We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vyvant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vyvant
Ranked #4 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel Vyvant was a good experience for myself and a friend en route to see the Joquin Sorolla Exhibit in Balboa Park. We were able to leave our car parked and walk to the museum. The gals (Becca and Denise) hosting the hotel, were friendly, helpful, and efficient. The room was clean, quiet and comfy. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room Q was comfy for two sleeping in separate beds. Room D was very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    168
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
108
314
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A lovely place with even lovelier staff. Very attentive. Great location except for the traffic noise on Grape St. Too many great restaurants to choose from! Walk to Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo, or the waterfront area easily. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved the boutique feel, the free breakfast, the decor and comfort this hotel provided. It's a nice walk to Little Italy and a bit further on to the harbour and Gaslamp Quarter. The only disadvantage is the parking. Street sweeping and restrictions can cause confusion and give you a bit of a walk, but I'd prefer this to the ridiculous valet parking most city hotels insist on!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this dog friendly hotel in 2014 and in 2013 when we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. The hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, galleries, and public transportation. It has a family oriented versus corporate feel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel breakfast and happy hour are a great time to get to talk with other guests. For both visits the staff went well beyond expectations to make our stays enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon_Tempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I checked in late with Denise and she took me straight to my room. Really simple gesture but made me feel extra welcome! The building, rooms, patio, comfy bed, bathrobe, and breakfast were perfect. Thank out for making my trip for business feel less "business"

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougtrystolearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Vyvant for a night during a long layover and had a marvelous experience. The room was clean, pleasant & comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept on in years (so much so that I even checked the company that manufactured the pillows...ahhhh).

The only potential red flag is for light sleepers. My room was on the corner of the building facing State St & throughout the night I woke up several times to excessive honking and loud cars/motorcycles.

Extra bonus points for deluxe shower goods and locally sourced breakfast items (don't miss the Safari Crunch granola!). I really enjoyed my stay at Vyvant & look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was in town for a conference and had a wonderful experience with Hotel Vyvant! The facilities are beautiful and very clean. I opted for an economy queen room with a shared bathroom to save money. I was a little concerned about sharing the bathroom space, but I never had any problems!
The staff are INCREDIBLE!! They are genuinely nice and friendly. I asked for restaurant and beach recommendations each day I was there and they were very helpful.
The breakfast is wonderful! They have a selection of fresh, local pastries, granola, and greek yogurt, as well as locally roasted coffee.
I recommend this spot to anyone and everyone looking for a place to stay near downtown San Diego!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#115 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Old Town Inn
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#40 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vyvant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Property: Hotel Vyvant
Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vyvant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing