We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Spruce Grove
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2009

The rooms were nice and comfortable. The staff were friendly and ready to help. Would love to go back for a personal visit!

Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarDeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,084
    609
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
266
804
102
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

If you've ever stayed at a Kimpton property before, you know how cool and "boutiquish" they can be. Solamar is no different, except it is a "new construction" hotel, whereas most Kimptons are a renovaiton of some cool building. In a nutshell, the hotel is great. Here, however, are some tips if you so chose to stay:

Parking at $35 (plus tip) per night is steep. There is a pay lot directly across the street (J and 6th) for $15 overnight (no "in/out" though).

The fitness center is bare, however there is a deal with Fit health club about 3 blocks away for $15 per visit.

For food and Fri/Sat night life, Basic Pizza and it's adjoining club is where you'll want to hang out (J and 10th).

If the hotel gives you a breakfast coupon it is for a "continental breakfast", but for only $5 more you can order anything off the menu.

You'll love this place, stay here (particularly if you get a good deal).

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank corevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we wish it had been more. We were upgraded to fantastic room with a jacuzzi tub. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful and it's perfectly located for walking to the shopping centre and restaurants and the zoo and airport are a short cab ride away. The pool area was really nice and there were plenty of sun loungers available. The prices are also very reasonable for a hotel. The only negative thing I have to say is their is a lack of storage space in the room. You can also get free internet access if you join their membership scheme. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glitterqueen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Solamar for two nights. The pool area has a great night scene and the restaurant is fantastic. The rooms are good with comfy beds and free wi-fi for Kimpton In Touch members. You have a great view of Petco Field and can even see into parts of the Park from your room. And you can't beat wine hour every night! The bathrooms were ok. They could stand a little refresh of the tubs and showers. But overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlms1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We decided to celebrate our 6th yr wedding anniversary with a nice hotel downtown and were happy with a Kimpton hotel that we stayed at in San Fran.

Hotel Solamar
-Bar and pool area: Crowded but nice people-watching spot. Modern furniture. Small pool but good enough to dip your legs in and close enough to meet someone new.
-Wine happy hour: Good sangria and nice welcome touch to the hotel
-Room decor: Very modern with animal print robes. Got the room with the jacuzzi tub. Made for one but two of us got in.
-Restaurant: Didn't try it but read reviews that it was good.
-Not the most romantic spot but very close to all the good restaurants and hotspots downtown.

Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mcsyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The pool, which gets all the hype, is neat. Very lounge like with big screen TV's and nice ambience....but the rest of the hotel needs a serious upgrade in management. I honestly can't say I have ever seen dirty carpet to this extreme in any hotel. Large dust bunnies in the recessed areas at the entrance of most doorways, less than average in room cleanliness, and a very odd smell..particularly in some hallways. Maybe this is due to a pet friendly policy, but it smelled more like must/mold than pet chemicals. I will say that one housekeeping staff was very good, and one of the girls at the front desk was very friendly and nice with directions, however another acted as if the last place she wanted to be was working at the front desk of a hotel. We also had a door key issue when we checked in late one night that ended up with maintenance working on our door at 11pm at night. Sorry neighbors! This was after 2 keys would not work upon check-in. We asked for another (equal) room instead the might be quieter anyway, since we had prerequested a quiet room and ours was right outside the pool area where the action can get loud at night, but they were bound and determined to fix the door and wanted to move us the next day instead. This allowed us two different floors, one MUCH cleaner than the other, but I can not in good conscience recommend this hotel for anyone but those under 25 that are there to party and crash. The drunken, falling guys in the lobby area one night make this apparent as well as the lack of seriousness in upkeep of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tireless_traveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jg9263, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2009
We are truly sorry that your stay at the Solamar didn't meet your expectations. The pool area (Lounge Six) went through a spring 2009 refresh so we are glad you enjoyed that area.
The Hallway carpets a scheduled to be refreshed early in 2010 which should make us sparkle again as we continue to invest in our dynamic hotel.

Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

After lots of research, we stayed at Hotel Solamar and loved it. The hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and within walking distance to all the restaurants, Petco Stadium, the convention center, etc. It is very elegant and contemporary. The rooms were very roomy and well equipped. It was very child friendly. The staff was extremely pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was a little small, but we still enjoyed it. The hotel has an awesome bar and pool on the 3rd or 4th floor with a great view. The biggest downfall is the $32 a night valet parking but there is a lot 2 blocks away for $8 a night if you don't mind the walk. We are looking forward to returning sometime soon. San Diego is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,188 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,451 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing