We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
PICO RIVERA, United States
1 review
“Weekend get away.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This Hotel is a great value, Clean, Quiet lots of food options close to Hotel. Nothing Fancy just good value for your money. It is not very convinient if you are visiting San Diego or its many attractions, but you should know that when booking and that is no fault of the hotel. enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Edgar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback! We pride ourselves on providing our guests clean and quite accommodations. You can count on us to be your home away from home. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    177
    71
    21
    15
See reviews for
219
123
40
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed at Rancho Bernardo Hilton Garden Inn for recent business trip. Hotel was adequate - staff was pleasant, rooms were clean and in good shape, lobby was fine for sitting and having a drink. But there was nothing outstanding or memorable about it. Room decor was undescriptive, location is in business-park environment, nothing that was a 'wow'.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We would love to be able to have the chance to make sure your next stay is extraordinary and memorable! Our guests are the most important part of our hotel, and we work tirelessly to guarantee their complete satisfaction. On the behalf of our entire staff, I would like to invite you back. Please let us know the next time you will be in the area and we will make sure we take better care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful welcome from front desk staff on arrival and every time after that. Room was perfect after a long journey. Breakfast was included in my rate and it was more than satisfactory. Great staff here too. Only negative was the gym. Whilst I didn't mind that it was small, there was not a fresh aroama to be had! Overall, I would go back again due to the proximity of my place of work.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to San Diego! We appreciate your comments and thank you for the insight they offer. We know that you have many other lodging choices available when you travel to San Diego and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I vacationed in San Diego and stayed at Hilton Garden Inn. This was a very lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were pleased with our room and breakfast was reasonably priced. You have the option to eat a chef prepared breakfast or continental style. If we are in San Diego area again, we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors to receive perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We greatly appreciate it, and are so pleased that all of our hard work has paid off. Your words and acknowledgments are what drive us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Comfortable and convenient hotel, close to work and I-15. I've stayed there several times before and rely on their ability to satisfy my needs for a peaceful night before or after a long work day usually including several hours of freeway driving to or from LA.

Room Tip: city side is a little quieter away from I-15 and parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob32953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to San Diego! Our entire staff greatly appreciates your feedback! On your next visit please ask for Joe, so I can have the opportunity to thank you in person! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iran
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The staff were OK! but the hotel is pretty new. Rooms were excellent. A carpet and door was scratchy

and stained but the sheets/ chair/ bathroom were great! Soaps and shampoo's brand is neutrogena.

Clearly, they do care about their guests! Free parking. Unfortunately, breakfast wasn't included. It

would be fantastic if they offer breakfast too with the same price.
I saw couple of reviews for being noisy because of highway. I didn't hear anything I'm not sure if

that's because of my room or there were no noise. It is 20 minutes driving through highway to reach San

Diego. But I think gas price + hotel room is more efficient rather than booking a hotel room in downtown

area (most of DT's hotel charge $20-40 for parking). But if you don't have a car, I suggest you to book

a hotel in DT since taxi is pretty expensive and I don't think public transportation from Rancho

Bernando is a good option here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesome_Coral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments about our property! You can count on us to be your home away from home. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Pros: Easy access to the expressway, clean updated rooms, reasonable price for the area, friendly staff, lots of parking.
Cons: Noise from the expressway, long hallways

While in San Diego we took a trip to Temecula, stopping to visit friends near Mira Mesa on the way. We chose this hotel because of the price and the proximity to our friends & the expressway. We arrived around 5:00 and were promptly greeted and given our room. They also provided two bottles of water at check in. Based on other reviews, we requested a room away from the expressway on the top floor. We received a courtyard view on the second floor. We did not hear other guests, but could still hear some highway noise. If quiet is important to you, I suggest staying away from rooms facing the expressway.

The hotel is in the back of an office building complex, but is easy to find. Parking was abundant around the hotel, plus there is a harder to find garage under the hotel with elevator access. Our room was close to the elevator, so we did not need to wander the long hallways; but I could see how this could be confusing. The hotel is large and shaped like an E with one elevator, so some rooms may have a long walk.

We did not use the pool, but it looked nice. Our room was not huge; however it was large enough that we did not feel cramped. We had a small refrigerator and a comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. About a mile south of the hotel we found numerous restaurants and enjoyed a nice dinner. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: We received a courtyard view on the second floor. We did not hear other guests, but could still hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to San Diego. We appreciate your comments and thank you for the insight they offer. We know that you have many other lodging choices available when you travel to San Diego and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
0.7 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Address: 17240 Bernardo Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing