We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,177)
Filter reviews
2,177 results
Traveller rating
1,191
651
190
97
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
651
190
97
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourpetco parkgaslamp districtjsix restaurantwine receptionconvention centerrooftop poolcomplimentary winemini barfree happy hourfourth floorthe gas lamp districtevery eveningrestaurants and barsovernight parkingvalet parkingper night
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 2,177 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

During a quick business trip the key needs are an efficient and genuine welcome; a quiet, elegant and comfortable room and service for the little things that one needs quick help finding. This hotel is quiet and remarkably elegant. Touches like a bicycle for borrowing and coffee, lemonade and tea brewing in the lobby are thoughtful and welcome. The rooms are top notch with special touches everywhere from the great bed to the modern bathroom. The front staff is always the face of the hotel. A late night "cool" (vs. warm) check in and the inability of the AM desk staff to get a toiletry to me at the desk ("We will bring it to your room", when I had to rush up to a meeting.) drops any hotel from extraordinary to "just ok." People matter: a hotel cannot drop the ball on simple requests. It is unfortunate that it takes only 2 brief encounters that did not deliver to drag down the overall experience, but this is the reality of such a service industry.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are superb from every indication: It is a well designed interior.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Speaker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello Speaker76,

Thanks for the feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our hotels amenities. Sorry, we ran out of the toiletry you requested at the desk. We do our best to keep the desk stocked with normal requested amenities just sometimes run out but quickly reloaded. We hope to see you back again.

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

3 night stay in San Diego. Amazing city and our stay there was made better by our Solamar experience. Location - check. Ambience - check. Awesome rooftop pool/bar - check. Free beer - check. Free bikes - check. Comfortable, quiet room - check. I picked the hotel mostly due to the pool/bar but also because of the nice pitch Kimpton make with their website, the Karma rewards and all the nice add-ons. I'm ok with paying a little more for the chrome. As it turned out we didn't spend much time at the pool on account of San Diego's general awesomeness. Coranado, Gaslamp, Midway etc. Will be back to SD and Solamar.

Added bonus: I let them know it was a birthday celebration and we received complimentary bubbly and 2 tasty cupcakes. This was on top of complimentary wine and the $10 bar credit. This place can do no wrong!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms looked like they had better views of pool and city. Other side of hotel was surrounded by cranes so those can't have been too pretty. Did not have any noise issues from pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giddyup_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello giddyup_IRL,

Thank you for the great review and thanks for being a Kimpton Karma member! Glad you enjoyed your birthday and we hope to see you back again soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel although is referred to as a boutique hotel I would say is a lot more mainstream and well thought out then other boutique hotels I've stayed in your past travels. The architecture is awesome and welcoming parking is taken care of by the valet service the staff is attentive and friendly.

The rooms are large and spacious minimal to no noise when inside and set up to provide a sense of entertainment and party.

The 4th floor pool is active and alive with guests and the bar service is quick and easy.

Guests varied from older families to we can get away singles, there was a very festive feeling with the hotel and you get a feeling that this is a top stop for a lot of people.

Pros
Clean
upscale
trendy
good restaurant
excellent mini bar
excellent location
superior guest services
free bottle of Merlot on check in

Cons
Minimal bathroom accessories (they use a community dispenser in shower)
No locks on bathroom door (boutiques always do this... its odd)
Gratuitous service charges on room service... I mean VAT like ext felt like Finland :)

Room Tip: I was in Room 718... my reservation said Skyview. Nah it was the side of another building view but the room itself was very nice. You are not going to be seeing much but other buildings from this location.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank woodske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello woodske,

Thanks for the review. We're really happy you enjoyed our service and location. We hope to see you back soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Fantastic hotel in a great location for the Gaslamp district. Once we parked we didn't need to use our car again for the duration of our stay. Lovely room and a comfy bed. We slept very well. We most enjoyed the rooftop pool. It gets sunshine until quite late in the evening which was when we used it most. Great to be able to relax with a cocktail after a busy day. Loved it here - would definitely return if ever we are back in San Diego.

Room Tip: The hotel is pet friendly, which we liked. You can request a room on the pet free floor if it bothers you.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinkyOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello MinkyOne1,


Thank you for the fantastic review! We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.

Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first time in San Diego and at a Kimpton Hotel. The location was fabulous. We were able to walk around the Gas Lamp District, while in close proximity to the hotel. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee/tea in the morning and wine/beer mid afternoon. The staff from the front desk to the valets were all so helpful and friendly. The valets always asked if we needed any directions. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. Our favorite part of the day was coming back from the beach and hanging out on the roof top bar with a cocktail and appetizer, as we sat in a cabana pool side. We most definitely would love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74MadameMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello 74MadameMC,

Thanks for the great review. We’re very happy you enjoyed some R&R with us! We hope we made a new Kimpton loyalist! We look forward to your next visit.
Justin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews