We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with family while touring SOCAL. The hotel location was well situated to get around the city on foot and the assisted parking service made getting around by car less stressful

Rooms are pleasant but a little cramped. Noise till late in the night from adjacent rooms however affected the stay negatively. Restaurant breakfasts great

Room Tip: Find out where large sports groups/fans are to be located and stay at the other end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masendekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Mesendekat,

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is one of our many great assets and we love to hear that you appreciated it as many others do. We do apologize for the noise you experienced and promise to work harder on this issue. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Blake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

A very nice room and great service. I have two complaints. The property does not have a pool and with the temps during our stay, that would have been nice. Also, they were changing out their chiller during a record heat day. I know that is difficult to schedule, but our room was uncomfortable without AC. Our room was at 74 deg. for several days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here for five nights whilst attending to a conference in the gorgeous convention centre and it worked out beautifully. The hotel has a great location for conferences, you can walk to the convention centre and there are lots of places around for dinner. The rooms are really spacious, clean and quiet. The bathrooms may need a bit of an updating, they still have shower curtains instead of screens.
I did not have breakfast included and only had breakfast there once as they were really slow and I ended up missing one of the talks because of this!
Front desk personnel were amazing. I was sharing a room with a colleague and I couldn't sleep because of the snoring, so they found a room for me immediately and I was given a really big room in a corner on the 19th floor which had really nice views of the stadium and the convention centre.
I didn't have a car but some colleagues did and parking was very convenient but a bit expensive.
I would definitively recommend this hotel, no doubts!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Eirey,

Thank you for being our valued guest! We are delighted to hear that our hotel is worthy of your recommendation to others. Our staff is dedicated to treat each of our guests
as a VIP and are very pleased that you received this type of service. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon

Blake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First I have to compliment the staff at this hotel. From the front desk, valet guys, bellman to the staff at the concierge lounge , the people here were first rate.
The hotel is in a great location in the busy GasLamp Quarter very close to Petco Park. There are tons of restaurants and bars within walking distance and the area around the hotel has a real buzz about it at night. The hotel has a rooftop lounge which is fantastic for a drink and the view is astounding.
My room had a great view of the ballpark, although the Padres were out of town this week. The concierge breakfast is very nice.
This week they were working on the AC system and unfortunately for the hotel they picked the hottest week I've ever experienced in SD. It didn't inconvenience me too much but the room was quite warm at night. I get that this was an anomaly and it would not prevent me from staying here again. The room was clean and comfortable. Amenities were very nice and overall this is a solid choice. My only other comment is that the parking is $40/night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear bccrab,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you found all of our staff so friendly and accommodating. We are very happy that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, with all of its wonderful bars, restaurants, and night life nearby. Yes, the view from our rooftop bar, Altitude, is pretty much as good as it gets! We are very pleased to hear that you liked the view from your room as well. It is both a good and bad thing that you had to have your stay booked during the time that our air conditioning unit was being repaired. Unfortunately, that was a necessity for the hotel to get that fixed, so we apologize for any inconveniences that this may have caused you. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Yes, we were ready to go last night. Could only go south…all routes north were blocked by smoke and/or fire.

Had our reservation downtown….and nearly all packed. Both cars filled with gas. Marriott couldn’t have been kinder to evacuees or potential evacuees ….offered to hold our reservation indefinitely and offered a discounted price too.

Best service attitude we've seen in a long time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Spencer60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Spencer60750,

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are very happy to help you out in any possible way. We are very glad that you found our hotel and staff so accommodating, and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again sometime, under better circumstances. Thank you again for your kind words!
Best regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The property is conveniently located in the Gaslamp District. Check-in was simple. We did have a package that included breakfast, but had to ask for the vouchers. We requested an upgrade but were told there were none available. Unfortunately, this seems to be Marriott's standard response to upgrade requests. As a platinum rewards member, we shouldn't even have to ask for the upgrade, but it should be done automatically prior to our arrival. Generally, it is never done prior to our arrival, and in fact we are told 9.9 times out of ten that there are no upgrades. Despite this, the rooms were clean and a nice size. There was plenty of light in the room. The only negative to the room was that the television was very low, and could barely be watched from the bed. They should look into fixing this problem, because it really is a problem. The concierge lounge was small, but nice. The fitness center was small but adequate. Altitude Lounge on the rooftop can be accessed from any elevator. There is usually a line for the lobby elevator for visitors who are not staying at the property. As an added bonus, it is also available for guests to visit and take in the view at any time during the day, although officially closed and no service there during the day. It's almost like being in Petco Park. Service at night was prompt. On a negative note, we did arrive back from a day out and went straight up to the lounge. We had water and boxed baked goods, and were told that we could not go into the lounge with these items. We advised them that we were hotel guests, but were told we couldn't bring these items in. This seems totally unacceptable, since we certainly didn't plan to eat any of the baked good, and water is free there anyway. We would have been happy to order a glass of water and left our bottles unopened. While a no food and no drink policy is fine for any lounge, we weren't going to eat any of the boxed baked goods or drink the water. A little discretion would have been preferable to the "you must leave and return without those items" statement. In spite of this, the Altitude Lounge is definitely worth visiting though. We had breakfast downstairs, and service there was extremely poor. We had to wait to be seated, and observed several dirty tables but no one cleaning them. There is outdoor patio seating, which is very nice. After finally being seated, it was a very long wait for a waiter to even stop by and ask about drinks. When he finally arrived, it took another 10 minutes to even get water or a drink. The buffet is very limited, and not worth spending money there. Coffee refills were non-existent, and we actually didn't ever see the waiter again after we went to the buffet. We tried to get him to stop by the table, and needed change for cash, but he never showed. Despite the food and lounge experiences, the hotel property itself was clean and well maintained and it is what you would expect from a Marriott.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear flalove2travel,

Thank you for your review on the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. We are happy to read you enjoyed your room and you found it to be very spacious and clean.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the challenges your experienced during your stay, we would like the opportunity to re-gain your trust and hope to welcome you back soon. Please feel free to contact us directly next time your travels bring you back to San Diego so we may personally assist in making your room reservation with us.

Best Regards,

Aimée Bond, Front Office Manager & Sean Mattix, Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. The staff was courteous, exemplifying Marriott's tradition. Our room was clean and well arranged and apportioned. Unfortunately, the air conditioning was not working properly when we arrived. I notified the front desk and an engineer was at our room no more than 20 minutes later. He traced the problem to a loose wire which he promptly fixed and the system worked perfectly for the rest of our stay. We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is adjacent to the ballpark, so if you are above the 18th floor, you can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Gary D,

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review. I am pleased to read that our associates brilliantly hosted you and your wife by promptly repairing the air conditioning so you could thoroughly enjoy your stay in San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#35 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,320 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,453 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £112 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing