We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The staff at this quaint hotel are the best! I have stayed here many times and am always impressed with this resort. This is a classy boutique hotel with a great free beer and wine happy hour. The hotel is always very clean, extremely comfortable beds and linens. This is a true first class hotel, where the staff are very attentive. The on site roof top bar is fun and the on site restaurant
J Six serves great cuisine. On this trip I stayed in room 821, which had a lovely view of the pool and city.
The only suggestion I would make is that a hot tub was added to the pool or at least a fiberglass hot tub be set by the pool. Overall, one is always in for a great experience at this Kimpton property.

Ken

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kencabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi Kencabo,

Thanks for the great review! We think you’re the best! We’re glad you enjoy our complimentary beer and wine hour each night and our first class customer service. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great boutique hotel just a couple of blocks away from the Gaslamp Quarter. I have stayed here 4 times now and one of the things I like best is they are VERY pet-friendly. No extra charge for furry friends and many other guests also bring their dogs.

They provide a doggie bed and snacks and water bowl too. Having said all that it is also quite a nice hotel - rooms nicely decorated in a hip / trendy style, if somewhat cozy.

Parking was $35 but there is public (metered) parking on the street and at an adjacent public lot.
So many great places just a short drive or walk away (walk: Petco ballpark, Gaslamp Quarter; short drive: Coronado Island, Balboa Park).

I frequently visit here from Las Vegas and will stay again.

There's a happy hour from 5-6p each night in the main lounge with a free drink, and also a rooftop / poolside lounge as well. . . plus they offer free wifi and you can borrow a bike for free to ride around town if you wish.

Great restaurant too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hello Joe4Stage,

Thanks for the great review! Furry pets are family too, why leave them out of a fun time!? You touched on so many of our great amenities we offer to our guests including our location, rooftop lounge, and free rental bikes! We hope see you next time you swing over from Vegas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I´ve been several times to this hotel and I just love it. For me is the best hotel in San Diego when it comes to price and location. Just one block away from 5th Ave and you can walk to the best places to hang out at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Leticious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hello Leticious,

Thank you! We love this review! We're very happy you think this is the best hotel in San Diego (we do too!). We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

When we arrived the clerk couldn't find our reservation but fortunately the hotel wasn't full. Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the road & an enormous building site opposite. However, it wasn't too noisy too early. We asked for a late checkout but were only granted an extra hour (which was helpful but not long enough) even though I believe the hotel wasn't full. The room was small but fine, clean etc. We had breakfast which was only available in the outside pool area and therefore a bit cold so wrap up in warm clothes in "winter".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great review. We are happy to say that our newly redesigned restaurant is now open, so no need to breakfasts on the rooftop lounge any longer. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in San Diego and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Priced like a nice hotel, some nice decorations like a nice hotel, but ultimately falls short. My biggest gripes were with the room - the room designer should find another vocation. The room looked nice but failed in function. Should be function first and then look nice. The bathroom was dark, which I think was so you wouldn't see how much water splashed from the shallow sink. There was no way to wash hands, brush teeth or shave without getting everything around wet. The room had no dresser or drawers. And my room was a spacious corner room, but that didn't seem to concern the designer because the extra space was just left oddly blank.

The gym was tiny with 1 treadmill and 1 elliptical which I always found full. The restaurant and bar were under construction. The hotel apologized for the mess and noise but made no effort to do anything else - rates weren't discounted and the traditional Kimpton free happy hour was extended or anything.

Parking was $41 overnight - fairly norm for downtown. Kindly, the valet did point me to a $15 place down the street. For the same prices, there are much better places to stay in downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: A good room would be one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi Svtex,

Thanks for the review. Sorry we fell short of your expectations. We’re working hard to have the restaurant opened very soon. Our gym was designed with the beautiful weather and so many outside activities to do in mind. We also have 2 bike’s available to rent for free. We hope you give Kimpton another chance and to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a business trip with a couple personal days tacked on so we didn't really choose the hotel. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Room was comfortable, morning coffee was great, happy hour was enjoyable. When there was a slight miscommunication, the staff solved the issue without hesitation. We used the complimentary bikes and really was able to cover so much of the city. A definite highlight of the trip. The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating was the restaurant was under construction which was mildly inconvenient and the hotel had no vending machines. If I didn't want to pay triple the cost for a water or soda from the minibar, I had to walk over to the 7-11 or Cvs, not desirable at 11pm. We would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello Rana5,

Thanks for the great review. You touched on a lot of the great amenities and services we have available here at the hotel. We are very close to re-launching our brand new, stunning restaurant so please come back and see us so we can get 5 out of 5 star rating from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were excited to stay at this hotel based on a friend's recommendation. It's in a great location -- near the Gaslamp district and within walking distance of the Convention Center. The décor is modern and trendy. We enjoyed the hotel's daily happy hour at 5 pm.

We were surprised at the noise level from Room 619, there is no soundproofing, at all -- you can hear guests from adjacent rooms as if they were actually in your room. The noise from the hallway carries, as well as the noise from the 4th floor lounge/pool area!

We had an early check-out on February 5. After checking with the staff the evening before, I was assured that it would not be a problem. The morning of our departure, the attendant on duty said he was unable to provide my receipts because he was running a process, but that he would e-mail them to me. Because this was work-related travel, I was explicit with what I needed him to e-mail me. I received an e-mail 1-1/2 hours later, it was missing one of two receipts I requested. I called the hotel upon landing in Baltimore and asked the attendant to e-mail the room receipt. Nothing. I called again at 7:24 p.m. and Martha (I believe) finally e-mailed the receipt.

We parked a vehicle on site. The valets were always helpful. The $41 per day valet fee is steep considering some of the other hotels allow self-parking for $30.

If we visit San Diego again, we'll look at other hotels before re-booking at this one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erp757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hello Erp757,

Thanks for the review. We’re happy you enjoyed our location and happy hour with local beer and wine. Sorry about the receipt mishap- bad timing on our part. We find that our parking prices match those in the area with secured, in-and-out privileges. Hopefully you will give us another shot to impress you. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 278 in San Diego
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
412 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £102 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing