We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #26 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My family stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom suite while on vacation. The room was perfect for our young family since the kids go to bed earlier than the adults. The location was great for our family which spent 3 days at local beaches as well as a visit to Sea World & the zoo. We used the laundry room and the pool area - which were both nice. The staff was very kind & gave excellent suggestions (plus easy to use directions) for local restaurants, grocery stores & things to do. The free breakfast was delicious with lots of options. We got in on one free supper night (served Mon-Thurs) which was a bonus we didn't know about ahead of time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you Patty M for recommending us! We are so glad you had a chance to enjoy our property and some of the amazing locales and attractions that San Diego has to offer. Traveling with children sometimes makes sleeping difficult so I am glad that the extra space (and door) made for great sleeping arrangements. I am also pleased to know you enjoyed the breakfasts and our Welcome Home reception. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family of 5 enjoyed a nice 2 bedroom suite for three nights while in town for a family wedding in La Jolla. Enjoyed our stay but we were really impressed by the group of people running this place. Everyone we had the pleasure of running in to were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. From the front desk to the breakfast personnel to the maids in the hallway. Even had the GM walk by while we were sitting in the lobby and asked if the temperature was comfortable. The little things add up and the positive attitudes do make a difference. We'd recommend this location in a heart beat! Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel would have been perfect for me if the fitness center was 4 times larger and had some equipment. 2 treadmills, an eliptical, a bike and some dumbbells doesn't qualify as a fitness center. However, the free food was very good and the remaining facilities are nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel on many levels. However, the single star rating is not accidental and hopefully will at a minimum entice conversation and make visitors aware given that a single review like this can affect the outcome for well over 1000 potential visitors very quickly. I'm targeting the fact that the property is not a smoke-free hotel.

I came here to relax with a friend for the long weekend with a friend and we wanted a kitchen option. Nothing can ruin an otherwise experience more than activities of other guests and in this case it's subtle and not the guests' fault as it's allowed hotel policy.

Now I understand that only certain sections of the property have rooms that allow for smoking and I know there are designated areas outside, but this never, ever works. Smoke has a tendency to make its way around the building despite best intentions. On this particular visit, a few examples:

1. We like to sleep with the windows open. Not more than an hour or two into trying to fall asleep and ... smoke.

2. Sitting in the hot tub after a long hike during the afternoon ... smoke.

3. Retrieving a few items from the car ... smoke.

I am somewhat sensitive to smoke so maybe other visitors will not have an issue but as someone who is just getting over a minor lung infection, it pretty much ruined the weekend.

I also understand that hotels want to be accommodating to smokers. However, this is 2014 and there are many successful hotels that are 100% smoke free (thinking many Starwood properties). In fact, one Starwood property manager told me if I see someone smoking close to the building, to call as it's not allowed and that's the way it should be.

I also work in medicine and see the carnage downstream, but I'll leave this part out as it's a personal choice, although that's debatable too with escalating insurance premiums. What is not though is supporting an activity that has the potential to have negative consequences for others who are also paying guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank medicinewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. While our property is well known for being an incredibly comfortable and clean hotel, it seems that you did not get to enjoy that kind of experience. We do have designated exterior smoking areas as well as designated smoking rooms located on our top floor. We of course are very sorry to hear that you were effected as we truly strive to make both smoking and non smoking guests happy. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies and would appreciate any further details in order to ensure this does not occur in the future. Our direct line is 858-523-0500. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The suit was compact and very efficient. Just what we needed as a couple. There we no restaurants within walking distant except the one in the Hilton hotel next door. However, Homewood suites provided dinner Monday thru Thursday 5-7PM.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for the great review! While we do have a plethora of wonderful one and two bedroom suites, our Homewood also offers Studio Suites for quick getaways and smaller families. You can expect all of the amenities you would find in our larger suites but in a smaller and more economical package. We hope to have you again next time you are in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Thank you for the excellent hot meals for breakfast and evening. I was going to book with Marriot nearby and it did not offer the meals or free sevices. I am so glad I stayed here. The staffs for dinning and front desk were very friendly. It made my business trip less stressful. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Another great stay at a Homewood Suites. Staff was exceptional. There was a pretty good variety of breakfast foods, certainly better than your standard continental. The only unfortunate thing about our stay was the family of early-rising kangaroos above us. Can't fault kids for being kids. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £101 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing