We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beachfront hotel with luxurious surf-attitude!”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #9 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Super 'spiffy'! Tower23 has a cool vibe and great restaurant! Stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. Location is very good (on the beach) , only 15mins drive from downtown San Diego and near all major 'thing-to-do'. The room was very clean, big and spacious, very good and large bathroom,... Staff helpful and friendly. Quick valid parking, good roomservice, and nice design... no negative points on this hotel, only very positive points and even better memories. You have to try the restaurant: delicious! Tower 23 is my favourite hotel and restaurant in San Diego! Will come back because of the design, surf-vibe, friendly staff, restaurant, location and easy-going atmosphere. An excellent beachfront hotel with a luxurious surf-attitude in one of the coolest cities in the world!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavyVermeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Awwww.... we think you are super spiffy too! Thanks for the great review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our beach front location, friendly staff and the award-winning, JRDN restaurant.

- Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for Tower23 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

We absolutely loved Tower 23. Great location, right on the beach, EXCELLENT restaurant. We had booked our 4 night stay through luxurylink.com and it included breakfast every morning and one dinner. When we got there, they gave us nice personalized vouchers detailing exactly what was included in our deal. The hotel restaurant/lounge was awesome; rather than go elsewhere, we would have drinks, snacks and lunch there because the food (and service) was amazing. The room itself was pretty bare, white walls and minimal decor but was very spacious with a great bathroom (separate shower and tub). The hotel was quiet when we were there altough the upstairs patio area does get busy in the afternoon (with lots of people "reserving" chairs by leaving their stuff there for hours!). I’m glad we stayed here rather than downtown… Pacific Beach is a very interesting area with lots of great shopping, restaurants, boardwalk, etc. We're hoping to return to Tower 23 because I can’t think of a single thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mljc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I would never have even known about this hotel had it not been for a hotel mishap in Seattle. Long story short - she has a form of neuropathy that makes it impossible to sleep on a bad mattress. Trying to find a better hotel bed in Seattle eventually led to the discovery of a list of hotels in the US that offer Tempurpedic memory foam mattresses. This list led to our discovery of Tower 23 in Pacific Beach, or 'PB' as it's known by the locals. Our first visit to this little boutique hotel was in February 2011. It was a short visit, but the impression it left on us convinced us to come back for another, longer visit in September 2011.

Let me state right up front, this hotel is not for everyone. It doesn't have a pool - this will turn some people off right away. We didn't care. We didn't come to San Diego to swim in a hotel pool. I've read other reviews on this hotel and noticed a few complaints about the homeless folks who pass by on the beachfront walkway. Pacific Beach has homeless people. You just can't get around that fact. We didn't find it intrusive or offensive in any way. They did not camp out near our hotel.

On to what we liked. The bed, of course. If only every hotel had quality, memory foam mattresses, our trip planning would be so much easier and offer so many other choices. A definite win for Tower 23. The restaurant (JRDN) is great. Depending on the time of year, you can get breakfast there, but lunch and dinner are year-round and of high quality. One thing to be aware of when booking a room is that about half of the beach-facing rooms are directly over the restaurant / bar area. The restaurant has an outdoor patio as well and this place can get noisy when it's crowded. Weekend nights are worst. From our room on the third floor at the south end of the hotel, it wasn't too bad. We got a beach-front room and loved it. Being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf is my idea of heaven.

The bathroom is modern and well appointed. Nice big shower and a wonderful tub. The water runs into the tub from the ceiling, which is a little disconcerting at first, but it's OK. Just don't stand next to the tub for the first minute, or you'll get splashed. But it is a great tub. The rain shower is a nice touch.

Tower 23 may not have a pool, but they do have a nice Sky Deck, a second floor outdoor deck overlooking the beach with lounge chairs and sofas and a fireplace for night-time. It's a popular spot and is often full of sunbathers in the afternoon.

If you have a car, you may as well splurge on the $20 per day valet parking. Taking a chance to find parking on the street is taking a big risk, as the neighbourhood is very popular and I found it almost impossible to find parking near the hotel. It's just easier with the valet. I particularly love the location of the hotel, because you're right on the ocean, minutes from trendy La Jolla, a short drive from Fashion Valley Mall and easy access to the freeways that get you all around the San Diego area and up the coast to towns like Encinitas and Del Mar. We saved some money not renting a car at the airport and getting one in PB.

So we're very glad we found this hotel. It is our new home whenever we go to San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. The beach-front rooms are more expensive, so try a different ro...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlPCalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

It is hard to beat the combination of Tempurpedic mattresses, fresh sea air and the lulling sound of the ocean for a good nights sleep. A return visit is the best compliment we can receive, so thank you for coming back to visit to T23!

Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We spent the week at Tower23 recently with friends from college. In looking for a hotel in the San Diego area, we wanted something on the beach and Tower 23 fit the bill. It is in a terrific location overlooking Pacific Beach. Rooms were immaculate, beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the firepit, lounge area was great. Valet parking attendants were efficient and helpful (tip - use the free parking coupon from Trip Advisor). When we had a problem with our air conditioning that could not easily be remedied, we were upgraded to another room. Jeremiah and his staff took good care of us. The only problem was the weather did not cooperate and although we were there for a week, never saw a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our ocean view fire pit is a great place to reconnect with old friends. It's unfortunate that you missed one of SD's famous sunsets. I hope you'll try again and think of us next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Pacific Beach is bar far the more relaxed beach that San Diego has to offer and if you can tolerate the bronzed and the beautiful its a great place to stay. Tower 23 is nestled right next to the peer and offers a little flavour of luxury and style more akin to an inner city hotel. The style is very chic throughout and the rooms are very well appointed. Friendly staff make this a definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in the area in style.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is a must
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Spent a week at Tower 23 located on Pacific Beach in San Diego. Room with view of ocean exceptionally nice. Bar and restaurant excellent but fairly expensive. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Ocean view very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blackshirtbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed at the tower23 for work and liked it. The design of the overall hotel is pretty cool, a glass box over looking the ocean. Our room however was a big eh. I did not see the other rooms but based on the lowest priced room they're not really worth the price they are asking. The room itself is fine with a nice little balcony...unfortunately the balcony faces other people's rooms. They call it a courtyard view...but in actuality it's more like a voyeurs view. Our room abutted up another's balcony....enough so that their cigar smoke came into our room. Noise travels as well. If you craned your neck out the window you could see the ocean.

The service, while friendly, was a little lax. When we arrived to check in (after a long flight) there was a gentlemen in front of us asking silly questions for what seemed like forever. There was only one person at the front desk, and instead of calling for help or answering questions while checking us in...we waited 10 minutes to check in. Clearly there should be a concierge person and a check in person...not just one person.

We also returned home to find the valet parking closed at 10pm on saturday night. The gate was down.

We came down to hang out on the deck in the afternoon, only to find no cushions or anywhere to sit.

We had to run around to the front desk and get security to come open it. That's a little strange.

All of these little glitches are understandable but at the price they were charging should not have happened. This is clearly a smallish design hotel but that doesn't mean they have to be small on service.

That being said, the sunsets from this location are absolutely stunning.

All in all I wouldn't discount a stay at the Tower23 but I can't say it's worth it for the cheapest room. If you want to stay at the beach then pony up the cash for the direct ocean view rooms. If not just grab drink there and watch the sun set.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a direct view room, the non-view rooms aren't worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjthekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £182 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing