We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC Italian; obviously popular for a reason”

Buon Appetito Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Buon Appetito Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 4,765 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cedar
Transit: Coaster stop 3 blocks south-west, bus stop on the south east corner, trolley tours stop on the south east corner.
Description: Urban Italian groove, old country cuisine with a modern flare. Buzzing with vibrant energy.Rotating local artists splashing their creations on our walls as we bring our culinary prowess to your table. Sustainable & local is our mantra. Our menu screams old school classics yet our specials are whimsical creations from whats in season. Quail, rabbit, lamb ~ Homemade gnocchi, lasagne and ravioli rock the casbah...Gluten-free & whole grain pastas are available as well as a wide variety of vegetarian items to choose from. "A day without wine is a day without sunshine" over 100 bottles & more than 20 by the glass are offered to dazzle and delight. This list is off the hook! Small, boutique wineries from all over the world! We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and high quality products for an enchanting experience for all of our guests. Raise your glass and fill your soul with heart and goodness ~ cheers!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Italian; obviously popular for a reason”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Really really good. I had a chicken liver salad which reminded me of Grandma's home cooking, along with a perfect Monteculpano d'Abruzzo (sorry spelled wrong). DH had orchiette with chopped tomatoes, broccoli raab, and an Italian sausage. It was phenomenal. We arrived at 6:30 so we were able to score a table, but after that, definitely reserve--it wasn't too big of a place and obviously popular. Service snappy and spot on. I had a large cannoli for dessert and couldn't finish it. This was probably our favorite restaurant in San Diego.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    242
    83
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious start to a 60 day cruise”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

While awaiting departure on a 60 day cruise, we wandered into Little Italy on a Sunday afternoon and noticed one restaurant was busy both inside and outside. We were fortunate to find a table inside and had a delicious, home made Italian dinner. Lasagna, ravioli, caprese, great desserts..............service was a bit slow paced, but the food was worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the burrata with spinach and tomatoes”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was a great find in Little Italy. The burrata with sauteed spinach and roasted tomatoes was divine. My fresh pasta purses filled with lobster and cheese was good (but not great) as the asparagus cream sauce was a bit undersalted. My dining partner's linguine with seafood in a white wine garlic sauce was delicious. It would have been absolute perfection if they used fresh linguine, but they used dried. We were very pleased with the meal, would visit again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellinJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Yummy”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The staff at Glorietta Bay Inn recommended this restaurant which is in Little Italy. It is very small and there are a few tables on the sidewalk. We sat outside and it was very cool but they had heaters.

I had the Orrechiette del Barese which was ear-shaped pasta with broccoli rate and sausage. It was so delicious. My husband had the filet gorgonzola. The food and ambiance were great. Our kids loved their penne and cheese and spaghetti bolognese. Great service.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Used to be my favorite spot for the veal, but no more.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is one case where a bad apple can spoil the entire process. I used to look forward to the veal when I was in town. And they have great little tables behind an iron fenced patio under the gas heaters on the sidewalk for winter dining.

But, on my last trip I bragged about the place to an associate of mine. We showed up at 7:00 PM on a wet Tuesday evening and the place was practically empty. A young female hostess seated us in the very back corner on a 2-top. Remember, there were only a couple of tables seated in the whole joint.

We said we wanted to sit up at the front window of the place, which had an open table, and she told us NO. We have all the other tables reserved with reservations. We asked if she noticed the bad weather and whether she thought 60 people were going to show up in the next 60 minutes.

She walked away and then so did we. Found a much friendlier spot just down the street.

It's that one-bad-apple thing that can ruin your entire business plan. I probably won't go back to eat their ever again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank auklazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buon Appetito Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buon Appetito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing