We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great considering it's a chain.”
Review of Yard House - CLOSED

Yard House
Cuisines: American, Asian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 130 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Crunchy salad is YUMMY. Beer is pretty good and the wine isn't bad. Other yummy treats are the burgers and sliders.

Thank JennLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

I have been to the Yard House a few times in the past few weeks. The service is friendly and good even when they are busy. There is a huge selection of foods so something for everyone if you are in a big group like we usually are. Shrimp skewers are tasty although the rice was a little too greasy. Caeser salad is grilled Romaine, which is good but the dressing is not the best ever. The Mac and cheese is super decadent and filling if you are really hungry. Acceptable food, but don't expect top chef quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The service was really good. Even though our waitress was very busy, she was attentive and kept our drinks filled. The spinich cheese dip was to die for. It was less than a ten minute walk from our room at Hotel Indigo.

Thank Kyrsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Hi Kyrsten G - We're so glad to hear you had a great time and that our team was able to take good care of you. We hope that you'll come see us again sometime soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My family and I visited San Diego last week and ate at The Yard House on a cold, rainy Friday the 13th -- Maybe this was foreboding. My nephew and also the bartender at the Hard Rock Cafe recommended this restaurant to us so we decided to try it. It is, appearance wise, a nice, fun place and we were seated promptly and the menu and beer selection were great -- sadly, this is where the good comments end.

It took forever for my glass of wine and my husband's beer to arrive (it was busy but not THAT busy). I asked for lemons for my water, that too, took quite a while. Our order was taken somewhat promptly and our appetizers arrived promptly, as well. Unfortunately, our dinners arrived less than 5 minutes after our appetizers. When we told our waitress that we just got our appetizers (brought out by someone other than her), she asked if we wanted them to be brought back to the kitchen and kept warm. I told her I'd rather they not sit back there under a heat lamp while we ate our appetizers, she did not disagree and left the entrees.

The appetizers were tasty and the dinners were probably tasty as well, though we were only able to eat a couple of bites of each before everything started to get cold. We were staying 20 minutes away at a hotel with no cooking facilities to be able to re-heat anything later so we didn't have anything wrapped to take home.

What a waste. A little better coordination in the kitchen and better coordination/communication between the waitstaff and the food "runners" and this experience could have been avoided. Oh, and no apologies from anyone along the way through this entire experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mohmahmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hi mohmahmom - Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your visit and left disappointed. We would like the opportunity to speak with you further about your visit and hopefully turn things around. Would you please contact us at yhguest@yardhouse.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you're into beers then don't miss this place. You go to a place like this for the beer and then the food. As mentioned in some of the reviews the food is good but the service can be a little lacking at times. Had to remind our server on a couple of occasions but overall not enough to prevent me from going back the second time. If you are in San Diego and you want a fun lunch then give this place a try....I don't believe you'll be disappointed. Lots of TVs with sports. That and cold beer....you'll be OK !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YankeeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Hi YankeeOne - Thank you for this great review of our San Diego location. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the menu and had an overall great time. Sorry that your service wasn't great but thank you for still wanting to come back again. We hope that next time you're near a Yard House you'll come visit, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yard House also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing