We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking Valet”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #7 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Parking Valet”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tony ,

The valet for the hotel was amazing. Friday night around 5:30 . Valet was full I was with my son , and there was not a place to park . As I waited outside the garage for a spot , one opened up & Tony came and took my car in after he told another driver that I had been waiting. Exceptional service from Tony the parking Valet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    185
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
217
377
40
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were here for a business meeting. The location right on the beach is great. The service is excellent. Everything is new, clean and comfortable. One complaint is there is no bedside table or reading light on one side of the bed (which happened to be the side I was sleeping on). So there's no place to put your phone or your book, and no light to read by. Also the bathroom door isn't that soundproof so the bathroom feels like it's right in the bedroom (no soundproofing).
"
The other thing is there is no pool, just a "Water Feature." You can sit by the water feature which is kind of like a fountain. But the view from the terrace by the water feature out over the deck is excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side with 'Partial View' actually do have a pretty good view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsyMaineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stay at high end hotels all the time, and this definitely did not live up to my expectations. The websites and reviews make you think you are going to nice big luxury hotel and it doesn't meet those expectations for spending $500/night. I was suppose to have champagne and strawberries during check in as a surprise and had to sit in my room for over hour when they finally delivered it! Not what I expected even though they did apologize several times. We ate at the restaurant downstairs for dinner, and it was average at best. The best part was the bartenders downstairs were very nice and friendly. The view was also nice and enjoyed the free bike rentals. I will def not be back at this hotel. It honestly did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed Tower23's beautiful views, bartenders and complimentary bike rentals, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in other aspects. We take very review as a chance to improve our guest service experience. If your travels take you back to San Diego, please feel free to personally contact me, Stacy, at 858-270-2323 and I will ensure that you have a flawless visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Surprised with a one night stay at this beautiful hotel for my 50th birthday- I have never enjoyed myself as much as I did these past 24 hours. What an absolutely beautiful property and staff! I can't wait to return..

My room had a breath taking view that was even better when the charming wait staff, Jonathan brought up a bottle of chilled champagne and birthday card! The sweetest front desk agent Christina checked us in and made us feel so welcomed. We enjoyed the friendly valet, Tony who eagerly and quickly brought us our car each time we needed it. Greg the bellman was awesome, assisting with bags and opening doors, always aware and ready to help. Lastly, Raul at check out was full of recommendations for brunch, very sincere and radiating positivity to start our morning and end our stay at Tower 23.
What a great experience, truly one to remember.
This property and staff goes above and beyond expectations, we were very pleased!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Masonf957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The décor was clean and modern, the staff treated us as if we were the most high end of customers. An excellent restaurant and bar is located on the main level, with complimentary towel service as you walk just a few steps to the beach. We were greeted with complimentary cocktails, and our room was wonderfully designed. The outdoor deck featured a waitstaff ready to serve cocktails or snacks as we enjoyed the sun, and featured a fire pit at night. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tower 23 one night when we were down from San Francisco. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach, and it's got a lively scene at night, but the quality of service and facilities wasn't as high as I would have expected for the price. We booked a king room with a partial ocean view and ended up in a room with two queens facing the street, with a view of the ocean if you got to one edge of the balcony. They did offer us complimentary rum punch when we arrived, which was a nice touch. They have a cool area for sunbathing and looking over the ocean, but there's no pool, which I hadn't realized until we got there.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay, but not rave-worthy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I appreciate the time you spent writing your feedback. We strive to improve with every review! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the location and nightlife. While we always do our very best to honor bed requests, we are unable to guarantee them as the hotel is only 44 rooms with limited inventory of the different room types. Please feel free to call us the next time you return to San Diego, so we may put in a VIP request for a King bedded room.

Warm regards,
Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a nice surprise. Super clean, contemporary hotel. The staff were all very friendly and the restaurant JRDN located in the hotel (outside seating with views of the ocean) was superb! Sunday Brunch is a must if you plan on staying thru a weekend. This was my first time to PB. What a great little area this is. The hotel is located right on the beach and they offer complimentary bike rentals if you are staying at the hotel. It was just perfect. I would definatly stay again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing