We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing pool/bar area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #45 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing pool/bar area”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located and very comfortable. The pool deck and bar is incredible - great staff, friendly and a great range of drinks. Highly recommend this place to anyone. Downstairs team also very professional and nice to deal with. Will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello iduggan,

Thanks for the review! We’re glad you enjoyed Lounge6. Come back and see us soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    594
    164
    89
    41
See reviews for
241
777
100
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. Our room, number 908, was a king bed room with a "city view". Based on reviews we read (not sure where!) we decided to pay extra for the city view. I would definitely recommend against this. Our "city view" was of a very large yellow crane directly in front of our window. In fact, you will get a city view from any room in this hotel, since it is in the center of the city! The room itself was clean and nicely decorated. It did NOT have a coffee maker in the room, so you have to go downstairs to the lobby to get free coffee. This is a con for us, since my husband likes to relax and immediately drink coffee upon waking. A plus is the free use of bikes. I don't think you can reserve the bikes, so that could be a problem, but we were lucky enough to grab them and ride to the end of Harbor Island, stop for coffee and come back. Definitely a nice perk! The hotel is pet friendly. The pool is nice to lay by, or to hang out at the bar (with a FREE city view). The bar menu has high prices and limited selections, but it is decent. You will want to join the loyalty club for Kimpton before you go so you can get free wireless and $10 off your bar bill. Overall, would recommend if you can get a decent deal on it.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a "city view" room. They all have city views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancing_girl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello dancing_girl14,

Thanks for the review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay. The higher up you go, the better the view of the city. Next time just let us know you want a coffee maker in the room and we can do that for you! See you next time!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What an incredible place to stay! We had a corner suite, huge patio balcony, deep jacuzzi tub in room, separate bedroom and living area. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday, they included some champagne in the room, awesome touch. What impressed me most? The phenomenal customer service Andrew, at the pool restaraunt/bar, Vanessa, at the front desk, the women I spoke to in making the reservations. The location in Gaslamp, made it so easy to walk around town, free happy hour in the lobby. We will be back, and I will be sharing my experience with many. We made a fabulous choice. Joanie c.

Room Tip: Corner Suite Room
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressive thought to details, when being Eco friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Joanie C,
What an incredible review. Thank you so much. We’re glad you chose us to celebrate your daughter’s birthday and had such a wonderful time! We can’t wait to see you back soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was awesome, especially Luz and Lydia who made sure we were treated like celebrities, even the smallest details like an extra robe or towels, they were quick and very courteous, they went above and beyond and their smiles was very heart warming. It's not very common for me to notice housekeeping as the Best in a hotel review but in this case, Lydia and Luz made me decide every time we're in San Diego, we're staying at Solamar because of their friendly staff :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Alfred C,

Thank you for the great review! We’re firm believers that customer service doesn’t end at the front desk and our housekeepers take that to heart! I will be sure to let Luz and Lydia know of your comments. Can’t wait to see you next time!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this hotel based on what I saw and read on Hotels.com, I came with high expectations, when we arrived, we were greeted with a $41 parking fee, the reception desk was nice and helpful (Ana), she checked us in quickly and was very pleasant to talk to, when we got to our room, my wife and kids were visibly disappointed, the room was small and no view, it look a lot nicer in the pictures, so I immediately went down to the reception to get an upgrade, on the way down, I was greeted by housekeeping, (Ana and Lydia) they were extremely nice and courteous, they noticed I was upset and asked if they could help, I thought that was genuinely nice of them to go above and beyond their duties to assist an "upset guest", they offered some extra pillows and towels, I got to upgrade to suite, the room was big improvement, but the reason, I will be back will not be because of the nice suite but the sweet and friendly housekeeping crew :)
THANKS Ana and Lydia, you made my kids smile and made our stay great!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Alfred5555

Thank you so much for the great review and mentioning Lydia and Ana! I’m glad they were able to get you and your kids into a more comfortable room. We hope you all come back soon and see us again!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Solamar on at least five separate occasions and have always left very satisfied.

I travel often for work and the staff here is among the friendliest and most genuine. They are happy to help with whatever request you have - large or small.

The hotel is also very pet friendly, which is a plus, because we like travelling with our two French Bulldogs. Our dogs love staying at the hotel and have even figured out that the staff at the front desk and bell desk will often keep treats for their four-legged guests.

Highly recommend for business or pleasure stays.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Masters Suite for a longer stay, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello

We refuse to let you stay anywhere else! Thank you so much for the great review. We look forward seeing you and your frenchies again!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hello stay at this hotel multiple times it is great. Location location location right in Gas lamp, hotel is clean staff are great and wake up early enough and grab the hotel bikes and go for a spin around city. Pool is great and trendy, restaurants are great. Overall great hotel a little pricey but hey your in San Diego. Just one more thing there is some major construction going on across the street don't get that side of hotel. Unless you are an early riser anyways Pretty sure they are building a condo.
What can you do
cheers

Room Tip: Dont pick the 4th floor Noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIR_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello AIR_Review,

Thanks for the great review! We’re happy you got to enjoy so many of our awesome amenities. Come back and see us again soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,971 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing