We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy stay”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Bathroom to Beautiful Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Bathroom to Beautiful Bedroom
Firepit outside bungalow Modern Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from Bathroom to Beautiful Bedroom
Firepit outside bungalow
Modern Bathroom
Beautiful Outside Balinese Bed
View from Firepit area to bedroom
Viewing bathroom from bedroom
From bedroom to backyard
Jacuzzi
Outside
Balinese Bed
Bedroom view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liani R
San Fernando, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great time here. Although we never got to actually meet, Catherine was always available for questions and we were quite comfortable during the stay.

The only downsides was that the blinds for the giant window in front of the bathtub was broken. We used our car visor to cover it up! (Otherwise you feel a bit exposed)
There was also a torn curtain on one of the entry doors, making one side quite sheer but nobody ever went to the backyard so you do still have a sense of privacy.

The overall touches to the bungalow was great however. Catherine left us wine, snacks, and breakfast foods. The bathroom was stocked with towels, soaps, hair products, and candles! Theres a plug in fan and a heater too. The bed is low but it was perhaps my favorite. The blankets were so fluffy I slept like a rock ! Overall we had a nice stay and a memorable time

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kait R
2 reviews
“It's as wonderful as it sounds.”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My boyfriend and I spent two nights here and didn't want to leave. Catherine was so friendly and welcoming, and although this is basically her backyard, it's all yours and feels very private. The price alone makes it worthwhile, but the best part is that it doesn't feel like you're skimping because it really is a beautiful space. It was also great to have snacks and a parking spot. Location is nice -- right near a school, so a good neighborhood, but also was just 15 or so minutes from most local places we went (Coronado, downtown).

We would definitely come back! Thank you, Catherine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much more than promised!”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I can't say enough about Catherine and her Balinese bungalow. It was everything she described and more. Her personal touches abound from the decor to the thoughtful snacks, treats and wine left for us. Really just something for everyone. She does an exceptional job covering all the bases. Even though the bungalow is part of her home you have so much privacy it is wonderful. It was a true oasis and we can't wait to go back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelli S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice - but close to the owner's actual home”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Catherine was very sweet. She supplied us some snacks and breakfast foods. She told us to text her or call her if we needed or wanted anything else. When we arrived she walked us through how to use everything that was available to us (the gas fire pit, the hot tub, etc)

That being said, I felt odd about how close to Catherine's house the vacation rental was located. It's truly her guest house (which I did not completely understand from the description on Tripadvisor or any of the other reviews that I read) and it's just directly outside of her house. When walking out of the guest house and out to our rental car we had to walk by the side of the house where we could see into the windows of Catherine's home.

Also, the bathroom was large and spacious, but there was no available standing shower. There was a bathtub with a shower head but it was not mounted, so in order to use it we had to hold it up. You cannot take a typical shower in this bathroom.

Additionally, Catherine gave us a key but the doors didn't ever really lock. You could very easily get into the guest house if you wanted to without a key. And the doors had sheer curtains on them so in the morning the sun would come into the doors and wake you.

The patio was AMAZING; by far the best part of the rental! It has a lovely gas fire pit and hot tub. We spent quite a bit of time out on the porch enjoying the beautiful San Diego weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio. It was lovely and we spent most of our time out there.
Liked least: The location of the house was much closer than I realized from the post to Catherine's home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky R
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed with Catherine for two relaxing days for his 40th. The bungalow is just as nice as it looks. When we first arrived, Catherine met us and showed us how to use the firepit, tv and hot tub. She left us some fruit and breakfast items in the fridge and a welcome bottle of wine. The bed is a tempurpedic matress and is very comfortable. I would stay here again. It was located in a nice, quiet neighborhood with restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pitchblak...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing 2 day San Diego vacation”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

There is nothing we can say that hasn't already been said in the other reviews. Everything you will read in the other reviews is exactly what we experienced. We wanted to have a non-hotel vacation in San Diego. We only had a couple of days to explore and Catherine's bungalow was perfect.
We got in late on Friday and everything was ready for us. We were able to enjoy wine (complimentary bottle from Catherine) at the fire pit and settle in for a very comfortable first night. Catherine had provided goodies in the fridge and freezer as well as snacks and beverages. The breakfast muffins, orange juice and yogurt were greatly appreciated. She greeted us Saturday morning with a hug and a tour. I challenge you to meet someone more friendly and accommodating in San Diego.
The central proximity to everything in San Diego is very appealing. It took less than 15 minutes to get everywhere we wanted to go during out stay. Catherine made her self available for suggestions on where to go. She is very knowledgeable about the where to go and what to do in San Diego.
Our second night we enjoyed the fire pit and the hot tub, which are both a must if you stay here. We got another great night of sleep and were sad to have to leave the next day after a perfect getaway to Catherine's Bungalow. We would both highly recommend staying here and will definitely stay here again the next time we are in San Diego. Thanks so much Catherine!! Please read the rest of the reviews to see just how wonderful it is to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, friendliness and amenities
Liked least: That we had to leave so soon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaliAngel...
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday Get-A-Way”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I booked this rental as a surprise for hubby's birthday. It was a hit. We have found that we prefer vacation rentals to hotel rooms when available. This one didn't disappoint.

The home is located in a historic part of San Diego. Stately older homes with tree lined streets. We were very pleased to find many nice restaurants within walking distance. Approximately a half mile in each direction on flat streets. The owner provides a list of nearby restaurants in the room for you.

We were greeted by Catherine when we arrived with a hug. She is one of the nicest people either of us has ever met. We appreciated the fact that the rental process was so simple. No additional fees i.e., deposit, cleaning, etc. Straight forward quote and that is what we paid

The guest house is located in the backyard of the home. She provided us with a parking space and was there to greet us when we arrived. She gave us a tour of the areas available to us. Which consisted of an outside bed, jacuzzi, fire pit. lounge chairs and bbq grill. She left us a bottle of wine along with a bowl of snacks. Yogurt, muffins, cereal, milk and orange juice. All new and unopened. We couldn't have been more surprised. She provides a coffee maker and coffee. There are beach cruisers available for your use and plenty of beach going equipment. Apple TV is provided, which was a first time experience for us, which we enjoyed.

We indulged both nights in the jacuzzi. On our last evening we enjoyed the fire pit while sipping on cocktails. Our host made herself readily available if needed by phone and never intruded on our privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and should the opportunity arise, would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The studio decor was so nice. Perfect for a romantic get-a-way. Complete with candles.
Liked least: The bed does not have a frame, sits on the floor, which fits the Bali vibe. It is low for someone with back issues.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;