my husband to play in our room.

If you want a great get-away, a romantic weekend, an all-inclusive SD wedding home-base, we highly recommend the Solamar. It's the only place we stay in SD - we love the small boutique feel and the wine hour in their salon, the great views, super comfortable beds with high quality linens, exemplary staff. You won't be disappointed. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a view, get a suite for a special occasion, some rooms open on to the 4th floor pool area wi...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Solamar is big on green practices, we love the locally-grown and organic options on the room service menu because we always order in after we've been out late.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for the amazing Review Dana. We are especially proud to be included in such a special day for you. Congratulations! Please think of us first the next time a staycation is calling. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Solamar is a great place to stay in downtown San Diego! It is well located in the Gaslamp and the roof top bar is awesome. The front desk staff was great, and special kudos to Dalia who helped us tremendously. It has now become THE place for me to stay when in the area

Room Tip: There is construction going on across the street, but the noise was bearable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YamahaZing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are very proud having Solamar be "THE place" for you to stay. We are thrilled that our team had such a positive impact on you during your visit. We really love Dalia too!!!! Thank you for the fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Our group stayed here recently on a trip to Downtown San Diego. The location on 6th Avenue was unbeatable for enjoying San Diego's energetic nightlife, which is mostly centered on nearby 5th Avenue. You don't want to stay right on 5th Avenue, since it does get noisy, especially on weekends. Other Downtown attractions are also close by, including the Midway Museum aboard a retired US aircraft carrier.

Our hotel room was very quiet and quite sizable for a downtown hotel. Beds were comfortable, and the decor was an interesting mix of traditional and modern decor. Hotel has an outdoor heated rooftop pool and a patio, which we enjoyed immensely. Our room had a large flat-screen TV and a fridge. Service was very friendly too. Wifi was available in the room, and it worked flawlessly during our stay. Wifi is complimentary, provided you sign up as Kimpton Hotels Preferred Guest (which was free).

The only drawback (and it was minor) - breakfast is not included in the price. For the price I paid for the room, I would have appreciated a basic breakfast. However, it wasn't a deal-breaker for us, and I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting San Diego.

As a tip a travelers - don't bother with the hotel's parking lot - it is very expensive. I had no problem finding a parking space in a nearby parking lot for a fraction of the price the hotel was asking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Cbevers... We wanted to thank you so very much for staying here with us at Solamar and for your great 5 star review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed the property and the area so much on your trip. There are certainly many options in the area for some great outdoor adventures. Please come see us again the next time you make it to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I came down to San Diego with friends the weekend after Thanksgiving. We chose the Solamar because we had recently stayed at a Kimpton in Seattle and really liked the hotel. The check in was quick and easy and they even moved us to a better room on the top floor just for asking. The room was a King and was a very nice size. The bathroom was roomy and had everything you could need. For being a Kimpton in touch member we even got a coupon to Raid the Minibar, which was a nice treat. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did order room service breakfast one morning, the meal was delicious and came so fast. We took the bicycles out on the day we arrived and it was really nice to ride around downtown on the free bikes that the Solamar had. Overall great stay, stay with the Solamar and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: A high floor is nice for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Amazing review Travelme9... thank you so much. I'm glad you got an opportunity to enjoy the bikes and explore the city. There are so many fantastic things to see here in San Diego. I'm glad we had such a positive impact on your trip. Hope to see you again at another Kimpton Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I arranged a private dinner for my fiancee's birthday dinner followed by cocktails on the terrace and a night's stay. Being the owner of two service based businesses I know what it means to provide excellent customer service. It's something that a lot of companies boast about yet very few can actually deliver. Hotel Solamar exceeding my expectations and made for a perfect evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks so much for the amazing 5 star review Teevan!!! Coming from someone like you whose business thrives on great service, it means so to hear such great comments about our service. Thank you again, and thank you for your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our family loved absolutely everything about this hotel! Most of all, the incredibly helpful, energetic, and fun staff. Every single person we encountered, from the bellmen to the desk people to the housekeepers, was energized, sincere, and friendly above and beyond the call of duty. Everyone made us feel so welcome, and seemed genuinely interested in our stay and how they could make it the best it could be. A special shout out to Katie who walked our dog! Our dog, by the way, also loves this hotel-- everyone was so sweet to her. They are very kind to children as well. The cocktail hour was the best we've encountered in a Kimpton. The location can't be beat. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Jennifer! Thank you so much for such an amazing review of the Hotel. I will certainly share your feedback with the team, as they truly get excited about making such an impact on our guests. I'm happy your visit to Solamar and San Diego was such a great experience.... hope we see you again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#49 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing