We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good room for a good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a hotel near Sea World, San Diego. We weren't looking for anything fancy... just clean, comfortable, and inexpensive. I read reviews of nearby hotels/motels that reported roaches, filthy beds, and just not turning out to be what the person expected. The Howard Johnson was the only one with a decent review. At first, I was put off by the look of the hotel... it had more of a motel look so I wasn't expecting it to be the best. However, when I walked into the lobby I noticed it was very clean and the front desk person was extremely friendly and helpful! He asked us where we were planning on eating and we told him we were meeting family at Cafe Coyote. He ended up giving us a coupon for a free appetizer to the restaurant!
We received a room with a single queen-sized bed. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. It had 2 seating areas, an area for clothing, a refrigerator, and a good sized TV. Once we were settled in, the front desk called to welcome us again and to make sure we were pleased with the room. Also available was a decent, free continental breakfast.
If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay with friendly, helpful staff that isn't expensive then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are very delighted to hear that you thought our lobby was “very clean and the front desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpful!” We strive to work hard to maintain high standards of cleanliness at our property and in providing great quality service and we are happy that you took notice. We also take pride in providing helpful amenities to our guests and are glad you were able to enjoy them. We do offer a continental breakfast, which includes a “Make Your Own Belgian Waffles”, and are glad that you took advantage of that as well. Thank you again for reviewing Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld, and recommending our hotel to other travelers. We hope to see you in the future on your next visit. Thank you. Go, happy go hojo 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

My two sons graduated from USMC boot camp on March 2, so my wife & daughter & I flew to San Diego early and stayed at the HoJo on Rosecrans from Sunday thru Friday. It was a wise choice; close to MCRD and not far from many nice restaurants and most SD attractions.

The staff at HoJo in SD is exceptional. We arrived earlier than check-in time, so they allowed us to safely store our luggage while we visited Old Towne before returning later to officially check into our room. During the week the staff was eager to help and always courteous and friendly, no matter what issue or question we had. The free shuttle to/from MCRD was a huge bonus as well. On Friday after graduation we weren’t scheduled to fly out until late in the evening, so again we were allowed to store our luggage (this time for 5 people) in a secure area while we spent the day with the boys at the Midway Museum and other attractions. What a great convenience that was for us – thank you!

This HoJo caters to Marine families, so if you're coming to SD for that please consider staying there as they will treat you like family! Thanks again for a wonderful stay. We hope to visit again so we can finish our sight-seeing.

K&J in MI

Room Tip: No elevators, so if stairs a problem ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld and telling other valued guests about your stay. If we have not done so while at the property, we would like to congratulate you and your family [or again :)] on your graduating Marines! There is a Marine Graduation almost every week of the year and we can never get tired of seeing all the excited families who cannot wait to see their soon to be Marines graduate and you your family were not an exception to that. We are thrilled to hear that our staff were eager to help, and were courteous and friendly. We definitely take pride in providing exceptional guest experiences to all our guests whether they are here for vacation, business or a Marine Graduation like you and your family and are glad you took notice of that.
As you mentioned, we are fortunate to be located close to many nice restaurants and most of San Diego’s attractions and are glad that you took advantage of that. We are also glad you took advantage of our luggage area (which I’m sure you saw can get quite full during graduation weekends) and were able to use that so that you could enjoy the Midway Museum as well as other attractions. We congratulate you and your family on your two Marines again! We could not be any happier for them. We look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family when you come back to “finish your sight-seeing.” Go happy, go hojo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here while we were in San Diego for our son's graduation from the Marines. We couldn't have asked for better people. There are free shuttles to and from the airport and the base. When everything was running way behind, the shuttle driver knew which gate to take us to that would get us in faster. Jessica at the front desk helped in so many way from getting us a wheel chair for my father in law to suggesting places to eat. I know how overwhelming it can be Marine Parents - these people take a lot of the stress off of you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. We are elated to hear that “you couldn’t have asked for better people” and glad that Jessica at the front desk was no exception as we pride ourselves in providing quality service above our brand standards. We are glad that we were able to make your trip less overwhelming and less stressful. We do offer the complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the airport and the MCRD base during graduation activities and are glad you took advantage. Thank you again for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld and telling other travelers about your stay. Congratulations on your new Marine and we hope to see you again in the future. Go happy, go hojo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel is very clean; the staff is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We had three rooms, and they were all of superior quality. The guests were quiet. The location is ideal for moving around the city. We used the public transportation system and private transportation offered through the hotel. This is a great place to stay and feel that the people care about the quality of their guests' experience without being imposing. March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego near Sea World. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be “clean, convenient and comfortable.” We continuously work hard to strive in providing guests with quality guest service and well maintained rooms, so that guests such as yourself are able to relax in your rooms after a full day’s activities. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our hotel’s central location and see the sites of San Diego whether by public transit or our shuttle service that we provide. We pride ourselves in trying to take care of our guests and are glad you took notice. We hope to see you again soon in the future. Go happy, go hojo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here while we were in San Diego for a few days. The hotel appears slightly old but was extremely well kept. The rooms were clean and the maids tidied it daily. The maids here were especially nice as they cleaned the entire room except the fort pillow my girls had built in one corner and left with a tiny sign, "Please leave our fort alone".

The service here was exceptional. The nice man at the front desk (cannot recall his name) was well beyond pleasant - he was helpful, made recommendations and remembered my name for the remainder of the trip. The other staff were just as nice. The front desk even warned us about a local scam that was going on (flyers stuffed under the room doors).

The pool was clean and the right temperature. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, cereals, oatmeal, pastries, a waffle bar and juice. There wasn't a lot of room to sit but we could usually find an open spot. We were very close to both the airport and Sea World. The San Diego zoo was, perhaps, a 20 minute drive away by taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimJ_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for investing some time in reviewing Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World and letting other valued guests know about your stay. We are pleased to hear that our hotel is in a “wonderful location.” We are also extremely happy to hear that the service here was exceptional. Our staff prides themselves in providing quality guest services above brand standards and we are elated that this was no exception for them. We are also glad to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary continental deluxe breakfast during your stay. As you mentioned, we are fortunate enough to only be minutes away by the airport, Sea World, and the San Diego Zoo making it very convenient for our guests. Thank you again for reviewing Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World, and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Go happy, go hojo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This Hotel is excellent for the price. Very friendly staff, perfect location, close to all San Diego hot spots. The rooms are nice and clean, have all amenities. My favorite place to stay in San Diego is the Howard Johnson Hotel Circle.

Room Tip: Free WIFI, first floor rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My sister and I stayed here on our last night of vacation to be close to the airport. We were met with friendly, helpful staff and were impressed with the comfortable, clean room. The front desk even called and left us a message in case we needed anything. Great customer service! Lots of shopping close by and good restaurants. Easy directions were provided in our room to the airport and many other attractions. Would definitely stay here again! Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson San Diego near Sea World. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with “great customer service and clean comfortable rooms.” We strive in working continuously to provide guests with quality service and well maintained rooms and are glad you were able to take notice. As you mentioned we are fortunate to be in a centrally located area with shops and restaurants within walking distance and just a few miles to all major attractions with easy access to public transportation so that guests are able to enjoy all of San Diego’s sights. We again thank you for taking time to tell other guests about your travels and recommendation and look forward to having you and your sister stay again when you come visit. Go happy, go hojo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#234 of 278 in San Diego
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#94 of 278 in San Diego
782 reviews
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £63 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing