We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever...”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #9 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Such an attention to the detail... Valet parking: top-notch. Crab served on the terrace. Always fresh newspaper and distilled water. Location: there is no further. The whole facility must have been designed by the team of architects who know what is valuable in travel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose room with private balcony (so you could have the door wide open and listed to the Ocean)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for Tower23 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed @ Tower23 the beginning of June and can i say i loved every minute of it. From the excellent staff to the phenomenal food @ JRDN restaurant. Everyone that worked there made my stay especially special, although there were a few that stood out and helped me and my crew with any and every question i had throughout my stay.

First Cesar the front desk agent checked me in very quick and informed me about the hotel. He assured me that i was going to love staying here and become a frequent customer. He did not steer me wrong.

There was a tall dark bellman i believe his name was Alan. This bellman is the MAN. He helped out our group with bags on bags on bags. Our group consisted of 3 guys and 4 girls. Us men were able to help our ladies with their bags, yet Alan insisted that he would take all of our bags. after 4 trips up and down with our luggage he then brought us some complimentary cocktails that Cesar had promised us upon check-in. How great is that!

Then there was the lovely/beautiful Sara the concierge always smiling and willing to help with no hesitation. She helped me plan out my days even arrange transportation everywhere. I did not have to do a thing the entire time.

Lastly there was Arrendia.(I think thats how you spell it) the cleaning lady. After seeing her every morning cleaning the lobby and hallways etc. we began speaking to eachother more then a hi and bye. Although we had a language barrier (my broken spanish and her broken english) we were still able to chat everyday. I think its great when you can make friends and interact with even the housekeepers!


All in all this place is awesome. If you've never been to San Diego and you want a top of the line hotel with great people to help you out this is the place. We will be returning very soon. Just remember you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: get a surf pad its ocean front and awesome!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getsum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

So five of my closest girlfriends came down to PB for a a fun ladies trip. After doing some research we chose Tower 23 due to it's beautiful design and patio. We knew it was going to be pricy but once we arrived the price was no longer an issue. This hotel was worth EVERY PENNY.

Upon checking in we were giving a complimentary upgrade to a sky pad which was beautiful! We were able to access the patio from our balcony area and had a view of the ocean. This hotel rocked because you are in the center of all the bars and restaurants. So if you want to tear up the town your in the thick of it. If you are having a rough morning from your epic night out the patio is out of the way of all the ruckus and you will be waited on hand and foot by there beautiful staff.

Ivan...was excellent. From the moment we arrived he wanted to make us feel as comfortable as possible. If we wanted music to be louder he'd handle it, if you want some shade he's already got an umbrella ready for you, If you seem bored he'll pull Jenga out for you and challenge you and your friends to a game. Even if you just want some light conversation he will hang out and chat with you. Honestly best service I've ever received at a hotel.

Lacy... Was an excellent server. She was so accommodating and if your not from the area she will give you great advice about the local bars and restaurants.

Gregory... Your the man. From arrival he dealt with five squawking chicks and their endless amounts of luggage all with a smile on his face. Whenever we saw him around the hotel he'd say hello and ask us how out trip was going and would accommodate any needs we had.

After reading the Debbie Downer posts which complained mostly about the expense and not living up to expectations, I came to realize those who complained were looking for a totally different experience. They wanted a high class grand hotel, a downtown that is expensive and a bit more "mature." Well the staff and management understand the price is high so they make up for it by allowing you to bring your own food and drink to the patio area. So yes your paying quite a bit for the hotel but you get prime location, a killer staff, dodging expensive drink and food costs, and an excellent experience. Every one of us fell in love with this hotel and we are already planning a trip back in September just because of the beautiful experience we had from this weekend. Keep doing what your doing Tower 23 we will be meeting again soon...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nakellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was planning a summer vacation in Pacific Beach but didn't know anything about the area or things to do. The reservation girl Julie answered all my questions and had some great suggestions for how to plan my visit - things to do and such.

My stay was awesome. The hotel is nice, and the staff were great. Be sure to try the lobster BLT!

Room Tip: Recommend the Surf Pad oceanfront room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location! Walking distance to everywhere in PB. Great view of ocean. Beds are super comfortable. The staff and the concierge were very great. Jordan made sure everything was perfect. Raving fan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Tower 23 June 7-9 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We arrived late and the staff were very accommodating to us. The hotel is very clean, new and comfortable. It has a modern design to it, so it feels open and airy. Our room was a nice size and had the best view in town! VIP spot for sunset watching and beach gazing. The restaurant downstairs has great breakfast and one of the best Bloody Mary's Ive had in a while. We love San Diego and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced PB, so the view is next to none. I will say that I thought the bathrooms were a bit o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a wonderful trip to San Diego and loved staying at Tower23 Hotel. Great location, atmosphere, views and service! We received especially great service from Ivan on the 2nd floor patio/deck area.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worth the extra $
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breck c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £182 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing