We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$396
US$352
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,167)
Filter reviews
2,167 results
Traveller rating
1,183
648
190
97
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
648
190
97
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourpetco parkgaslamp districtjsix restaurantwine receptionconvention centerrooftop poolcomplimentary winemini barfree happy hourfourth floorthe gas lamp districtevery eveningrestaurants and barsovernight parkingvalet parkingper night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,730 - 1,735 of 2,167 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The room was luxurious all around. The valet, although pricey, is understandable given the location. The complimentary iced coffee (morning) and wine/sangria/tea/lemonade (afternoon) were all nice perks. When I entered the outdoor pool area on the fourth floor, I thought I had walked onto the set of a beer commercial: a bar and pool filled with half-naked men and women enjoying their stay. That said, it was a nice place to relax and spend an afternoon.
My only complaint would be the noise: dogs barking in the wee hours of the night; then a pot-smoking, hip-hop-blasting jerk nextdoor. It took an hour of calling the front desk before this guy finally settled down around 1:30am. Meanwhile, our room (with a shared suite door) reeked of marijuana smoke. A bit of bad luck, I suppose. Had anyone asked how our stay was, I would have been happy to mention this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This was our first time visiting San Diego as a family. The Solamar was recommended by friends and we understand why. The hotel is comfortable and well-appointed (except for the fitness center, which is very small) and the location is ideal -- walking distance to great food, shopping, and Petco Park, and an easy drive to Coronado and the freeways to coastal towns and beaches. The staff was friendly and made an adjustment to our room when there was a mix-up with the accommodations we had booked. We got very helpful suggestions for places to eat and see and we enjoyed hanging out by the pool -- even if it was a bit crowded. We would not hesitate to stay at the Solamar again when we return to San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenMonster19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The hotel is decent. Nice rooms, pool, bar and lounge.

Massive issue with valet though. We chose valet for convenience and since we were concerned with leaving our car at some distance away where we couldn't access it quickly or even just check on it. We paid the insane cost to valet park and you can imagine how upset we were when we realised the valet had broken some of the buttons on the central dash board area (the button to override the autolock had been forced into the dash recess and this had messed up a whole row of buttons). We complained immediately and were told to call after we got back home (since the person we need to speak to didn't work weekends). We submitted a claim, took pictures of the damage, followed up by email and phone and got nowhere.

Really such a disappointment considering how much the service cost. And honestly, what kind of company doesn't pony up to fix your property that they broke???

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenIttels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Hello from Hotel Solamar;
I am verry sorry to see your concerns with our valet team and I immediately contacted our manager and claim company. I understand from the risk management company that they reached out to you directly to follow-up since they had not received the completed claim information as requested. I also understand that they will be providing you with a credit to your parking charges based on your conversation - we do hope that this is satisfactory to your concerns.
Please know that your overall experience is important to us and if you need anything directly from the hotel, please fee free to call me at 619-819-9531.
Best regards, Mark Dibella - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel and to be honest I didn't want to leave. Bedroom was beautiful and very comfortable beds . It was close to shops and restauraunts, staff were very friendy and helpful. Free wine between 5 and 6pm and free complimentary fresh fruit, pastry and coffee for breakfast.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel to others. If ever I go back to San diego this would definitely be my choice.
Maybe only downside was valet parking $30 per night!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The staff was very helpful, the hotel room was beautiful, the pool was fun, the location perfect, and, as always, we looked forward to the wine hour (especially the sangria) every day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Hello and thank you!

I am more than delighted to see that our hotel and our team made a great impression on your recent stay. With over 15,000 hotel rooms to select from in downtown San Diego it means a great deal to us to know that our guests enjoy the services and amenities of our intimate 235 room urban retreat. We hope to have you join us again soon - we'll have the sangria ready!

Cheers,
Mark Dibella - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews