We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best sushi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shogun Kobe

Shogun Kobe
Ranked #981 of 4,647 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our family loves sushi, so we frequent the sushi bar often. Great service, you hardly wait for anything. Shogun roll and ceviche roll, some of our favorites just to name a couple. Fairly priced. You will not be disappointed. Very yummy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDborngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

There were 6 of us and we all ordered different meals. The chef prepared them all at our table and gave us each a bite of the other dishes , which I thought was great. Each one of them tasted superbe. I ordered scallops and for the first time ever they were cooked to perfection. I will definitely go back the next time I am in San Diego. My husband had steak teriyaki, the kids had chicken and fish and others had shrimp.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tequila777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had a wonderful meal with my hubby. Chef Chris was excellent [who says white men don't cook!]
He gave me tastes of fried rice and shrimps when only my hubby ordered them. How nice..and yummy! Ordered the Prime option for the meat ordered....omg it was the bomb. I'm fussy with my scallops and Chef Chris nailed it. I was in heaven. Came away SO stuffed, had to get a to go box. See ya again Shogun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prescottmtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lively Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I like to eat at the bar at lunch where I can get the food from the grills without the crowds and the show. But the show is fun at dinner or with friends. The bartenders are nice and efficient---I can single out Steve as being very pleasant. The combination of New York Steak and Sesame Chicken is my favorite. Order a bottle of Sycamore Hill Chardonnay and you will be set. I like the fact that at Shogun Kobe you are shown to a grill and you wait for it to be filled before the chef makes an appearance, which gives you time to relax, order your wine or even to enjoy an appetizer. At Benihana, on the other hand, the protocol is that you wait in the bar before the hostess can corral eight people and then you are all brought in at the same time to a waiting chef who will finish cooking your meal with lightening speed before the check is slapped down to all eight people at the same time: boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom and then you are all booted out to allow the next waiting eight to be dragged in from the bar. Thankfully, that practice does not occur at Shogun Kobe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family fun night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We made a reservation, hanged out at the sushi bar, enjoyed tasty rolls and were called to the "show" table! The cook performed superbly in front of us, it fas fun to watch and then eat our perfect order!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avalon92058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shogun Kobe also viewed

 

Been to Shogun Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing