We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected charm and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 34 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2007

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank yadwiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank clydemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cem44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Tried to book for our special trip to the US for my partners Birthday. E-mailed Ann at Hillcrest House B&B with reservation request and my requirements. Received a return e-mail to book., requesting that I phone to book. Eventually after 4 calls, I spoke with Ann and had to repeat my request and info that was on the original request e-mail. Gave my CC details and awaited the agreed confirmation. As no e-mail was forthcoming and the 7 hour time difference, I e-mailed my confirmation to Hillcrest. confirming our agreed terms for our stay.

The next morning an e-mail arrived stating she did not want the booking. This is a very unfrofessional way of doing business and NOT hospitality. as I know it (caterer for over 37 years).

Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank uisge-beatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHouseInnkeeper, Owner/Innkeeper at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2007

Unfortunately, this prospective guests intentions were not clear from the very first contact email. After taking his reservation over the phone, which included taking his credit card #, I verbally communicated our reservation policy, which is also clearly in writing on our reservation inquiry page on the web site, that we charge the first nights stay immediately as an advance payment to secure the reservation. This gentleman then preceeded to agressively tell me that under no circumstances was I to charge his credit card, and that he would pay for the entire stay in cash upon arrival. After ending the conversation, I felt very uncomfortable with his aggressive behavior, and emailed him back saying that we reconsidered, and would not be taking his reservation. I received another agressive email from him, and forwarded it to my local B&B Guild to be aware of his hostile manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

The Hillcrest House B&B is located in a wonderful area of the San Diego within walking distance to many great restaurants. (Bronx Pizza - Best Pizza ever!! and Yakitori Yakudori - authentic Japanese Yakitori place). The house has been beatifully remodeled and is located on a quiet street. My husband and I stayed at the old town room for 1 week. The room itself is large with a large remodel bathroom and large closet for storage. It also had a private entrance off to the side.We especially enjoyed the book and movie collection in the main living room and the front porch for breakfast or a relaxing afternoon. The owner of the Inn is not a full time Inn keeper yet therefore while the breakfast (muffins and cereal everyday) was not your your typical B&B breakfast. While the breakfast was lacking this place makes up for it in charm and location. None of the rooms were airconditioned but with a ceiling fan there was enough ventilation and provided enough cooling for a good nights sleep.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank JeffAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

I stayed with my girlfriend for two nights at Hillcrest B&B in San Diego. We had the Old Town Room which may i say, was awesome. We talekd to Ann in the morning as we were leaving LA so she could wait for us at the house. She was there when we get and welcome us, showing aroung the house, where to park, the room... she gave us our keys including the one of the private entrance to the room which is accesible from the backyard.
The room was huge! beautifuly decorated and with a nice bed. It has its own bathroom that is also pretty. There is no door between the bathroom and the bedroom but there is no need because it is like in other room.
In the morning Ann prepares a nice continental breakfast with juice, coffee, milk, home made muffins, fresh fruit, yougurts...
And also gave us a lot of directions for places to eat and visit. Ann and her mother are both very kind and helpful.
The hotel itself has an excellent location in the lively neighbourhood of Hillcrest. Close to lots of restaurants and also close to the main roads. It is a quiet and charming place indeed.
Also it`s minutes drive from the gaslamp quarter and the main attractions of SD such as the zoo, balboa park and even the Seaworld wich is 15 minutes driving through the i5.
We will come back if we go to SD again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redivan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: £121 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing