We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our San Diego home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #14 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is our second stay at Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar. Once again, our stay was wonderful. The beds are comfortable and the staff is excellent. It will be our only place to stay on our trips to San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Br0589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a very nice 6-night stay at this property in late June. It's location close to I5 is very convenient to all the major attractions in San Diego. The front desk staff was particularly helpful! We also partook of the complimentary breakfasts and dinners (week days) and found them very good, again staff was wonderful! We appreciated that they switched out the breakfast options each day as repetitive food can get boring fast.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit with six of us and found it plenty roomy. We had a couple of insignificant maintenance issues that management responded to very quickly and successfully. Daily housekeeping was fine.

The front desk staff gave us directions to a nearby Vons Market which allowed us to purchase some food items and snacks. We cooked a couple of simple evening meals on the weekend using the two-burner stove. The Hilton Garden Inn (next door) has a couple of restaurants, but we didn't find any other family restaurants nearby. We rented the Beach Bundle from the front desk which included 2 beach chairs, 2 towels, beach umbrella, and a boogie board which greatly enhanced our beach day!

The pool was small, but adequate. The kids in our group swam every evening during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is perfect location if you are planning to travel north or south San Diego. Not alot of traffic in this area, like the hotel circle area or downtown. This hotel was very clean and staff was super friendly. The morning breakfast was a nice bonus although don't expect anything too fancy, they had powder eggs and not too many selections, although the waffles you can make yourself were excellent. Can't really complain for it being complimentary. We didn't do the evening reception so I can't comment on that part. The pool was nice, but for it being heated it was still pretty chilly. The rooms are not as big as I anticipated but still works for a family of 4. Kitchen amenities were nice and they have a full fridge if you plan on taking groceries. If you plan on attending the beach, you can rent beach chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards from the hotel for a cost. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here, quiet and close to freeway. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor, on the north side. It was pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank prece78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Prece78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it truly is appreciated. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our locations, cleanliness, and staff among your kind words. I'm glad to see you were able to use the room's kitchen facilities in lieu of the dinner services. We can't wait to see you next time you're in the San Diego area. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I know it seems unfair to drop a star of the hotel rating when it was actually the guests who were causing the problem.....but perhaps this hotel can implement the quickly trending habit of booking single occupant hotel rooms in one section of the hotel and multiple occupant/joint room occupants in another, so those of us who travel for business can be spared being kept up late by the screaming, singing, running and bed jumping children who come back late hoped up on sugar from the zoo.

This hotel is a bit off the main drag, but has close freeway access and back road access that bypassed rush hour traffic. The room was smallish but laid out well and was clean. The lobby and pool area were very nice and the breakfast was inclusive of a lot of options, with the welcome home dinners being varied, and they were super convenient and actually pretty good.

The staff at this hotel was great! There was one grumpy bus boy and a stressed server, but outside of that all the other employees were positive, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Bathroom was in need of a little touch-up (I know it's hard to keep a nice looking bathroom day in and day out especially since they get the brunt of the beatings in a hotel room, but a little attention to cleaning detail goes a long way ) and the view out of our room was of the roof and the A/C units roaring all night long. At least the complimentary breakfast was tasty and the manager for the front desk was cordial at check-in. Hotel set in a nice quiet area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Go H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Go H,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any disruptive noise caused by our ventilation system, as it is our intention to make every stay calming and comfortable. I also appreciate the constructive criticism regarding the bathroom and I will make sure to address this with my Housekeeping Director so we can continue to improve upon your guest experience. Thank you for the compliment regarding our breakfast. I will make sure to pass that on to our wonderful kitchen team. We truly appreciate your business and would love to have you back as our guest during your next trip to San Diego!

Yours in Hospitality,

Parris Preston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Average all the way around. Lack of decent parking. Small Pool facilities. Breakfast was pedestrian. Workers were nice and friendly. I have to write eighty more characters to finish this review. Finally!

Room Tip: zDifferent hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mark L,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. The team and I greatly appreciate your business and would like to know if there is anything that we may do to heighten the level of service you received, as I am always appreciative of guest feedback. Should you have any further comments, questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally. We look forward to hearing from you and having you back as our guest during your next trip to San Diego!

Yours in Hospitality,

Parris Preston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It is very close to LEGOLAND and the La Jolla and Del Mar Beaches. We had a 2 bedroom suite which served us well. The room was well appointed with nice sheets, down comforter and pillows.An advantage for staying here Monday through Thursday night is the dinner that they serve. It is a buffet that is well thought out and included a salad, a meat and a starch. Breakfast is also served every morning and included cooked eggs, sausage, a waffle that you make yourself, cold cereals and assorted bagels and muffins. My only complaint about the hotel was that they were doing remodeling on our floor. We weren't told this until we got up to the floor to see for ourselves. Work was done in the daytime and it was quiet at night except for the vornado fans going in the hallways to dry the wall board.The management made an accommodation to us which was nice, but it would have been nice to know of the work as we were making our reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABQ-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £101 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing