We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelivable,Hotel Like No Other!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbelivable,Hotel Like No Other!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

This Place was amazing. I had booked it through Booking.Com, and got a decent rate of around $199 a night. The Hotel was to be a surprise as part of our Honeymoon, and it did not disapoint us!!!! On arrival, we were checked into a wonderful room, and were lucky enough to catch the sunset, which was "awe inspiring". After this we had a meal in the restaurant downstairs, which was very expensive, but worth it just for the views, and cool atmosphere. As the other reviews state, there was a deck upstairs, and after dinner we sat upstairs, and spent the rest of the night there it was brillant!!!!!

Yes it was expensive, but worth every penny!!! A great place for a romantic weekend, or a couple on a Honeymoon. We even had champagne served to our room, as they had heard it was Honeymoon, when they heard us talking upon check in!!!! Go here, it was awesome!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RileyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    183
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
213
376
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

This place is great fun and we recommend that you go see for yourself.

Yes, it is expensive and we were very happy to find a deal with Orbitz for $199 incl so search around if you are on a budget (this was cheaper than booking direct with hotel).

The price aside, we really enjoyed the many benefits of staying here. To name a few - the bar area was cool, the food interesting, the viewing deck with the sea view great, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Top tip - go check your room before you take it; we wanted a King and they gave us 2 Queens so we asked to be moved (which they did without hesitation - and our view of the sea improved as well!).

Overall, this place is by no means perfect but it has personality, location and facilities which will make it well worth considering.

  • Liked — Fun vibe and funky decor
  • Disliked — Breakfast not included - why not?
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

A couple of weeks ago (Dec 5th, 08) my boyfriend surprised me for my birthday by booking a room for the weekend at the beautiful Tower23 in San Diego. As a native of the often busy and sometimes chaotic Los Angeles this couldn’t have been more perfect. Upon arrival we were immediately tended too by a wonderful staff that was quick to make sure we had everything we needed to make my weekend memorable.

This was definitely accomplished by the added extras that were put together by the staff to adorn the room in celebration of my birthday. As we walked into the room I found a great tasting bottle of wine, balloons and about six different deserts. The room itself was simply lovely. We had the perfect view of the ocean which allowed us to enjoy the beautiful sunset along with the great sounds of the waves. The size of the room was perfect for my boyfriend and I and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. We slept like babies.

The hotel also has a great restaurant where we enjoyed a romantic dinner with a view of the ocean. Here again the waiter and accompanying staff were very attentive and pleasant. After dinner we had a couple of drinks at there outside deck which had a fire pit and nice lounge seating.

Overall my birthday weekend was perfect. Great company, awesome food, a fabulous room with the perfect view, what more could a girl ask for. As we woke to the music of the waves, it was a bit sad to know that I would soon be leaving the tranquility of our hotel room and have to go back to the craziness of LA. I will definitely stay again.

Thank you to the staff such as Elizabeth Hermosillo the hotel manager who gave my boyfriend great suggestions which helped him plan the entire trip. The girls at the reception desk were great and our waiter Tom was awesome. He too made great suggestions for our dinner that night. In my travels I have found that a hotel is only as good as its staff. At Tower23 my boyfriend and I had a fabulous weekend and I believe it was partly due to the excellent staff who were always very attentive and courteous.

  • Liked — The room/view and staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kjsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

3 friends and I decided to take 3 weeks out and venture on a mini road trip around the west coast of the states. We began in New York and flew over to L.A, from there we drove to San Diego where one of my friends had booked 2 rooms at Tower 23 hotel.
From the moment we arrived we were all taken away by the epic view overlooking Pacific Beach. The sun loungers and water fountains added to this exotic feel, creating a sense of surrealism. The rooms were incredibly spacious and immaculately presented. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by a charming young lady on the reception desk who i remember by her name badge was called Rochel. She checked us in and even called us once we were in our rooms to make sure everything was ok.
The restaurant and bar offered an array of well cooked food at a pleasant price, which suited us just fine.
Overall the stay was by far the best we experienced in the USA, its just a shame that the most exhilarating aspect of our time in San Diego was our visit to sea world. Oh well there's always next time!!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Anthony220383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

A truely delightful trip! My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to San Diego. He choose this hotel because it was up scale, and on the beach with a spectacular view of the ocean and the Crystal Pier. The service was impecable both in the hotel and the restaurant. Although we were dissappointed that we could not have breakfast in the wonderful restaurant, JRDN, the food was delicious!
The service in the hotel was enchanting, especially from Sabastian. His extradinary guest service and his polite approach made us feel very special and well taken care of!
We needed suggestions on what to do and see while we were there. He was very helpful in pulling out his sheet with all the sightseeing in San Diego, and directions on how to get to them.
We followed his suggestions to see Point Loma and the Cabrillo Monument, & the little city of Ocean Beach. We also visited Balboa Park and all the lovely museums. We finished our day with a lovely dinner in Old Town. Viva the margarita!
We highly recommend this property and all of its special service.

  • Liked — The view and the beach
  • Disliked — No breakfast in the restaurantl during the week.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CloieForkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

We only spent 1 night at Tower 23, but we would have happily spent a week. it's right on a beautiful beach with a gorgeous terrace - with plenty of comfortable sofas, lounge chairs and a beautiful fire pit for the cool evenings. we sat out and watched the sunset on the Pacific - the staff were very attentive - even serving us dinner outside under the heat lamps. the room was very modern & trendy - lovely shower & very clean. i would recommend getting a room with a sliding door out to the terrace. the locale is great for walking, surfing, biking, swimming or just people watching. we can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheersguy05
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

My friends and I stayed at Tower23 while we were on holiday in San Diego. We couldn't ask for a more perfect place to stay. The rooms were really clean and modern and the beds were really comfortable. The location was perfect as it was right on the Pacific Beach. The hotel has a lovely roof terrace where at around 7:45pm you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the sun setting over the ocean. Not to mention how good the service was at the hotel. From the moment we arrived we were looked after by a lovely young lady named Rachalle who went above and beyond accommodating us. We were extremely pleased when she recommended a lovely little Japanese restaurant (which we actually ate at three night is a row!)
We will definitely be recommending Tower23 to our friends back home as its a great place to stay in San Diego!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank cheersguy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing