We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families.”
Review of Miramar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miramar Inn
Reviewed 24 June 2014

To put this short here's why I give it an Excellent rating:

Service: Great staff. Very helpful and friendly.
Cleanliness: From the exterior to the interior, everything was immaculate!
Amenities: Everything you need is in the suites, or on the property.
Value: For $120/nt, the Suites are a great deal!

I'm already planning my next visit in the fall!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Miramar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just came to stay in San Diego for a couple of days and needed somewhere cheap and safe to stay so we figured why not stay on base? Well let me tell you they now have a customer for life! The hotel is clean, new, and the staff is amazing! The rooms are very spacious and the ground are beautiful, they even provide a continental breakfast till 9:30am. Oh and if you are traveling with children there is a huge park across the street!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

You MUST stay here! This hotel was cleaner than any of the major chain hotels I usually stay at...SO clean, even the elevators smelled clean! The room was pristine, the staff was super friendly, and it was only $85 a night. I highly recommend it and will stay again when Im in the area. I stayed 3 nights, each morning there was a continental breakfast that consisted of bagels, donuts, pastries, muffins, juice, coffee, milk, and cereal. Its kid friendly and the park is just across the street! I was very pleased with my experience here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ScruffRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Miramar Inn is one of several "Inns of the Corps", which are motel-type accommodations for active-duty and retired military personnel aboard Marine Corps bases. We have stayed at this particular facility a number of times over the past 6 years, and have watched it metamorphose from a fairly tawdry "Motel-6"-type place to a really decent motel. When they finish the new section, it will be quite nice. The staff are very pleasant, and the access to north county, UCSD and La Jolla is excellent. The only drawback is that you must be active duty or retired military, or have such a person as a sponsor. The price is right!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have been going to Miramar Inn for many years and the changes I have seen recently have really wow'd me. The facilities which were a little dreary at times have been modernized. They did not just renovate, the rebuilt most of the property. There still is a tiny bit left of the section that was once considered new, and the older section is now gone. They opened the courtyard up (no more bunny rabbits running around the barbecue gazebo...which I will miss). It is so full of light now. The rooms are wonderful. Newly decorated and the air conditioning is so quiet you can barely hear it (the other ones were LOUD like most hotels).
FOOD: The free continental-ish breakfast was horrible. Not only was the selection pretty bad, but the bread and fruit were both visibly old. There are virtually no selections for those who are diabetic or health conscious. You could have a sugary instant oatmeal and an old banana, but that was it. If you are staying for several days it would be nice to have even a hard boiled egg and toast. Anyhow, maybe it was just during my recent stay because years back it was much better.
SERVICE: Staff members were friendly as usual. Housekeeping was very nice but not the best in actual housekeeping. The tub was dirty after she came to service our room on both nights and they didn't give enough shampoo for two people. I bought Clorox wipes and shampoo at the Exchange.
PRICE: The price had gone up since I been there last; however, it was still a bargain and without all the added taxes you get from civilian hotels, ESPECIALLY San Diego. The value was there for sure.
LOCATION: A few short minutes from the freeway and right down the street from Mira Mesa Blvd where you can find grocery stores, movie theaters, clothing stores, etc...
BOTTOM LINE: GREAT DEAL. Go to iHop and use your military discount for a cheap breakfast down the street. Ask the desk for a few extra shampoos if you need them, and talk to housekeeping if you need a re-wipe down of your tub. You wont find a better deal for the nice new rooms, convenient location, and friendly staff with the added security of being on a military base.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms and one near the parking lot if you want easy access.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omiyoshibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#185 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Inn

Address: Marine Corps Air Station Miramar, Bldg 2515, Bauer Road, San Diego, CA 92145-0001
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Miramar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: £63 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miramar Inn extends a warm welcome to you and your family & friends. Whether your travels are due to a military permanent change of station move, temporary additional duty, or just getting away, you will find an inviting atmosphere, warm hospitality and quality accommodations at the Miramar Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing