We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The people who work here they are not friendly the lobby is to dark tv.services is terrible no Spanish chanel it's a very old in the bathroom they only put cheap soap no space for you clothes you have to leave you clothes in you logged

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herminia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Herminia M,

I've reached out to you via personal message to discuss your review in more depth. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I just spent a week at Hotel Solamar and left disappointed. The TV reception in my room didn't work the entire week, so if you want a functioning TV in your room don't stay here. I complained and the staff didn't seem to care or to be concerned. All they said was "Yea we're having problems with that." In general the hotel staff wasn't very helpful or pleasant. I also didn't like the hotel restaurant and bar. It closed very early and staff were rude. I'm sure there are much better options in downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davidbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello davidbruce,

Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for what was clearly a frustrating experience at our property. The TV issues have thankfully been fixed but I apologize for the trouble you had during your stay. The service you experienced is not indicative of our typical performance. It’s our goal to be the best loved hotel in San Diego, but we’ll never get there unless we learn from the times we fail in that goal. I thank you again for your review and we hope that we're gifted another opportunity in the future.

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here in February for a convention. Conveniently located to Convention Center, Petco and the Gas Lamp district. Room was very comfortable for a 6 night stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Had a few small meals in the restaurant/bar. The fried dark meat chicken and spicy lamb meatballs are to die for. Of course it rained while I was there so the in room umbrella came in handy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Thomas L,

Thanks for the 5 star review! Location, location, location- can’t be ours with all that a stone’s throw away! You couldn’t be more correct about the meatballs and fried chicken; 2 of my favorites too! I hope business brings you back our way again soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Centrally located in the gas light district, this hotel offers walking distances to most of the southern part of down town San Diego. Rooftop lounge is nice, but the pool is quite small. Nice hotel for couples and weekend guests, not so much for families with kids.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the music and guests visiting the lounge at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank enur1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed our location and happy hour! Come back and see us again!

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here in July for a romantic vacation. Room was extremely small and seemed as if it was furnished from Ikea. Housekeeping was the worst I have ever seen in a hotel. Garbage was never emptied, bathroom sink never wiped down nor toilets cleaned, room not vacuumed. Paid for view room and overlooked a construction hole that had a crane operating outside our window on the 7 th floor. Pool was great but was filled with outside guests by their own admission. You do not need a room key to enter the pool area. "Happy Hour" again was a nice touch but the same people who were not guests at the hotel were there for the free drinks. They said they came almost every afternoon and the employees knew they were not guests but did not care. Parking was $45.00. Park a block down for $15

Room Tip: Do not bother with view upgrade. We did and overlooked a giant construction hole and mega constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UtahPatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmgentry222, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello,

I've reached out to via private message. Please contact me. Thank you.

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Solamar for our wedding and had a wonderful time! Unfortunately, at the end of our stay, we lost something very special to us! The hotel has been doing a wonderful job trying to find it, but we need your help! If you were at the Solamar on Saturday, July 19th, please help up find this bunny!!! He was last seen Saturday morning in Room 602! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQLsau1Psog

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyHawk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmgentry222, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello LadyHawk26,

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We’re desperately looking for your very special bunny and having our laundry company keep an eye out for it too. We’ll contact you if we come up with anything.

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in early July and was happy with the choice. I go around the different baseball stadiums and Petco Park was an extremely short walking distance from the hotel so this worked perfectly. Also, the hotel is around the corner from the Gaslamp District which has all the bars and restaurants you could ask for. Since the weather is so beautiful in San Diego, walking around is a great thing. My room and the hotel was extremely clean and the bellhops were there almost all the time to open the doors for me when I entered which I thought was an excellent touch. I ventured to the outdoor bar on the 6th floor which was cute. Since it was night and a little chilly, they had fire pits and some flames by the seating areas. Also, I ordered a draft beer and it tasted funky so when I asked the bartender if I could exchange for a bottle beer, he did so with no problem. The pool looked nice but not overly big but I didn't go in. The ride to the airport wasn't too expensive (under $20) which is big considering how some cities' airports are way out of the tourist areas. I did not have a car, but the parking rate to park here was pretty expensive. So if you're driving around and have a car, be advised that the price can be costly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmgentry222, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello kitchenspark,

Solid review here! Thank you. We’re glad you enjoyed our location, service and cleanliness. Come back and see us again soon.

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 278 in San Diego
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
411 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £102 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing