We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zinc for Breakfast... daily!”
Review of Cafe Zinc - CLOSED

Cafe Zinc
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian, American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Zinc for Breakfast... daily!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Zinc is a great cafe to visit for breakfast or lunch. their selections are healthy and the staff are friendly. it is a cute little patio location in the Cedros section of Solana Beach.

their coffee is excellent and their menu is just large enough to satisfy the whole group, but it is not extensive.

when we are visiting the area, our daily visit to zinc for poached eggs on toast or huevos rancheros has become a tradition.

they also have a nice small selection of goodies to buy and some nic nacs (ala starbucks) as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aysha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elysium246
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Much to be desired”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have been to Zinc a few times now and they need to improve all aspects of their cafe if they want to survive in Solana Beach. The scones are bland, the staff unimpressively helpful, and the food options are limited. The coffee is above average, but that is the extent of it. Head up north a few blocks to Claires.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elysium246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lunch burrito wasn't good.”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

I came here for a late solo lunch and looked forward to eating the lunch burrito. I was so disappointed. The brown rice was hard and crunchy, so after eating a couple of bites, I sent the burrito back and had them make me a new one. The rice was fine this go around, but the flavor was overpowering. Too strong tasting of onion and lemon. Plus, the guacamole on the side was the worst guacamole I've ever had in my life. Too lemony tasting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaandRod93013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Vegan”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I am so happy this place in Solana Beach. They have good vegan food as well as other selections for the 'non vegans' who are dining with you. A Solana Beach landmark located on trendy Cedros Street. Breakfast & Lunch dining al fresco on a lovely, cozy patio on a nice day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank claudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, great dessert and good coffee”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Zinc is a good place to go to when the weather is nice, because you can sit outside and enjoy the warm weather and sunshine. The food is very good (frittatas and egg salad are excellent) and the desserts are quite tasty too. The prices are a bit too high (in my opionion), but the quality of the food is worth it.
Since it is located on Cedros in Solana Beach, you can walk along the design district, do some shopping (or window shopping, as I do) and then get a good meal. It can be too crowded during the tourist season, so I as a local tend to stay away during that time (unless I am meeting friends there), but I try to make it to Zinc as much as I can the rest of the year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hedi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Zinc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing