We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet for Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #77 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quiet for Downtown Location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the 4th of July hotel. It was conveniently located near many restaurants in the Gaslamp Quarter. We were able to walk over to Seaport Village and the Convention Center. It is also very close to Petco Stadium. And the hotel is very close to the metro, which you can take into Old Town or even down to Seaport Village if you don't want to walk. The hotel was wonderful and very quiet, especially for where it was located. There was no pool, but we did not have a need for it during our stay. The front desk was especially helpful in providing us with details on the metro and good places to watch fireworks.

The only reason we may not stay here again is simply because we found the Gaslamp Quarter to be less appropriate for a family with a young child. There are a lot of people going barhopping, and it becomes a less family-friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear PackersGirl,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are very close to almost everything you could want to experience in downtown San Diego! From Petco Park to the Gaslamp Quarter to Seaport village, there is so much to do nearby! We are glad that you found our staff to be so accommodating during your stay. That is what we strive for. Yes, the Gaslamp Quarter can get a little crazy sometimes, depending on what time of the year you are visiting, but overall it can be very family friendly depending on what events are taking place downtown. We look forward to having you and your family back for a visit with us soon!

Best regards,
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    478
    135
    46
    35
See reviews for
215
338
80
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I arrived by car and self parked in the 6th & K parkade just in front (entrance both on 6th and 7th).
Of course the hotel also offers valet.
The parking has elevators and there are pedestrian exits both on 6th and K (this one just in front of the hotel).

I had a corner room on a high floor with a good view of the marina and the city from the two windows.
The large sitting area had a second TV.

Extra large electronic safe.

Empty fridge, as usual in the US.
There is a small "gift shop" beside the reception with minibar items, purchases to be paid at reception.

The room service menu appeared very limited in real restaurant dishes for dinner, but they were accomodating serving other dishes from the restaurant and service was very courteous and professional.

I had lounge access and it was sufficient for a regular continental breakfast.
It is a bit small, but I always managed to find a free table and there is a good view.

Overall a very good and comfortable hotel in a great location, at the edge of the Gaslamp quarter, an easy walk to the convention center and marina.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Alberto P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you found the self-parking on K St. to be so convenient. We are glad that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable. And that you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for your wonderful review. We hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here in November, 2013 for several days while attending a conference. Located in the Gaslamp District, this hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the convention centre, yet also perfectly located to explore the Gaslamp District, and all of it's excellent restaurants, bars and shops. If you happen to be a ball fans, it's also only steps away from the home of the Padres.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, well appointed. My unit had a small kitcheonette, king bed and flat screen tv, as well as a huge washroom. The staff were very helpful, and always pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was filling, and presented a good variety, with everything from eggs, bacon, sausage, to fruit, yogurt and dry cereal.

If you are attending a conference, or in town on vacation and looking to explore, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Azorion,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy that you found our hotel to be so close to the activities you wanted to do. Yes, we are very nearby everything in downtown San Diego, from Petco Park to the 5th Ave Gaslamp area with all of its bars and restaurants. We are glad that you found our guest rooms to be so comfortable during your stay and that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast. We are very lucky to have the exceptional staff that we do. Thank you again for your kind comments, we look forward to having you stay with us sometime soon!

Best regards,
Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Checked in for 5 nights as a Elite Platinum member. Was in room #1417 a low floor in the back of the hotel. Bathroom is tinny-tiny (they need to use a sliding door as there isn't enough room for a proper door). For San Diego the room is very dark and there are NO views. The concierge lounge is about the size of the normal room and it PACKED.. no place to sit. I guess the hotel is convenient, but if you are a Platinum member stay at the Marquis as they better understand how to treat elite guests.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a Platinum member
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKenHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear JKenHill,

Please allow me to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. We are a choice destination for your fellow Platinum and Gold Rewards members. It is our daily intension to accommodate all of our Platinum guests in higher floor rooms, regrettably we are unable to do this all the time.

We appreciate you staying with us, and once again please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may experienced.

Warmest regards,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location is across the street from Petco Park. It is a 5-10 minute drive from the San Diego Airport. Valet Parking is $40.00 which is expected from a downtown hotel in any metropolitan area. The lobby is modern and up-to-date. I booked a room on the club level with club access. The rooms look like they have been renovated in the last 5 years. However, the bathtub/shower needs some work. The tub is a little small. The beds were comfortable. I would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay for a dance competition at the convention center. Perfect location for us since it was an easy walk over to the convention center. However, parking here is ridiculous. $40 dollars a day? Come on. A structure across the street was $15 a day, only takes cash, but a much more affordable option. We had a reservation for 4 people in our room and everyday I had to call to ask for more towels. Kind of a pain. I do wish there was refridgerators in the rooms. One of the other dance moms called down and got one delivered but I didn't find that out until our last day when it wasn't worth the bother anymore. We had great view over looking the stadium and the Coronado Bridge. Good restaurants to walk to. If we go back to this same competition next year the price would have to be right for me to come back. There are lots of hotels within walking distance. If they have cheaper parking and free internet I would be more inclined to choose one of those.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sherry H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to read that our location was convenient for you and your family.

We are very aware that additional charges such as parking can impact a guests stay. Often, we are conducting pricing surveys to ensure that our charges are in-line or lower than other full service hotels in the downtown area. I hope that you will consider staying with us again, and perhaps you might be able to book a AAA rate. When available, all of our AAA rates include complimentary valet parking.

Once again, thank you for sharing the details of your visit.

Warmest regards,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived last night for a 2 day stay for a dance competition. Upon arrival, we are notified of our parking options of hotel valet for a lovely $40 per night, or 25% of the room cost... Or, Park at another garage across the street for $15 per night. Ya, that's nice, gouge your customers! So, we opted for first night at $40 since we arrived late in the evening.

Next came the whole check in process. This stuff is getting out of control. BEWARE DEBIT CARD USERS!!! Since we don't conform to the debt system of the US, the "incidentals" fees increase due to debit card from $100 per day to $250 per day! Yes, so the $160/day plus parking of $40/day added to the deposit, made the charge a nice $900 for 2 days! Ya, beware. Not only does it take 3+ days to reverse the hold, which was more than the actual cost of the hotel stay, but now added to the fact it's close to the 4th of July holiday, it will take a few more days, and they make interest for as long as the $ sits in their account while I can't access my funds.

So, after that, we get into our room and find the wonderful dual "double" beds. Really! A Marriott across the street literally from an MLB stadium and has doubles not Queens? Is this a Motel 6 in disguise? Also, found out that you have to pay for Internet service hard lined or wifi, which most places at least give hard lined free, and no refrigerator in the room either. Kind of a basic room for an above basic price.

The rooms are nice, have plenty of space, but really need queen beds in a double bed layout, really! Guests tend to be noisey and that woke me up, but at least the little beds were quite comfy...service was very pleasant though. All in all, I wouldn't stay again though, not at the ridiculous prices charged for the minimal accommodations provided.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DrChop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear DrChop1,

Thank you to you and your family for staying at the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. I’m sorry to read we did not properly explain the debit / credit card authorization process to you upon check in. I would be happy to reach out to your bank and assist in getting the authorization for any unused funds released from your account as soon as possible. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so I may assist with that. I do appreciate your feedback and we do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Aimée Bond
Front Office Manager
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,194 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing