We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #75 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable place”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I found this hotel to be a clean, comfortable place right near the Petco field and within blocks of the San Diego convention center. Really right in the Gaslamp district steps from all the eateries. Great location and affordable hotel. They have a great club on the 22nd floor for happy hour and the hotel's restaurant is also very good for eating in or in room dining.

Room Tip: Top floors have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Supervisor at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Cadiotron,

Thank You for choosing to stay with us, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are lucky to have such a nice location in which almost everything is walking distance and that way our guest can enjoy the great weather. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of having you as a guest in our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    475
    133
    44
    35
See reviews for
213
336
78
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located to everything in the Gaslamp District. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the staff is adequate. If you plan to catch a Padres game, this is by far the best hotel. You walk labout a 100 yards to the gates entrance. Many reviews mentioned parking rates. It is an issue. I was told by valet that the public parking in front of the hotel was at least $25/day. The valet at the hotel is $40/day. I don't like being misinformed. The rate for parking across the street was a max of $15/day. I bought this issue to the front desk and they adjusted my rate. Also, they informed me that the valet service is operated by the same company who manages the parking across the street. Save you money Do Not Use Valet Parking

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a getaway weekend, decided to stay at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, rooms are a little small, bathrooms could use a little more counter space, but the location and service are excellent and outweigh the lack of space. The hotel is beautiful, great architecture. Had breakfast in hotel Saturday morning, great service and good food. We are planning a return trip!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, california
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Overall a good place. However, the main reason to stay in a hotel is to get a good nights sleep.
That was absolutely impossible as the mattress was so soft I could not get comfortable. When I checked in and went to my room and discovered the problem I asked the front desk if all the mattresses were the same in every room and they said yes. They did send house keeping up and put a piece of plywood between the mattress and the box spring but this did nothing.
If you sleep on your back it's probably OK. But, I sleep on my side or stomach. I tossed and turned all night and in the morning was tired and my back hurt.
To be fair, everything else in the hotel was top notch. Which is why I rated it 4 stars.
But, if you require a firm mattress stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfrontrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Marriott Gaslamp Quarter is our first choice whenever we travel to San Diego for the weekend, and we have stayed here several times.

Location: Fantastic, couldn't be better. Steps away from the ballpark, and about 1 block from restaurants and all the action of the festive Gaslamp district.

Valet parking: Efficient & friendly. Upon departure my car was outside waiting for me!

Lobby: Clean, bright and lovely.

Checkin: Always quick, friendly and efficient!

Rooms: Clean, spacious, modern decor in pleasing and soothing colors. COMFORTABLE bed and pillows!

Without getting into petty details, we were there for a family event and I was going to spend time with my sisters (they had traveled far for this event). While hubby went to sleep early, my sisters & I went to have special chat time and some snacks and cocktails up at the Altitude Bar. Long story short, we were not pleased with the service and upon discussing it with management, Marriott made sure we were taken care of and happy when we checked out the next morning. (Thank you to Carissa, the night manager for being so kind & such a good listener!)

Yay Marriott, this is why we keep coming back and we will continue to make this hotel our first choice when visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is across the street from all the Gaslamp activities and shops. The valet service was fast and a little more than we thought it should have been, but they earned every penny. The service from the Bellmen was FIRST class. We asked where we can take our kids and one of the gentlemen proceeded to tell us about La Jolla and the area to see dolphins and sea lions as well as where to park and eat. he spent about 15 minutes talking to me about it in detail, printed a map and then made sure I had a good experience when I returned to the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and very modern. The cleaning service was top notch and the city view was phenomenal. The front desk staff was very helpful and quick and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hubby and I got away to this hotel just overnight to celebrate our anniversary. We decided to do a stay-cation this time. Chose this hotel because we had a good time on the rooftop lounge many times before and thought it would be cool to have access to it as a hotel guest. Hotel service was great, although the lady who checked us in was so humorless and dry to a fault! couldn't get her to laugh or smile at all. anyway, rooms were nice and the view of Petco Park was spectacular from the 19th floor. We walked around the gaslamp district to get several meals so it was very convenient. We didn't have to wait on the long line downstairs to go to Altitude on the rooftop and we didn't have to drink & drive home afterward, we just plopped down into our room. Good time.

Room Tip: South facing, high floor to see Petco Park from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing