We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarrassed to have stayed there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Ranked #125 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Inexpensive, but you get what you pay for :( Even the old fashioned TV didn't work right.
The free breakfast should not even be considered breakfast. I'm sure it's falsely used to get people in the door.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Wccmarathon,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to astound our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. We sincerely apologize for the issue you had with some of your amenities. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary continental breakfast and are sorry to hear it was not to your liking. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff, in hopes of improving the stay of future guests. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

To save you the long story I'll try to make this short. Me and four of my friends stayed here a week ago as part of a larger group from touring the San Diego State University and San Diego University. Despite the small terrain, the area was kept very tidy and organized especially our room. I am not familiar with the area at all but the small brochure provided inside the room let me know that there are convenient stores and restaurants within driving distance. Regarding our overnight stay, I wasn't too thrilled with rooming with four other people but we ended up having a blast. I was definitely relieved to find out that our assigned room provided us with a flat screen T.V. and cable with decent shows! Our other subordinates next door even brought their PS3--too bad I didn't think about that. But what made a very good and lasting impression on me is when I forgot a sentimental item of mine, I emailed them and inquired if there was any way at all for them to mail me my object and they generously complied! I was so ecstatic and happy! Long-story short, I was beyond satisfied with their service and I definitely had a great experience(more than I expected).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Marianne V,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are delighted to hear we have “outstanding staff” at our hotel. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We do our best to reconnect our guests with their misplaced items and are so glad we were able to return yours to you. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I rarely stay in cheaper hotels but this one was good enough. Rooms were clean, no issues with anything. Breakfast was the usual hotel breakfast with limited selection. Front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. Had loud group next door and the front desk tried to take care of it at midnight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 994timw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Tim W,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear your room was “clean” and “comfortable”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service, as well as a well-maintained property and are delighted to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John A S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We was there just to go to Sea World. One Night. The rooms was clean. Help friendly. Continental breakfast was like any other. Central located to Sea World and Mission Beach. It's a nice hotel if your looking for a place out of tourist section.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Cindy Y,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are pleased to hear we are a “nice hotel”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are glad you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#235 of 278 in San Diego
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#94 of 278 in San Diego
782 reviews
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £63 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing