We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Vyvant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Found Hotel San Diego
Ranked #5 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel Vyvant”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I hate staying in average hotels and always look for the smaller boutique ones, this was such a pleasant surprise! Driving from LA to San Diego we found Hotel Vyvant on a web search last minute. When we called the person at the front desk was more than just helpful, he was pleasant to talk with, helping us with directions and offering to work late so he could show us in, he also gave us parking tips! Once we arrived the front he showed us in, offered to help with our huge pile of camping luggage...so sweet!The place was/is beautiful and clean, our room was one that shared a full bathroom with one other room which was perfectly fine, we never saw the other guests. The beds were clean and very comfortable and the room was quiet.The next morning there was coffee (very good coffee), fruits, yogurts and cereal for breakfast, all included in our stay. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay without losing out on all the good stuff, I highly recommend Hotel Vyvant!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    174
    54
    23
    12
See reviews for
111
324
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here with my family for a conference. The complimentary pastries for breakfast and granola were amazing. The staff were also very nice, they printed out many forms for us and gave us advice on places to go etc.

But the cleaning staff did a a terrible terrible job. It seemed as if they didn't even sweep or vacuum the Queen kitchenette style room we stayed in.

I stayed here with my infant son and wife and I found a Tylenol pill on the floor. My son actually found it, he's only 1.5 yrs old, we are glad and lucky that he did not ingest the pill.

I would like to recommend this place and perhaps stay in the future, but it was just too filthy.

Room Tip: Request a clean room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We have reason to believe this is a fraudulent review. We do not have record of this guest. If this is found in error we ask that you contact the hotel immediately so we may understand and address the issues mentioned in the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed there with my daughter so we could attend SDSU's orientation day, as she will be a freshman there next month. Everyone was so lovely, youthful, smiling, here is my daughter's comment as we closed our room door behind us: "wow, I feel like I just arrived to stay with my older sister's friends for a few days, it feels so cozy to be here!" I think that sums up the overall feel. Even a shared bathroom was no big deal and super clean (and new), breakfast was de-li-cious, one of the best hotel stays of my life! Very easy access from the airport and to sdsu, downtown, etc. Looking forward to visiting again when we come down to see our daughter :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie13472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our trip to San Diego was awesome and that was because of our wonderful stay at this unique
and beautiful hotel. The staff is awesome and goes above and beyond their duties. This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. The breakfast was great and the coffee was the best coffee I have ever had at any hotel. Thanks again for making my family feel at home. Parking is not that bad for a big tourist city. The staff are always trying to help with the parking. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopyone33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night.... and now we're planning a longer stay at the Hotel Vivant. This place is wonderful.... absolutely adorable, super clean, great staff. Even the little bottles of shampoo, bars of soap, etc are not the average amenities. Everything was far better than I expected.... my only disappointment was we had to leave! Next time we're staying for several nights. :-).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CIT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you want to experience Little Italy, and be close to the harbor (and Maritime Museum), this quaint little hotel is the perfect place. Rooms are unique in the most charming way, and the women at the desk could not have been more gracious and kind. The happy hour was a big plus (local brews, humus and cheese from the local farmer's market, and wine). Patios and the breakfast area are also a great way to get to know other guests from all over sharing similar experiences. We plan one more trip to San Diego later this summer, and there is no question that we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with your own (not shared) bathroom. There is no refrigerator, so be prepared to use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amphionpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I liked the hotel but our wifi did not work in our room both days that we stayed there. Parking SUCKS. The shared bathroom was okay but the lighting above the sink is horrible. I had to put on make up outside in my car just to get good lighting. Over all a good hotel for a two days stay.

Room Tip: In this hotel you want to spend the extra money because if you get the economy rooms you will have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear the WiFi was not working. We will look into why this was a problem this week. We agree that parking can be a challenge. We have looked for alternatives, but unfortunately we have not had any luck utilizing a nearby lot. We provide information and tips about parking on our website and hope we can be helpful in finding the best spots upon arrival. We will continue to look for parking alternatives for our guests and I will be sure to look into how we can improve the bathroom lighting. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Return guests receive 10% off if you book directly with us.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
613 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#131 of 278 in San Diego
605 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 278 in San Diego
2,489 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Found Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Found Hotel San Diego

Property: Found Hotel San Diego
Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel Vyvant)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Found Hotel San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found Hotel San Diego is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown Little Italy. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Found Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing