We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed four nights in Feb as part of extended business trip. Friends reco'd t23 and we ran with it. Great choice. Location was great, every drink, app, meal was great, setting and facilities were great. Sun deck was fantastic for drinks and sunsets... Staff was friendly and engaging. All around really great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    183
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
213
376
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We live in San Diego and picked this place do to its location and ocean views and got a fantastic deal. Everything was perfect: they were flexible with check in and check out, gave us complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne, and had a perfect room with an ocean view. Would recommend to anyone, its in a great location to go out and the best breakfast in San Diego is next door!

Room Tip: Get a surf pad with an ocean view, totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent 4 nights at Tower 23 in January 2012. The location is spectacular....the sunsets are so beautiful. We had a surf pad with a great view. The beds are extremely comfortable, and there are several different pillows to choose from. The staff was very helpful, and the maid service timely and thorough. The bar and restaurant were busy the night we went down there, and the service was horrible, so we didn't stay to eat dinner.

Room Tip: Surf Pad with full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at T23 for a week in early January and it was a great experience. A room overlooking the ocean with balcony couldn't be beat. The first room had an annoying electrical hum and they cheerfully moved us the next day to another room. Overall excellent service and great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at Tower 23 for over a week in November 2010 (I had to check March 2011 because I waited too long to write this review). This hotel is so cool, a famous indie rock band stayed in our same room the same week.

Location: RIGHT ON THE BEACH. The sunsets were out of this world. We were addicted to the sunsets from our room at T23...we raced to the hotel to see them.

JRDN: This restaurant is truly gourmet--and at a hotel. We shared 4 dinners at JRDN over the course of the week. We knew our waiters by name. The food was OUTSTANDING. Best oysters I've ever had--we compare all other oysters to the ones we had at JRDN.

Room service: Room service was interesting because it wasn't just a room service delivery--it was like the restaurant came to you. We had loads of delicious breakfast foods included in our room rate. Every bit was executed with perfection. They were prompt and we loved our server, Meredith. And Josh--well, there were 2 Josh's. All were so much fun.

Room: The products--OMG, the products!!! I can still smell them when I think back to Tower 23. The balmy lotion was my favorite. Seriously awesome products. The mini bar was well stocked, there were loads of snacks, and even souvenirs you could buy from the room. The robes were a good weight and we wore them a lot. The bed was enormous with tons of fluffy pillows. Chaise lounge was handy and comfortable. We loved our balcony, too. Nice sized closet and great TV.

Service: I've mentioned the service was perfection. We were on first name basis with so many of our servers by the end of the trip.

Do yourself a favor--stay at Tower 23. The vibe is unique and this place will make your trip to San Diego. It's worth going to San Diego JUST to stay at this hotel. Enchanting location for couples.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view. The sunsets will blow your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Awwwww..... thanks for the great review. We strive to make every guests' stay as wonderful as yours! So glad you were able to enjoy San Diego's famous sunsets from our oceanfront hotel. Tip: our bath products are H20+ and available for retail purchase online. Try the body scrub, it is amazing.

Happy traveling!
Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We just recently stayed at Tower 23 on 1/22/12-1/28/12. I have been to San Diego before, and the area that this hotel sits in usually has a lot of students coming in to party. I was traveling with my family and I did not know what to expect. Fortunately, Tower 23 was able to dispell some of my worries. We arrived and our room was spottless, and they brought our bags up promptly. We stayed in a ocean-view room on the 3rd floor. Our balcony opened up to the main patio, but it seemed to be sound proofed really well. Even when the patio was full we were never disturbed. Housekeeping did a great job. Valet was always on point, we never had an issue getting our vehicle. The employees were great with my son also, which was a big plus! Tower 23 sits on a great beach, with a spectacular view. Sunsets are amazing from the pier. There are plenty of restaurants around the property. Try Kono's for breakfast. You get a big breakfast for a reasonable price. Make sure you bring cash, because they don't take credit. Also try Narraya's Thai Cuisine and Fillippe's Pizzaria, they have great pizza! They also have the usuals around like IHOP and Denny's, that are in walking distance. La Jolla is not far away, and they have good places to eat there too. Mission Beach is close also, try Olive Cafe for breakfast, you won't regret it. You also can take Grand Ave to I-5 to go back into town to check out the Gaslamp District or go east to the fashion district, or to University. San Diego is a great town, and Tower 23 gave us another place to consider when we return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Never had been to San Diego before, this is the place to be. Right on the beach over looks a huge pier, Surfing, walk way. My cousin had her wedding here it was beautiful, the food was awesome! And the people was very nice. It has outside dining and a nice bar area. I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paypay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing