We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nearly perfect”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Honestly I had a great stay at this hotel. Like many other reviewers here, I stayed at this property while attending a convention. I found the staff to be friendly, courteous, and helpful. The property itself seems to be well kept, modern, and clean. Our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable, and we had a nice view of the cityscape on the 12th floor. I also enjoyed spending some time on the rooftop socializing with other conference goers. The room rate seemed very reasonable relative to the hotel location and overall amenities offered.

My only "gripe" really would be the $10/night fee for in room wifi. Of course something like this is only a minor inconvenience for me and would most likely never be a deal breaker. Based on the price I simply opted to go without given the amount of time I would actually be able to use it.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the city facing room on a high floor (12th), however others may prefer a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    478
    135
    46
    35
See reviews for
214
338
80
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights while attending a conference at the convention centre.

The are quite a few good points to this hotel. Location is excellent, right at the end of the gaslamp area and opposite the ballpark and the convention centre, the hotel bar on the top floor is amazing, a view of the ball park included. The downstairs bar has great staff and a good selection of food. The rooms are nice, big, clean, TV is updated, although at far too low an angle.

Unfortunately a few issues drove me crazy while staying here.

First off, 9.30am room cleaning? Really? I was woken up on my first morning (after my 14 hour tip) by housekeeping coming in to clean the room. I learned to keep my do not disturb tag outside my room at night. Unfortunately, their seemed to be a window of opportunity, as one morning where I left at 10.30am and returned at 2pm, I found the room wasn't made up at all. Oh well.

The proximity of my room to the elevators was also an issue, I can deal with the odd loud guest coming in and out, but I could hear the beeping of the elevator every time it stopped, and in the mornings, this happened a lot.

To compound this, there seemed to be some plumbing issue in the rooms too and the drains would start making a loud gurgling noise randomly, when not in use.

I didn't really get a good nights sleep there and I probably should have asked to be moved, but busy at a conference and constantly tired, I didn't have the energy, frankly, the staff should identify and block these rooms.

I liked the hotel for so many reasons, but I would probably pick another nearby hotel were I to return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't take a room anywhere near the elevators. The rooftop bar is fantastic, the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Simon,

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were disturbed while you were trying to sleep after your long flight. During the week, our room attendants begin their day at 8am in an effort to have our occupied rooms cleaned before our guests return from their day, and to provide the front desk clean rooms for our arriving guests. Our room attendants do not have a set timetable to clean individual rooms; however, while in our hotel, a guest can contact our at your service department to schedule a convenient time to have their room cleaned.

In addition, I have shared your review with our engineering department so the gurgling noise you reported can be addressed.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.



All my best,
Francisco Urvina
Director of Services
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was here for a conference and the location and quality/ value of the hotel is perfect. The staff are pleasant and attentive too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for one night because we were in San Diego for a concert. Check-in went smoothly, we were upgraded to a suite which was nice. The room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was a good size and had standard amenities. The only thing that annoyed me a little is how thin the walls are. There was a group of kids staying on our floor and they were running around and being very loud in the morning. Other than that, no complaints. The location of the hotel is great, right in the middle of downtown, by Petco park. I would stay here again if I visited downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

from the valet to the wait staff, everyone went above and beyond! had a great trip which also included marriott in san fran and ventura beach. all were fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveme32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holton,IN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The room was clean and the convenience to MLB Ballpark (Petco Park) is unmatched
in any hotel in the US. Only two issues during the stay. 1. Called ahead (1 week) to request
a partial stadium view room. The "we should be able to accomadate that no problem" turned
into we don't have one. I guess they shouldn't have housekeeping cleaning one out across the
hall as they are telling me tough luck. 2. The internet at this hotel is a nightmare. If you have
free internet in your room package then just make the damn stuff wireless with a password
or add $10 on the top of the room cost and make it available that way.
The Very Good rating is for the cleanliness, location, airline computer terminal in the lobby to print your boarding passes, the "Thanks for Staying" on the way out, and the outstanding valet staff.
Those guys were fantastic day and night.
All the one way streets in downtown SD were a pain in the rear.

Room Tip: No better location for a trip to Petco Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warhorse82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear warhorse82,

Thank you for your review and comments. I'm sorry that we were unable to fulfill your request for a stadium view room. We do our very best to meet all of our guest requests, however the demand for these rooms are huge, especially during the baseball season .

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back, and if we can ever be of service please let us know.

Warmest regards,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I had a paid reservation @ the Marriott Gaslamp. I came in with a printed copy of the reservation, the credit card & photo ID. My husband had made the reservation using hotel points so it had his name, but we changed it to MRS. so it would also be my legal name. However, my driver's license had same last name but my 1st name. They wouldn't accept my reservation or let me check in!!!! My husband had to call in & vouch for me by phone--Of course, it could have been any man on the phone. I was the 1 showing them legal ID with the correct name on it in person. But until they heard a man's voice on the phone--They wouldn't let me check in!!!

Room Tip: There are water view rooms & stadium view rooms for PETCO stadium if you're into baseball.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EileenSirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Sirkin,

Once again please accept our apologies for your arrival experience. I have discussed your arrival my front office team so something like this does not occur again. We take security very seriously and we require that name(s) on a reservation fully match the ID that is presented at check in. This was the reason for your delay. Never-the-less, we still made a mistake; I hope you will forgive us.

All my best,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,188 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#5 of 278 in San Diego
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing