We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #44 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I like to stay in Kimpton Hotels when I travel to the U.S. So far, I haven't been disappointed by this chain. The Solamar is in a great location in the southern (?) end of Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego. There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance, it's close to Petco Park if you're a baseball fan, they have a lovely pool/outdoor lounge area, it's close to downtown, the Embarcadero, the Convention Center, and Horton Plaza Mall. The other Kimpton in San Diego, the Palomar, is in a sketchier part of the downtown (more pan handling and homeless people). The staff at the Solamar are good and its restaurant, JSix, has fantastic food. The only negative comment I have is that they need to go through their towels and discard the ones that are thin and worn.

Room Tip: You can request a pet-free room if you aren't travelling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubtingNag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello DoubtingNag,

We’re glad your Kimpton travels have not disappointed yet! Our location is hard to beat with Petco and The Gaslamp Quarter stone’s throw away. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    595
    164
    89
    41
See reviews for
241
780
100
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a fantastic stay here again. So sad to leave. Hotel is excellently located - this time to petco park for a padres game. Had a pool view - for those of you who sleep early (thank you jet lag), the pool quiets down around 1am in weekends but I never had any problems falling asleep before that.

Rooms looked good for their age. Love the theme and laid back feel of this hotel. The rooms will be fantastic when they are renovated. They need to do something about the sinks - and I was told that they will!!!

The amenities are good as always with wine hour (free) including craft beers now too. So cool. Loved the ample coffee during the morning and flavored water during the day. The restaurant has been renovated and looks fantastic. Also the food is fantastic. The in room dining remained the same with the awesome tagliatelle pasta and burger. I highly recommend the restaurant though- and I don't say this often with hotel restaurants. Loved the cocktail menu and everything we tried (which was about half the menu) was delish.

Service all in all was good. I saw a lot of new faces, but they all did a great job so no problems there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Amanda C,

We’re so happy we’re your fave SoCal hotel! Glad you enjoyed our new, fresh restaurant! We’ll see you next time you’re down this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Well-appointed, classy hotel right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. First-class rooms and service with a great fourth-floor rooftop bar and pool. This fine hotel is walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars and a short cab ride to many attractions. A bit on the pricey side but worth the extra money.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spearfishpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello spearfishpete,

Thanks for the great survey. We’re very happy you enjoyed our location and your stay. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recently spent a three (3) night stay at Hotel Solamar in the gas lamp district of San Diego. From the beginning and throughout the entire time I stayed there, I found everyone to be professional, courteous and most of all helpful.

One individual in particular, Jake, was always helpful to everyone he interacted with. He had a wonderful attitude with all the guests and was especially helpful helping me get settled into my room at the hotel.

With so many people complaining these days about what is wrong in the world, I figured it was necessary to commend Jake for an outstanding job and making the hotel guests, including me, feel welcome.

I look forward to my next stay at this wonderful establishment.

Sincerely yours,

John Lambert
Palm Springs, CA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Agreed John! Thank you so much for your review and positive words about Jake. We can't wait to see you back again soon!

Justin
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent 5 night's at the Solomar. Very friendly staff throughout. Breakfasts are really good and the breakfast bar is very clean. The location is great for the gaslamp area, but not within the noise. Only slight gripe, is the price of the car parking, as it i think it is valet only. However, don't let this put you off.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mikecarnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for the 5-Star review, mikecarnegie. We’re glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, breakfast and location. We hope you and your family come back and see us soon!

Justin
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at if you're looking to hang out in the downtown area and just stroll around a few blocks. All the major restaurants and clubs are within walking distance so that you don't have to drive anywhere. The hotel is beautiful, stylish and the staff are attentive. The rooms are really nice and beds are comfy. We drove to little Italy for dinner one night but that's because we wanted to go there, other than that we basically just hung out in the area. There's a club across the road that can be loud, but you can close your windows and the noise is no longer an issue. You can open windows as well which is always a huge plus for me to get some air rather than air con. I liked seeing a variety of guests here as it wasn't just the 'look at me' crowd. We'll recommend this hotel for sure and be back for another getaway. Valet is expensive in my view (in excess of $40!) so there's a carpark across the road or another one a block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello SalOZ,

We appreciate the great review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We’re stones-throw away from so much to do and see. We hope to see you back soon!

Justin
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I live two blocks from this hotel but was given a room there during a recent conference. I had been curious about this hotel so was glad to take the room as I hear Kimptons are very chic' and cool. I had heard correctly because this smaller, botique-ish hotel has a very cool vibe.

Best part of the hotel is the happy hour (free!) from 5 to 6pm in the lobby. A very nice and thoughtful touch. They also have waters, coffee, and other items out throughout the day so they know how to take care of guests.

The room itself and bathroom were nice but not "wow." You could get a small army of people drunk on all of the booze tempting you right out in the open. The sizes of the bottles were quite large for a hotel mini bar! There's also a stocked fridge and lots of snacks. Bed seemed like it would be comfortable but I just went home and slept so I can't give a good review on that.

They do allow dogs at this hotel and I saw an adorable English Bulldog named Nixon during my stay. Unfortunately, a yappy little dog who loved to bark was in the room next door so that is a drawback. Glad I didn't use the bed as it would have been quite annoying.

The pool deck area is cool and has a nice outdoor bar and cool views of downtown San Diego. I didn't eat directly at J-Six but had a catered meal there and some other catered lunches by the pool and in J-Six. Overall, catered options were unimpressive but I'm sure J-Six is better.

Overall, a cool, hip hotel in DT San Diego. I'd probably choose the Omni over this property but this hotel does deliver on cool and hip and the free happy hour is hard to resist.

Tip - Sign up for their hotel rewards program and you get free internet.

Room Tip: Sign up for their hotel rewards program and you get free internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everyshadeofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello everyshadeofblue,

We’re so glad you enjoyed our boutique-ness and our awesome everyday free happy hour! Next time you’ll actually have to stay and sleep in our comfy beds! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing