We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we keep coming back”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #8 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary AB
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So good, we keep coming back”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I didn't even really want to write this review because I don't relish the idea of more people finding out about our favourite hotel in San Diego.

Many thanks to Allison who welcomes us to Tower 23 every year. This year marked what I believe is our fifth visit in six years. Why do we keep coming back? For one thing, the location. It's right on the beach, almost next to Crystal pier, at the end of Felspar St. The view from our beach side room on the third floor is spectacular. All year, I miss the sound of the surf and I get my fix from my room. But, it's not all about the view. They have Tempur-pedic memory foam mattresses, which make for a very restful stay, especially considering my wife's neuropathy. Some rooms have large soaker tubs (including the one we choose). The staff are incredibly friendly and professional. We especially want to shout out to Gary, one of the valet crew.

Most of what you want to do in Pacific Beach is within walking distance. Lots of shopping, restaurants, entertainment. Let's not forget the people watching.

This hotel is not for everyone. They have no pool. But we don't care. What they do have is a very large, comfortable sky deck on the second floor where you can relax, soak up the sun while looking out over the ocean and watching the surfers. You may as well take the valet parking (there is no self-park at this hotel), because finding parking on the street is going to be impossible - at least within a few blocks. One of the reasons parking is especially hard to find, is because of the beach and the fantastic restaurant JRDN which is well-known across the city. This restaurant is part of the hotel. Yes, you will probably need reservations for dinner.

The hotel seems to be doing a great job keeping the place maintained. We have looked at a lot of other rental options in Pacific Beach, but we keep coming back here.

The staff have made one change that I wish they would reverse. They used to have a Keurig coffee machine in the front lobby and now there are machines in the rooms. I appreciate that, but I always looked forward to getting up before my wife, sneaking out, grabbing a coffee and then heading to the beach. Can't do that anymore.

When choosing a room (if you have that luxury), be aware that the rooms opening onto the sky deck on the 2nd floor can be noisy in the evenings, especially on the weekends or when there's a large group that want to party hanging out on the deck. It doesn't tend to go really late, but if you're thinking you'll get to bed early in a deck-facing room, forget it. You might get the odd whiff of cigarette smoke too.

We miss the place already.

Room Tip: Best rooms are surf-side on south end of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlPCalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
The secret is out -- Tower23 is an ideal destination for those seeking a beachfront locale, friendly staff and award-winning dining. Thanks for sharing it and making Tower23 part of your vacation plans year after year. Same time, same place next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    195
    49
    17
    14
See reviews for
233
395
42
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullinsdorf, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We loved every single aspect of the Tower23 Hotel.
Having read through some of the critical comments here we were eager to find out how everything really was. And we have to say we can not support any of the negative comments.

The location is great. The vibe is good. The service (considering that you are staying at a boutique hotel) is good. The rooms are good and all the amenities are just great.

We would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeThree_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Taylor, great photos! Our partial view Sky Pads have fantastic views since the hotel is just footsteps to the beach. The next time you visit, please let us know if you see anything amiss with housekeeping as we want your stay to be nothing short of perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Great location. I had room 301, one of the sky pads. Was worried that I wouldn't have an ocean view, but as you can see from the pictures, the view from the balcony was pretty amazing. The staff was friendly; maid service was spotty. Stayed for three days, during the week, and while the hotel was pretty empty (or at least it seemed so), the hotel bar was always filled.

Well worth the money; would definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Everything is wonderful. Beds from Tempur Pedic are really comfy. I stayed in the ocean view room and it was awesome, with the seaside view and partial view of the crystal pier. Staffs are friendly. But their rooms are on the steep side.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GlamSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for one night right after we got engaged. We spent hours by the pool, sipping on margarita's all day. The staff was very attentive, but not pushy. The drinks were a tad pricey, but that's to be expected for the location. We later walked along the beach to take in the whole beach vibe. That night, we ate at the JRDN restaurant at the hotel, and the food was outstanding. But the best part was the sunset from our room...it was second to none. Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the beach with 180 degree views, can't beat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage and THANK YOU for letting us be a part of your celebration. Margaritas, beach and dinner at JRDN, sounds like a great way to kick off married life. Congrats again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tony ,

The valet for the hotel was amazing. Friday night around 5:30 . Valet was full I was with my son , and there was not a place to park . As I waited outside the garage for a spot , one opened up & Tony came and took my car in after he told another driver that I had been waiting. Exceptional service from Tony the parking Valet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were here for a business meeting. The location right on the beach is great. The service is excellent. Everything is new, clean and comfortable. One complaint is there is no bedside table or reading light on one side of the bed (which happened to be the side I was sleeping on). So there's no place to put your phone or your book, and no light to read by. Also the bathroom door isn't that soundproof so the bathroom feels like it's right in the bedroom (no soundproofing).
"
The other thing is there is no pool, just a "Water Feature." You can sit by the water feature which is kind of like a fountain. But the view from the terrace by the water feature out over the deck is excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side with 'Partial View' actually do have a pretty good view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsyMaineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,045 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing