We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for walking in and around San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent location for walking in and around San Diego”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. And we are glad we did. The hotel was ideally located as my husband was attending a convention at the Convention centre. It was only about a 5 minute walk to here. The Gaslamp restaurant precinct was only 2 minutes away and the most recommended restaurants were only a short walk from the hotel. The concierge had a very handy map with all the restaurants written on it and was more than happy to help us with recommendations. Shopping was very easily accessible as well due to small boutique shops in the next street along with Westfield Horton Plaza only 10 minutes walk away. We did not eat in the restaurant here as we had been told by a fellow traveller that breakfast was very busy and not very good. However, two shops away is the Broken Yolk which has a great menu and very inexpensive breakfasts for most the day. The pool area on the 4th floor has a bar, and a great atmosphere. We even witnessed a wedding as well as a film festival function on one day! We stayed in the Masters Suite and found it to be very comfortable. One criticism was the lack of information in the room. There were no books explaining the hotels amenities or services. The laundry bag was hanging in the wardrobe but there were no instructions regarding the service. However, this was a small shortcoming for the excellent facilities and location. A very mixed group of people staying here, however, I did take heed when reading the reviews and requested a high up quiet room as the pool bar can get noisy at night. Don't forget the free wine hour every day. Its great for networking or just making friends.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    610
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
266
806
102
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Solemar 30 August for 5 nights. This was our first visit to San Diego and cannot wait to return to this hotel. The hotel is faultless. It is spotlessly clean, the staff in all areas are exceptional, the rooms were beautiful, the beds are very comfortable and we had plenty of storage space for hanging clothes etc. The restaurant staff are very knowledgeable and welcoming and the staff at reception cannot do enough to help. My husband had left his prescription spectacles in a shop at Las Vegas Airport and the receptionists assisted us in locating them and helped us to track the delivery by FedEx - nothing is too much trouble for these guys. Although we did not eat in JSix in the evening, if the breakfasts are anything to go by I am sure it would have been delightful. The breakfasts are fantastic and we had a good deal with comp breakfast and anything else off the menu for $5. What a deal! As before, the wine reception is a great idea - I would have preferred 6 until 7 but I shouldn't complain. We spent several happy hours in the pool area of an evening and it is a great place to hang out. I can 100% recommend this hotel and have advised my travel provider to recommend this hotel to her future clients. Solemar is ideally situated for all that is going on in San Diego with its fantastic restaurants, bars etc all to hand. All being well we hope to return to Hotel Solemar in a year's time and this time we will make our stay much longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhoys0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jg9263, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Thank you for the great review...

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I was very happy with the quality of this hotel, from reception to to the bedroom all decor was high quality, well kept and done in a playful modern beach style. Cleanliness was impeccable, up with a 5 star hotel. Expect to pay many tips in a hotel with constant service, and don't be surprised at the price of parking, $35. I did the math and it would have been cheaper to park as a "non guest", what a joke! Coffee is only available in the lobby during certain hours, a negative in my opinion. Bed was nicely dressed with down comforter and great sheets, but the mattress was not up to par. How long has in been since they've made mattresses that bounce one side when the other moves? Every time my husband was up or down, I was flopped around. Perhaps Kimpton could order some Heavenly beds? Our room was a corner with three bright window that were able to open, a big plus in my book. There was plenty of room and even a nice closet with shelves and safe (and no mirrored door!). Bathroom was well appointed with Aveda bath products, average size tub and nice shower head. Bathroom had modern vessel sink and beautiful tile. The only down side was the lack of lighting near the bathtub/shower. Only lighting was around sink and a half wall blocked most of that light from getting to tub. No a big deal, but don't expect to do any precision shaving. They also host an afternoon wine reception, if you're into that. I'd pass the alcohol for better parking rates. We found it odd that a pet friendly hotel had no real green space for them to take care of "business" or play. They offered a tiny strip in the sidewalk that has obviously been overused bey their customers (and not even their property, city property). Petco park has a dog friendly area, but for quick morning and bedtime trips this hotel needs to find a better solution. The receptionist was also happy to allow us an early check-in(really early, 9 am), after an all night drive. Internet is free if you are a member of their Kimpton brand "club", you are able to sign up on the spot very easily. Otherwise $10/day. Pool and sun deck area on fourth floor looked really nice, although we did not have the opportunity to enjoy ourselves. We did see (from our room), movies playing one night against one wall, which looked fun. They also had several intimate fire pits and bar area.

Great location if downtown is you destination. Petco park is about a half block away, lots of restaurants, close to shopping, though it's all chain/mall stores, so don't expect anything original. If you are going to the convention center, it's about a 5-10 minute walk. Great for business. If you're looking for family/beaches you better off in the mission bay area or be prepared to hop in the car. It's easy to get to the freeway and just a 10 minute drive, but if Seaworld, and beaches are your destinations, you cannot walk there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattAndEmilysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

For a last minute "Girls Extended Long Weekend" trip to San Diego, what a wonderful surprise it was to be awarded with Hotel Solamar via Hotwire.com! At under $100 per night, Hotel Solamar was a fantastic deal! Its location in the Gaslamp Quarter is excellent - easy access to transit (ie: MTS city bus, MTS trolley, taxis) and lots of convenient restaurants (our favourite was TGIF/Fridays for delectable entrees and very friendly service at affordable prices!).

The staff at Hotel Solamar is simply fantastic!! They provided us with maps and directions, discount vouchers to the Zoo and Sea World, recommendations for restaurants and activities - and always with genuine, friendly smiles and a true willingness to help out their guests. The J-six hotel restaurant is also excellent! We had two very tasty breakfasts there, and our waiter provided impeccable service and humour!

We had a spacious room with two queen beds on the ninth floor. Very quiet at night. Extremely comfortable beds -- so much so that some days, we just had to sleep in a little bit longer!! I loved the feather pillows and comforter!! The only slightly flawed aspect of the hotel was the housekeeping service -- which as a bit hit and miss when it came to dusting, restocking towels, soaps, glasses, shampoos, etc. We never knew what we were going to get or not get each day, but a simply call down to guest services always resulted in prompt delivery of any missing items. Our mini-fridge didn't always maintain a consistent cold temperature either but otherwise we were very satisfied with our room.

In all, an excellent hotel for the location, service and Hotwire price! Fresh brewed morning coffee and evening wine hour also were nice touches! Thank you Hotel Solamar for a fantastic San Diego experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veritas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I had booked this hotel through Hotwire for 79.00 a night. My husband is in the military and had just come back from Iraq. While he was gone, Our 20th Anniversary and both our birthdays had passed. So we thought it would be nice to celebrate everything the day of his return. The staff at check in was simply amazing, providing details about the hotel and where to go. The room was immaculate and I am VERY picky when it comes to the cleanliness of hotel rooms. Within a couple hours of our checking in, we received a knock at our door to find a gentleman holding wine and chocolate covered strawberries and telling us they were "on the house" and welcomed my husband home and thanked him for his service!!!! We were simply astonished at such service. We will definitely return to this hotel, the service is wonderful, the rooms are extremely comfortable. We stayed on a friday night on the "pool side" and did not find it loud at all like some of the other reviews. We could hardly hear anything.....very quiet and relaxing.
Thank you to Hotel Solomar to make our homecoming so special.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armstrongs4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

After a disappointing stay at the La Costa resort, we didn't have high hopes for this hotel as I think it is ranked as a 3* whereas La Costa was 5*, however, it did NOT disappoint! The staff were friendly and helpful without seeming fake or pretentious and the afternoon wine hour was a lovely little extra! They made sure we were made aware of this upon check-in as well! Our room was beautiful - very clean and nicely freshened everyday; they even offer the use of things you may have forgotten during your stay such as hair straighteners etc! We ate at the restaurant once during our stay and the food was delicious and, again, staff were a pleasure to deal with. We could not have asked for a nicer hotel for such a reasonable price! The hotel is also in a great location and the front desk staff are very helpful if you need advice about transportation etc - they offered to call us cabs and make dinner reservations for us etc.
An absolutely delightful end to our honeymoon and we would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jg9263, Hotel General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Thank you for joining us and we hope you return again soon...

Jim Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I'm reviweing based on the above rate we got through hotwire, not off the $200 rack rate.
Pros
-Value
-Great Location
- Beautiful hotel with helpful staff
-5pm free wine hour every night
Cons
-No where to store clothes in room, i.e. chest of drawers
-Parking
Parking was my biggest concern. We used meters which are free on Sunday and 6pm-8am. So we arrived Sat and paid for a few hours. Then the car sat free until Monday. We fed the meters herre and there throught the weekdays but we were also using the car. It worked out awesome.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHXGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,453 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing